* FAQ    * Search  * Register * Login 
Active topics
Unanswered topics

All times are UTC-06:00



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Need a little help
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 10:15 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 10:15 pm
Posts: 679
I'm running descent on windows 7. Trying to run Descent from Vortex, when I hit join the game shows the home loading screen with the red sun for a quick second and then goes black; all I have is a descent-mouse icon to move around on a black screen. Cntrl-alt-delete to the task manager and end task gets me out. This is the error message:

Call stack:
------------------------------------------------------------------
MAIN.EXE 0056fa7c()
kernel32.dll 75e0339a()
ntdll.dll 77979ed2()
ntdll.dll 77979ea5()
------------------------------------------------------------------

Anyone recognize this? Wanna play a little d3!

_________________
Birdseye wrote:
It's never over


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Need a little help
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 10:18 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 10:15 pm
Posts: 679
Realized this happens when I try to launch the game directly from its file as well (its not a vortex issue).

Thanks!

_________________
Birdseye wrote:
It's never over


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Need a little help
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 6:34 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 10:15 pm
Posts: 679
I got past that previous problem, but now the game freezes at the "connecting" screen (to a game) and then automatically quits.

Anyone had this problem?

_________________
Birdseye wrote:
It's never over


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Need a little help
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 6:54 pm 
Offline
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Posts: 15146
ICQ: 46028958
Website: http://krom.d3k.org
AOL: dutenhnj
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
You should probably uninstall D3, delete its folder, then reinstall it fresh, install merc (if you have it), patch and then try it. Usually this type of problem is fixed by a complete reinstall. Also run setup and make sure your video/audio is set up correctly.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Need a little help
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:40 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 10:15 pm
Posts: 679
Krom,

Sorry for the late response. I "installed" d3 by copying over the files I had saved on my portable hard drive along with the no-cd crack.

But I just tried installing it with the disc now. I click on the CD in "my computer," I get the windows 7 blue circle loading thing for a few seconds, and then nothing happens. There's no option to right click and "run as administrator." And I also tried restarting.

Specs are:
Toshiba Satellite C655
Windows 7 Home Premium
Intel(R) Pentium(R) P6200 @ 2.13ghz
4GB Ram
64 bit
Intel (R) HD Graphics

Any ideas??

_________________
Birdseye wrote:
It's never over


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Need a little help
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 9:42 pm 
Offline
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Posts: 15146
ICQ: 46028958
Website: http://krom.d3k.org
AOL: dutenhnj
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
To run D3 setup as an administrator you place the disk in the drive and then use windows explorer to browse to the root folder of the cdrom, there you right click setup.exe and the run as administrator option will be there:
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Need a little help
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 12:07 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 10:15 pm
Posts: 679
Krom - awesome. Got it working! Thanks for the help

[ Post made via iPhone ] Image

_________________
Birdseye wrote:
It's never over


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Need a little help
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 2:02 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 10:15 pm
Posts: 679
OK so more trouble.. I can't seem to patch the game. I downloaded the no CD 1.4 patch from descent3.com, executed it to the right directory, it said it worked, but when I run Descent it still says version 1.0 in the bottom right corner, and I can't run the game from vortex.

I also tried the patch listed in this topic
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=4953
And the no CD patch listed about halfway down, which also didn't work.

Any ideas? Sorry I'm not better at this.

_________________
Birdseye wrote:
It's never over


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Need a little help
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 7:04 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2004 11:10 am
Posts: 1519
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Have you replaced your original main.exe with the new patched one? you also have to replace a folder i think? i can't remember because it's been ages since i updated.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Descent'rs have piloted these pages
 
The layout and contents contained within this site are © DescentBB.net 1997-2006.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is Outrage Entertainment.
Descent is a Trademark of Interplay Productions.

Miner Wars™ is trademark of Keen Software House s. r. o.
.


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group