Regarding Pilot “IDontCare”

Meet the people you love to kill (and be killed by) in Descent!

Moderator: Do_Checkor

[RIP]Machete_Bug
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Regarding Pilot “IDontCare”

Post by [RIP]Machete_Bug »

Does anyone here fly under the pilot name “IDontCare” or know the person who does? His IP traces back to Windsor, Canada.

The reason I ask is because there are members of team RIP (myself among them) who are losing patience with this person. Well, perhaps not so much the person as the connection this person has to our gaming server, the Descent Retirement Home.

I’ve been playing Descent in one form or another online for nearly 11 years now. So I’ve seen some seriously bad connections in my time. Maybe I’ve been spoiled by a few years of really good connections by a majority of players, but I honestly believe IDontCare has the worst that I’ve EVER seen. At least with such constant severity. Since I’ve played p2p dial-up with people in some far-flung and remote corners of the world, this is pretty impressive. Not in a good way.

Folks who know me well can attest I’m not prone to whine. And I’m hardly a connection snob. We have some players on wireless who I wish would connect with a hard cable, but any weirdness I tend to see out of them is intermittent. We have folks from remote and rural areas and across continents and oceans who can be a challenge to properly lead. But the issues observed in IDontCare are severe and constant.

Myself and others have done some nagging at him in game. He (or she) has stated that he has low ping and no loss, and gameplay on his end is smooth. Furthermore, he claims to be on wireless, with a router “downstairs”. Also he claims nothing else is running that would interfere with the game. Despite this, he tends to skip – no, “skip” probably doesn’t adequately cover it – warp around the level like he has a teleporter operated by an over-caffeinated ferret.