* FAQ    * Search  * Register * Login 
Active topics
Unanswered topics

All times are UTC-06:00



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: detail options?
PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2004 11:46 am 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet

Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 11:32 am
Posts: 10
hello all, can anyone tell me if maybe there is a cmd line option to force a higher render depth? for some reason my details options revert to 16bit and minimal render depth. pls help.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2004 3:22 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 10:22 am
Posts: 48
I don't know about any command line, but if you give your system info, perhaps someone can tell you what to do. Also, while I am thinking about it, have you tried repeatedly hitting the =/+ button while ingame?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2004 4:38 pm 
Offline
Owned by Timex
Owned by Timex
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:01 am
Posts: 6510
Location: Conyers, GA, USA
32Bit rendering is not available in D3 period. if and when the 1.5 patch comes out, it will be. for no, sorry your SOL


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2004 10:06 pm 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet

Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 11:32 am
Posts: 10
meaning that the 32 bit button is bunk? :?
what about terrain render depth reverting to nothing?
my bastardized presario specs: (hold the laughter to a dull roar pls)
duron 700
radeon 7200
256 sdram
crap ass compaq proprietary mobo
sidewinder f/f pro
samsung 900s crt

btw heard about a "chase-cam" for the rear view. is this real?

thanx in advance from the noob


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2004 10:32 pm 
Offline
Owned by Timex
Owned by Timex
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:01 am
Posts: 6510
Location: Conyers, GA, USA
viscerebral wrote:
meaning that the 32 bit button is bunk? :?
what about terrain render depth reverting to nothing?

yes 32bit button is FUBAR, it does not work. i dont know why it reverts back to nothing, on mine it doesnt do that, i keep it @ ~4/5 to max setting.

viscerebral wrote:
btw heard about a "chase-cam" for the rear view. is this real?


yes it does work, without pressing any jstick or mouse buttons, just punch in "byebyemonkey" without the quotes of course, and PRESTO, you have chase view. dont press exacpe, or anything, just type that in as if you were typing cheat code, actually thats exactly what it is........a cheat code


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2004 10:50 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2002 3:01 am
Posts: 7096
Technically, it's not a cheat code, since it doesn't permanently reset your score to 0. It's more of a hidden feature, like using "teletubbies" on the sun :).


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 16, 2004 5:52 pm 
Offline
Owned by Timex
Owned by Timex
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:01 am
Posts: 6510
Location: Conyers, GA, USA
i stand corrected then, its not a cheat code


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2004 3:34 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2002 2:01 am
Posts: 491
Website: http://digijo.cjb.net
Location: Germany
byebyemonkey is more like a developers switch, good for checking volume lighning in a level.

32 bit renderdepth works fine, it just resets to 16 bits after restart. but you can play in 32 bit colordepth. just press f2 ingame, go to config and switch to 32 bit.

the terrain detail level, hmm it has dynamic geometry and smooth the terrain if you come near a hill or somthing, otherwise the fusion-engine would have to render up to 30000 polygons on high detail terrain, so better leave it on default, looks good enough.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2004 3:38 am 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 18, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 1722
ICQ: 108205192
Website: https://plus.google.com/116445363062302261584
AOL: skyalmian
Location: Washington State
Not 30,000. 9,000 is the highest I've ever seen.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2004 5:11 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2002 2:01 am
Posts: 491
Website: http://digijo.cjb.net
Location: Germany
Image

that was geodomes on full detail, but if i think about it you are right, that was vertice-number in my mind , not polygones.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2004 11:22 am 
Offline
Owned by Timex
Owned by Timex
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:01 am
Posts: 6510
Location: Conyers, GA, USA
how did you get that status viewer on the hud?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2004 8:47 pm 
Offline
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 30, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5775
ICQ: 37279425
Website: http://www.kyouryuu.net
AOL: kyouryuu32
Location: Isla Nublar
"renderstat"

"outlinem" also shows the level wireframe.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2004 10:21 pm 
Offline
Owned by Timex
Owned by Timex
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:01 am
Posts: 6510
Location: Conyers, GA, USA
any other little secrets i can play with?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 10:05 pm 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet

Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 11:32 am
Posts: 10
thanx to all for the input.
just to crystalize this in my lil mind tho: if i am in game and switch to 32 bit i should get 32 bit. right?
if i f2 again it will show 16 bit. hmmm? :?
normal? :?:
or am i beating the proverbial dead horse?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2004 12:38 am 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2001 2:01 am
Posts: 1273
Location: Washington (the state, not the city)
Not all video cards support 32-bit rendering. It is also not an option under OpenGL. You need to be using Direct3D to toggle it.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Descent'rs have piloted these pages
 
The layout and contents contained within this site are © DescentBB.net 1997-2006.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is Outrage Entertainment.
Descent is a Trademark of Interplay Productions.

Miner Wars™ is trademark of Keen Software House s. r. o.
.


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group