* FAQ    * Search  * Register * Login 
Active topics
Unanswered topics

All times are UTC-06:00



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: DESCENT 3 PLEASE HELP!
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 3:40 am 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 3:17 am
Posts: 5
:? Hello i see to be stuck on one of the levels that i think is level 6 where you go around looking for these icons. the final icon in that level is the priest icon and i got that in probably 15 min. well its the 3rd boss level and when i got to him and killed him the game wont continue. I looked at the mission objectives with Shift+Tab and everything i had to do was complete it said, i even got the guide bot out and i couldnt do anything with him...I saved on the stuck part i was at and i cant do anything. i would not want to restart the game because it took me awhile getting there to level 6. If anyone knows what to do next please help me, also i cant find any players on multieplayer so if anyone would want to play with me then i would have some fun playing with someone again.


Top
   
 Post subject: Help
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 3:46 am 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 3:17 am
Posts: 5
So if anyone has any info on this it would be good to have. Thank You


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 8:47 am 
Offline
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 3:31 pm
Posts: 4900
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
It's a known bug. As I recall, it happens if you kill the Homunculus in that room he comes out of. The only solution I know is to restart the level, sorry.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 8:50 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 2:43 pm
Posts: 453
Website: http://www.hard-light.net
WLM: zzant0r@hotmail.com
AOL: zantor64
Location: Midwest United States
You could do a cold start on level 5 or 6. You won't have your weapons and such, but you wouldn't have to do all of them over again. I've done a cold start on 5 or 6 and usually get enough goodies to do fine in future levels.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 12:32 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:08 am
Posts: 1074
Location: Minnesota, USA
Is your game patched? Or are you just playing after installing from your CDs?

You can get the 1.4 patch from http://www.descent3.com. It'll help prevent the problem from happening again, but I'm fairly certain you'll have to restart the level.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 1:19 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 2:43 pm
Posts: 453
Website: http://www.hard-light.net
WLM: zzant0r@hotmail.com
AOL: zantor64
Location: Midwest United States
If you got the Mercenary expansion, install Mercenary before installing the v1.4 patch. Doing it in reverse causes problems.

So, when doing a fresh install:
Install D3
Install D3 Merc
Install 1.4 patch

If you just have D3 installed, skip that step, and then do merc and the 1.4 patch. If you don't have Mercnary, skip that, too.


Top
   
 Post subject: Thanks
PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:54 pm 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 3:17 am
Posts: 5
Ok I'll try it and see if it works. i do have merc and i have installed it to the game. I thought it was like a map pack thing for multieplayer but i found out it was for campaign. thanks for your help and the only other question I have is how do you Cold start a level??? i dont know how. If i found out how to do it i'll post a new reply but i could still use some help on that to. Thanks for any more help.


Top
   
 Post subject: Help again
PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 10:06 pm 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 3:17 am
Posts: 5
When i downloaded and installed the patch 1.4. i got the US patch 1.4 and when i downloaded it and tried to put it in the game it said something like \"Old File Does Not Exsist\" would i have to try downloaded something els? or is there a way to help that? idk.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2009 1:50 am 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 9205
WLM: biffski@yahoo.com
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA
try installing the 1.3 patch. it that doesn't work keep going backwards.

I know that the MErc add on should have patched you but maybe something goofed up. *shrug*


Top
   
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2009 8:04 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 2:43 pm
Posts: 453
Website: http://www.hard-light.net
WLM: zzant0r@hotmail.com
AOL: zantor64
Location: Midwest United States
Duper wrote:
try installing the 1.3 patch. it that doesn't work keep going backwards.

I know that the MErc add on should have patched you but maybe something goofed up. *shrug*


Patching from 1.0 to Merc to 1.4 is touchy. I find that if I don't mess with ANYTHING in the process, it works fine.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 4:22 am 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 9205
WLM: biffski@yahoo.com
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA
yeah, I agree; but it didn't work for him. Wondering what the process it was and what version of D3 is being used. If it's the old jewel case,(in stead of the card-board one) that might be the problem. That particular release of D3 wsa a big goofy iirc and didn't like to patch.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 10:09 am 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 11:51 pm
Posts: 1520
It's been my experience that if the person installs Descent 3 (any revision), patches it, and then tries to install the Merc set ... they will have trouble.

Clean/fresh/unpatched install of Descent 3 followed by installing the Merc set will probably work just fine. THEN, install whatever patches are still needed. Works every time for me. Especially if they user has the Dual Jewel set.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 11:25 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:34 pm
Posts: 343
Location: Boone, NC
Mercenary Expansion will upgrade the game to Version 1.3.1 Build 567, so Zantor and TechPro are right about not trying to apply Mercenary after a Version 1.4 upgrade.

I have the following versions of D3 and use the following patches to upgrade (after Mercenary is applied or without Mercenary):

Creative Labs OEM Version 1.2 bundled with Sound Blaster Live! X-Gamer (Model SB4760X)
Disk One is labeled: CD-C95-778-C2E, CLI Part No. 1713310386-1
Disk Two is labeled: CD-C95-778-C2E, CLI Part No. 1713310387-1
This version can be patched to Version 1.4 with the d3140us.exe U.S. patch.

Version 1.0 (Dual Jewel/Australian)
Disk One is labeled: CD-C95-778-2
Disk Two is labeled: CD-C95-778-3
This version can be patched to Version 1.4 with the D3_AUS_1.4_Patch.exe Australian patch.

Version 1.0 (U.S.)
Disk One is labeled: CD-C95-778-0
Disk Two is labeled: CD-C95-778-1
This version can be patched to Version 1.4 with the d3140us.exe U.S. patch.

Check out this page for more files and info on the various versions:

http://www.descent3.com/4_downloads.html


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Descent'rs have piloted these pages
 
The layout and contents contained within this site are © DescentBB.net 1997-2006.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is Outrage Entertainment.
Descent is a Trademark of Interplay Productions.

Miner Wars™ is trademark of Keen Software House s. r. o.
.


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group