Picking up Helix makes me loose Spreadfire (in TEW)

Descent mission help and more WARNING: Spoilers inside!

Moderator: AceCombat

Post Reply
hori
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 2:15 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Franconia
Contact:

Picking up Helix makes me loose Spreadfire (in TEW)

Post by hori » Thu Apr 30, 2009 6:02 pm

I´m playing TEW and just found \"My First Helix Cannon (TM)\" in Level 08.

Yet, as soon as I pick it up my trusty Spreadfire Cannon is gone :-(

Is this an intended behaviour in TEW?
Or is it a bug in current version of D2X-XL (1.14.27)?

I already played through D2 with an older version of D2X-XL and was - of course - able to keep both cannons, then...

Thank you in advance!
User avatar
Duper
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 9205
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Post by Duper » Thu Apr 30, 2009 6:48 pm

that sounds like a bug. Head on over to their site and ask. They might already know about it. :)

..er the XL site that is.
User avatar
Alter-Fox
The Feline Menace
Posts: 2661
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 12:49 pm
Location: the realms of theory
Contact:

Post by Alter-Fox » Thu Apr 30, 2009 6:53 pm

Turn off \"smart weapon switch\" (in the game options, I think). Smart Weapon Switch disables vulcan cannon when you have gauss, and likewise disables spreadfire cannon when you have helix (presumably because gauss and helix are just like upgraded versions of the vulcan and spreadfire.)
User avatar
Duper
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 9205
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Post by Duper » Thu Apr 30, 2009 7:32 pm

When you say \"gone\", do you mean that it switches to the weapon or that the the spreadfire (good ridance ;)) is removed from the inventory?
User avatar
Behemoth
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1519
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2004 11:10 am
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

Post by Behemoth » Thu Apr 30, 2009 7:34 pm

spread da blu balls!
haha, that is a shame.. if it removes it anyways
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5437
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius » Fri May 01, 2009 2:00 am

It isn't gone, it's just that the game prevents you from accidentally switching to it. In other words, prevents you from using it at all.

I personally don't use smart weapon switch because I don't need it. But it's not a bug, it's a feature. *wink wink*
hori
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 2:15 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Franconia
Contact:

Post by hori » Fri May 01, 2009 6:18 am

Solved!
Turning off \"Smart Weapon Switch\" did the trick.
Thanks a lot!

I thought Smart Weapon Switch would just prevent you from accidently switching to \"harmful\" weapons like Phoenix, Gauss or Guided that might easily kill you in tight spots...

Yet I have to disagree on \"just an upgraded version\":
- the Spreadfire doesn´t only shoot more balls but consumes more energy, too
- the Gausss damages your own ship when used in tight spots, the Vulcan doesn´t
So both replacements aren´t *only* better.

-> I´m glad to have my Spreadfire back :-)
User avatar
Duper
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 9205
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Post by Duper » Fri May 01, 2009 7:43 am

....you didn't know that there was 2 weapons for each slot?

Guess I've been playing too long.
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5437
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius » Fri May 01, 2009 9:37 am

Yeah, people do naturally disagree on whether any of the D2 weapons supersede the D1 weapons completely. I don't think they do either, although I am very unlikely to use Spreadfire in D2 that said - primarily because its damage is so low compared even to weapons that *are not* Helix. Nonetheless, it has its uses because it is harder for targets to avoid when used correctly.
hori
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 2:15 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Franconia
Contact:

Post by hori » Fri May 01, 2009 9:38 am

OMG, no!
Of course I know that there are two weapons for each slot in D2 :-)

But as long as abovementioned option was set I wasn´t able to use my Spreadfire cannon anymore at all after having picked up the Helix.

So although I quite well know that I had both cannons equipped, that both occupy slot 3 and that one can toggle between them by repeadedly pressing \"3\", I just couldn´t use the Spread any more.

In previous post I just wanted to stress that I still see the neccessity of *being able* to use the \"old\" weapons even after picking up the \"new\" ones.

