The Ascent Project - Highpoly Descent Models

The artists and authors forum! NOTE: © original author - do not use w/out consent!

Moderators: MetalBeast, Capm

TheAscentProject
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

The Ascent Project - Highpoly Descent Models

Post by TheAscentProject »

Valhalla tower docking control to unidentified approaching vessel...

I have been a die-hard Descent'r since my childhood and, to make a long story short, thanks to projects like D2X/ReBirth I was able to relive those awesome memories. After beating both Descent I and II, I was so overtaken with nostalgia that I wanted... heck, needed to pay some form homage to these awesome games.

As a 3D artist I decided to put my skills to work and hence The Ascent Project was born as a complete remake of every single character model of the series.

It should be noted that despite having taken artistic liberties I make a point to preserve both the concept and “soul” of the original in-game models.

This project has become quite dear to me and I hope you enjoy my recreations as much as I have enjoyed making them.

I decided to start with the models from Descent II in order of appearance per the briefing screens of the campaign.

Without further ado,
For full-resolution downloads and backstory of the project and models please visit the links provided below or http://theascentproject.deviantart.com/

The Ascent Project's GuideBot:
dA link: http://fav.me/d55rix6

The Ascent Project's P.E.S.T.:
dA link: http://fav.me/d56hg73 (this one actually has quite a bit of back story)

The Ascent Project's I.T.D.:
dA link: http://fav.me/d57dz6a

The Ascent Project's P.I.G.:
dA link: http://fav.me/d58d0sx
Quite a bit of sci-fi thought went into making this guy, if you're interested in knowing please visit the dA link and read the description (you can also see/download the full resolution image!)

The Ascent Project's Bandit:
dA link: http://fav.me/d597qki
Almost 4 times more polygons than the PIG!

* * * UPDATE * * *