Hello World...

For Descent, Descent II and Descent3 level editing and modification assistance.
Post Reply
User avatar
Hatseput
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:09 am
Location: Turkey

Hello World...

Post by Hatseput » Thu Mar 13, 2008 12:36 pm

Hi everyone on DescentBB! My name is Hatseput. Some may recognize me from PD and P4D...Yet now some might ask: Why am I introducing myself in the Descent Development section?? Well, the answer is simple...

I also brought up a level with me...The \"Golden Fire\" PvP/2v2-Anarchy map. Settled inside of a small volcanic cavern system, this digsite was started its life as a mining plant dig, until the contractor went bankrupt and sold it... to the Mercenary Guild, who turned it to a fiery-arena...

The level itself got its scenes:

Image

Image

Image

Image

The level is packed and ready to launch. I plan to launch it in 14:03:2008,Friday... But if you got any comments, please feel free to post:)

It is a pleasure for me to join here. I am very interested in Descent-level development, so expect more levels from me!!

See you all in the mines, Pilots!!
--Hatseput
User avatar
CDN_Merlin
DBB_Master
DBB_Master
Posts: 9486
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Location: Capital Of Canada

Post by CDN_Merlin » Thu Mar 13, 2008 1:15 pm

Awesome, more levels.
User avatar
Hatseput
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:09 am
Location: Turkey

Post by Hatseput » Fri Mar 14, 2008 1:47 pm

THE LEVEL HAS BEEN RELEASED. GRAB IT HERE:
http://www.prepare4descent.net/descenti ... action=get

Don't forget to comment... and to enjoy :D

--Hatseput
User avatar
Duper
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 9205
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Post by Duper » Fri Mar 14, 2008 9:37 pm

nice job.

I ran across a couple of small texture glitches.


Image


Image


These are stretched or not fitted to the face.



Image

I dunno. It just doesn't seem to be working?

I thought the flashing light was VERY cool. Something that isn't easy to achieve in D3. How did you do it?
User avatar
Hatseput
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:09 am
Location: Turkey

Post by Hatseput » Sat Mar 15, 2008 12:13 pm

I see...those must have been overlooked... But the one on the pipes was a calculated one, I've fitted it to face, and then changed its UV parameters... But for the smoke, well, I must accept the fact that it behaves a bit strange way...

And for those flashlights, I actually did nothing for it... I've just placed them in,and scripted them to rotate-If you're asking the ones on the pipes...

But... How was the flow and pace of the level? Anyone knows?
Valhalla - Deliverance
Why've you ever forgotten me
(Blind Guardian, \"Valhalla\")
User avatar
RagilRal
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 3:03 am

Post by RagilRal » Sun Mar 16, 2008 3:28 am

Yo!

Tested it, nice work so far!
But:

On a AMD XP2600/768Mb Ram/Radeon9600,
screenie taken at Smokeys location:
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=aVUM2I9
In general i had over 70 frames, but
the Spewers are real FPS killers :lol:

and some small impurities:

http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=aVUNAZJ
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=aVUNFZ0
User avatar
Hatseput
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:09 am
Location: Turkey

Post by Hatseput » Sun Mar 16, 2008 6:30 am

For the smoke, Is there anyone else experienced the same result? And BTW, RagilRal; my weapons weren't modded, but I saw some new weapon names there:

Image

How it happened??

But for those errors, It also showed up in my editor. The bad normals are on the fuelcen shell at the bottom level... I've placed it on the floor, and removed those faces at the bottom to gain some fraction of FPS...

Image

Image

And for the \"room center\" issue:

Image

It is just the \"external\" room, and I actually see those errors a lot when trying to build external rooms...
User avatar
RagilRal
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 3:03 am

Post by RagilRal » Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:38 am

Yo,

the weapon names are from the string-
file of Hunter's Basewar; im just plain
too lazy to change the stringfile every
time :D

The roomcenter issue is relatively common,
but as long as sound and homers are working
i also dont care 'bout it.

Regarding room 8, ok; my fault, i should
have looked more close :roll:
after having a 2nd look, there are just
some verts to remove from the interior
there.

the only thing i'd be concerned of would
be room 5, b'cause the gaps here are on
faces which are separating the in from
the out:
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=aVYNoWi
User avatar
WillyP
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 461
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 9:57 pm
Location: NH
Contact:

Post by WillyP » Sun Mar 16, 2008 1:14 pm

Seems to fly nice for me, but opponents ships are a little hard to see. My kids kicked my butt, as usual!;) It's pretty cool to have some dark areas to hide in, but I think this level could benifit from a little ambient lighting... maybe just .1 or so.
User avatar
Hatseput
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:09 am
Location: Turkey

Re:

Post by Hatseput » Tue Mar 18, 2008 1:40 pm

RagilRal wrote: The roomcenter issue is relatively common,
but as long as sound and homers are working
i also dont care 'bout it.
well, we should ask WillyP :D... Are they worked well?
RagilRal wrote: the only thing i'd be concerned of would
be room 5, b'cause the gaps here are on
faces which are separating the in from
the out
Wow, thanks for the warning... I've missed that, but fixed it right away.

Also I'm relighting the mine. I've raised the ambient lighting about 0.1 on all values, and set the multiplier to 1.3...
Valhalla - Deliverance
Why've you ever forgotten me
(Blind Guardian, \"Valhalla\")
User avatar
WillyP
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 461
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 9:57 pm
Location: NH
Contact:

Post by WillyP » Tue Mar 18, 2008 5:23 pm

If it's an external room it will throw a room center error. The important thing is to not have a room center that is inside the room, and the room center is 'line of sight' to the center of every portal. As much as possible, anyway. If you have a 'U' shaped room, or a room shaped like a donut, or even an 'L' shape, you may have the room center out of the room, and probably don't have line of site. Could be a problem for AI, which uses room centers and portal centers for navigation. Split the room. But if you have a nice room, but you put, say a pipe detail between a portal and the room center, that would probably be ok. Test with homers. They may hit the pipe when headed for the portal, but it's up to you... maybe thats intentional!:wink:
Post Reply