Secret Levels in Descent 1

For Descent, Descent II and Descent3 level editing and modification assistance.
Post Reply
User avatar
Stroodles
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 406
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 11:36 am
Location: Right Behind You

Secret Levels in Descent 1

Post by Stroodles » Sat Aug 01, 2009 11:06 pm

Can anyone explain how to get them to work in D1?

*using DMB 2.6
Amg! It's on every post and it WON'T GO AWAY!!
User avatar
Stroodles
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 406
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 11:36 am
Location: Right Behind You

Post by Stroodles » Thu Aug 13, 2009 10:34 am

*hmms*
Amg! It's on every post and it WON'T GO AWAY!!
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5435
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius » Thu Aug 13, 2009 8:57 pm

Mostly the same as D2; main difference is there's a \"secret exit\" trigger flag you need to switch on instead of a particular trigger type, like D2 has.

From a .MSN perspective, it's exactly the same as D2's .MN2s.
User avatar
Stroodles
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 406
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 11:36 am
Location: Right Behind You

Post by Stroodles » Thu Aug 20, 2009 2:35 pm

I haven't actually made secret levels in D2 either....lol
Amg! It's on every post and it WON'T GO AWAY!!
minmay
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 2:40 pm
Location: Idaho

Post by minmay » Sun Nov 28, 2010 5:50 pm

I cannot get my D1 secret levels to work, either - as soon as I enter the level, the game freezes (this is with the original Descent in DOSBox). This occurs upon starting the level, not upon going through the secret exit.
My exits and relevant triggers are exactly like the ones in Descent: First Strike as far as I can tell, the secret levels themselves work perfectly if I make them regular levels, the regular levels don't work if I make them secret levels, and it's making me rather unhappy.
The .msn file is fine; I've made sure to check other mission set's .msn files to make sure they're consistent (and they are).
If it helps, my mission set has briefings but not exit sequences. I've tried it without briefings as well, and there is no discernible change.
Post Reply