Core and Polaris

Meet the people you love to kill (and be killed by) in Descent!

Moderator: Do_Checkor

Post Reply
Viper1d
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 9:32 pm
Location: Omaha, NE

Core and Polaris

Post by Viper1d » Wed Jan 09, 2013 10:51 pm

I thought the retail version of Descent 3 / Mercenary came with Core and Polaris but did not see them on the list of levels to be played after completing the installation. Can these levels be downloaded from somewhere. I searched and found a lot of custom levels but not the original levels as first seen on Demo 1. Also would be interested on Taurus (Demo 2).

I installed from the retail CD's. I could install from the DATEILISTE download too as another solution if they reside there.
Viper1
User avatar
roncli
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Re: Core and Polaris

Post by roncli » Thu Jan 10, 2013 12:13 am

Core and Taurus are part of Fury, levels 1 and 5 respectively. I do not know if an official Outrage Polaris level exists for retail.

Core Classic and Polaris Classic were released as single levels by Suncho and Skyalmian respectively.
User avatar
Krom
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
Posts: 15185
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
Contact:

Re: Core and Polaris

Post by Krom » Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:00 am

Polaris is included in the Bedlam pack, level 4.
User avatar
roncli
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Re: Core and Polaris

Post by roncli » Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:31 pm

Aha! I thought I remembered another multiplayer pack other than Fury.
Viper1d
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 9:32 pm
Location: Omaha, NE

Re: Core and Polaris

Post by Viper1d » Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:49 pm

Thanks for the quick responses. I was able to download Core Classic and a few other levels.

One other question, in multi-level levels (like Fury), is there a server configuration command so it only cycles on one level?
Viper1
User avatar
roncli
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Re: Core and Polaris

Post by roncli » Sun Jan 13, 2013 1:28 am

Not using D3's config file, no. You can only specify the starting level, it will still cycle through the levels though.

There are some options.
- Use a dedicated server tool that only cycles through the levels you want. Now, I don't know if any of the active server tools allow for this, and I haven't looked at such tools in about 10 years, so this may or may not be an option, I don't know.
- Log in to the server as admin and issue the $warp <level> command. Of course, this means you'd have to have remote access to the server. If you're running the server on a box you control, you can also enter that command directly into the console.
LvlSevenBoss
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
Posts: 2102
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2001 3:01 am
Contact:

Re: Core and Polaris

Post by LvlSevenBoss » Sun Jan 13, 2013 6:50 am

Viper1d wrote:One other question, in multi-level levels (like Fury), is there a server configuration command so it only cycles on one level?
You can. It's recommended to host games with the D3 Server Tool. Using this tool, you can change "Loop On" to repeat the same level in a set. See this page for more info:

http://www.dateiliste.com/en/descent-3/ ... ation.html
Viper1d
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 9:32 pm
Location: Omaha, NE

Re: Core and Polaris

Post by Viper1d » Sun Jan 20, 2013 1:12 pm

Thanks for the useful info - sounds exactly what I need. I will download and check out the server tool. Can't remember if I used it in the past (many years ago) when I hosted some games. Still working on getting the LAN setup. Starting with 4 computers - hope to work up to 6 or 8 in the future.
Viper1
User avatar
Duper
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 9205
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Re: Core and Polaris

Post by Duper » Sun Feb 17, 2013 5:36 pm

Also, Core and Polaris are levels that are set as multiplayer only. So, unless you're hosting a multiplayer game, they won't show up on the level list. The same is true (rather) of the packs they belong to.
Post Reply