Completely deactivating them sucks :-)
User avatar
Duper
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 9205
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Post by Duper » Fri May 01, 2009 12:29 pm

I don't use that version of the D2 mod. .. what a weird option.
User avatar
D3Alien
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 7:09 pm

Re:

Post by D3Alien » Sat May 02, 2009 11:14 am

Sirius wrote:Yeah, people do naturally disagree on whether any of the D2 weapons supersede the D1 weapons completely. I don't think they do either, although I am very unlikely to use Spreadfire in D2 that said - primarily because its damage is so low compared even to weapons that *are not* Helix. Nonetheless, it has its uses because it is harder for targets to avoid when used correctly.
I can't think of any reason to prefer the vulcan to the gauss unless you constantly find yourself shooting at walls right next to you. I think the jury's still out on D1 L4 quad lasers vs. D1 L6 quad superlasers, but everything else is better or the same in D1.
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5437
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius » Sun May 03, 2009 12:11 am

D1 didn't have super lasers, but if you mean D1 quad 4 vs D2 quad 6, then the D1 lasers were actually more powerful simply through pure numbers. I think the figure is 52 for D1 Q4 vs 50 for D2 Q6.

Now, Vulcan, yes that's a different issue, but it performs better at extreme close range - which is important if you're shooting a diamond claw that is closing on you very fast, just for instance. It's also important in multiplayer games against people who intentionally try to force you to kill yourself.

The other very specific time it's better is when using it to light up lava for secondary damage. More rounds means more explosions, and if I recall the Gauss explosions on lava weren't significantly more powerful.
User avatar
D3Alien
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 7:09 pm

Post by D3Alien » Sun May 03, 2009 8:21 pm

Interesting. 50 vs. 52 isn't a huge difference though, and I never had any problem with the diamond claws even at close distance. I suppose vulcan might be better if you're in a lava level, so I'll have to keep that in mind.
User avatar
Duper
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 9205
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Post by Duper » Sun May 03, 2009 9:06 pm

Gauss has better knock back which is great for holding daimond claws at bay. The Gauss uses more rounds per shot than vulcan (which share ammo, but I'm sure you know that) It's been a while though. 25 ammo to 1 gauss shot?
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5437
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius » Mon May 04, 2009 1:37 am

It's somewhere pretty close to that mark, yes. Gauss fires them far less frequently, though.
User avatar
Behemoth
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1519
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2004 11:10 am
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

Post by Behemoth » Mon May 04, 2009 6:45 am

That gauss sure is fun to blast people away hehehe
James100111100
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 4:07 am
Location: Detroit

Re:

Post by James100111100 » Fri May 08, 2009 4:52 pm

[quote="hori"]Solved!
Turning off "Smart Weapon Switch" did the trick.
Thanks a lot!

quote]

I see nothing smart about that switch.
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5437
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius » Fri May 08, 2009 7:27 pm

It's supposed to mean \"smart\" as in \"you hit the spreadfire/helix key, it assumes you want the Helix since it's better\". Which is a little more smart than not assuming, of course, but assumptions aren't always right.
User avatar
Stroodles
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 406
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 11:36 am
Location: Right Behind You

Post by Stroodles » Mon Jul 06, 2009 1:38 pm

But...but....spreadfire and vulcan are kewl!
Amg! It's on every post and it WON'T GO AWAY!!
User avatar
Xfing
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1495
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:03 am
Location: Ringing Satan's Doorbell

Post by Xfing » Tue Jul 14, 2009 3:15 am

Another reason to hate D2X-XL.

BTW, are D1 quad 4 really even stronger than D2 quad 6? Didn't really think it was possible... what a damn shame.
DarkHorse
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
Posts: 770
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2000 3:01 am
Location: Waikare, New Zealand
Contact:

Post by DarkHorse » Tue Jul 14, 2009 4:33 am

...

Yeah, I suppose if you're hunting for reasons to hate D2X-XL you can invent all sorts. Truth is, though, it's become quite a good edition of D2.
User avatar
fliptw
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
Posts: 6415
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 1998 2:01 am
Location: Calgary Alberta Canada

Post by fliptw » Sat Jul 25, 2009 1:32 am

I thought weapon preference ordering did that already?
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5437
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius » Sat Jul 25, 2009 1:31 pm

Maybe, but there is one situation where it might not; if you already have vulcan, gauss and plasma, and have plasma selected, then switch to weapon \"2\", I can't remember whether the weapon order affects whether gauss or vulcan is selected.

I guess in an ideal world, smart weapon switch would automatically select gauss first, but if you pressed \"2\" again it would figure you wanted to switch to vulcan.
Post Reply