Static sound in D3

For Descent, Descent II and Descent3 level editing and modification assistance.
Post Reply
yvanovic
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 2:01 am

Static sound in D3

Post by yvanovic » Wed Feb 03, 2010 7:58 pm

Hi. Sorry if this is not the place I've not found any specific support forum on descentbb.net.

D3 have a very annoying static ship sound. Afterburner also have lot of statics. Disabling ship sound and setting low sound quality helps, but low sound quality not as good as high quality sound.

Any idea?
User avatar
Duper
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 9205
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Post by Duper » Wed Feb 03, 2010 8:31 pm

Sounds like a sound driver issue.

If you haven't already, download the latest drivers for whatever device you are using.

What are you using for sound in your computer?

Oh, Tech Forum probably been where you wanted to go but this works! Welcome btw. :)
yvanovic
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 2:01 am

Post by yvanovic » Thu Feb 04, 2010 5:43 pm

Hi. My PC is a Gateway FX6800-07 (Costco flavor), with embeeded audio HD Realtek 7.1. I have the latest drivers from Realtek. I reformated the disk before installing Windows 7. There are no more Gateway stuff or my PC.

I am surprised not to see more posts about this issue.
S13driftAZ
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 402
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 1:54 pm

Post by S13driftAZ » Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:07 pm

Actually I get the same problem. On all my PC's. When my ship is at idle, I get this low static-y/buzzing sound.
yvanovic
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 2:01 am

Post by yvanovic » Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:31 pm

I've just played a bit to narrow down the issue. All sounds are *perfect* (fire, pickups, etc) except the ship and afterburner sounds. the issue is not the drivers I think, but should be in these sound files... where are these files? Is sound embeeded in code binaries?
User avatar
Duper
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 9205
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Post by Duper » Thu Feb 04, 2010 8:12 pm

I'd say that it's the sound chip then. Try an inexpensive sound card; something other than realtek.

On board sound is notoriously ..er... shall we say \"lack luster\"? ;)
It's not the game. Mine runs fine. Also try different sound settings in the outside system settings. D3d, EAx, Surround.. that kinda thing. Also, if you have a global equalizer, try turning your high end down just a tad. Also, reinstall DX9c


**EDIT**

oh wait.. you have windows 7. That's DX10. hm. Not familiar with that enough. Try the D3 sound settings.
User avatar
Foil
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
Posts: 4900
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 3:31 pm
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA

Re:

Post by Foil » Fri Feb 05, 2010 9:27 am

yvanovic wrote:...where are these files? Is sound embeeded in code binaries?
I believe those sounds are in one of the .hog files; not sure which one, though. Try PlanetDescent.com for .hog tools.
User avatar
Foil
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
Posts: 4900
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 3:31 pm
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA

Post by Foil » Fri Feb 05, 2010 9:30 am

Oh, and the low \"buzz\" is typically normal interference from other system components; you just don't hear it when there is other action going on. Nothing you can do about that.

[To see if this is the case, run D3 with the -nosound option. If you still hear the low \"buzz\", it's inherent system noise.]
User avatar
Duper
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 9205
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Post by Duper » Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:26 am

Hogview32 will let you extract the sound files (and texture files) that are bundles in the hog file. d3.hog iirc. The others are too small.

But yeah, that buzzing is part and parcel of the game. I don't hear it anymore. ...then again, I have tinnitus. ;)
User avatar
Krom
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
Posts: 15181
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
Contact:

Re:

Post by Krom » Fri Feb 05, 2010 11:46 am

Foil wrote:Oh, and the low "buzz" is typically normal interference from other system components; you just don't hear it when there is other action going on. Nothing you can do about that.

[To see if this is the case, run D3 with the -nosound option. If you still hear the low "buzz", it's inherent system noise.]
Only if your system is a horrible piece of junk. Sure if you spend a bit on some really good/sensitive headphones they will sometimes pick up the hiss even from a good amplifier, but your average speaker set and headphones will only pick up a buzz or a hiss from horribly defective audio equipment.
User avatar
Foil
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
Posts: 4900
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 3:31 pm
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA

Re:

Post by Foil » Fri Feb 05, 2010 12:07 pm

Krom wrote:Only if your system is a horrible piece of junk.
Not necessarily. A good sensitive set of headphones will pick up even a very tiny hum/buzz.

He might be able to alleviate some of it by moving cables around. For example: at one time, my audio jacks were too close to the GPU, and I got a faint hum that would increase/decrease in pitch based on the framerate I was getting in certain games. :P
Duper wrote:I don't hear it anymore. ...then again, I have tinnitus. ;)
So do I. Usually doesn't bother me too badly, though.
yvanovic
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 2:01 am

Post by yvanovic » Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:19 pm

Thanks all. Actualy I have a sound blaster X-Fi board on my desk, but my $1600 Gateway FX-6800 *gamer* computer does not have any PCI slot left. By the way, I regret my purchase - never get Gateway computers they do not deliver honnest systems. For instance, in the box at purchase time it was written \"Creative Sound Blaster bla bla bla\". I though it was a Create sound chipset... na da. Only a software on top of embeeded Realtek audio.

Also the problem is not noise pick from other sources. The static sound is present *only* in D3 with ship sound and aferburner. There should be something \"wrong\" is sound samples.
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5435
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius » Sat Feb 06, 2010 10:36 pm

Gateway still exists?
User avatar
Duper
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 9205
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Post by Duper » Sun Feb 07, 2010 12:17 am

side note on the X-Fi card. If you go into system properties and it's identified as an \"Axxx\"(whatever number) you don't have an X-fi, you have an Audigy chip. :P I have one of those. :x
yvanovic
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 2:01 am

Post by yvanovic » Sun Feb 21, 2010 6:20 pm

I've sold my X-Fi ExtremMusic PCI card, and purchased a Fatality PCI Express card. I've installed that card and disabled motherboard audio. All drivers up to date. I've installed OpenAL latest version1.1 (summer 2009). Still same problem!!!!!!!! statics with after burner and ship sounds in D3. This is driving me crazy. Please try this... New Game... the ship is lying waiting for entering in very first level. Press space bar, when level is tarting, get to the bots.. are you listening to statics or not??? The ship
sound is so horible... set 32 bits sound. Can you help?
User avatar
Duper
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 9205
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Post by Duper » Sun Feb 21, 2010 9:31 pm

forgive me dude, but you haven't read thoroughly. It's part of the game. There really isn't anything you can do. Try dumbing the sound settings down.
User avatar
Spidey
DBB Grand Master
DBB Grand Master
Posts: 10367
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2001 2:01 am
Location: Earth

Post by Spidey » Mon Feb 22, 2010 4:51 pm

I have this…HD Realtek 7.1. In my media box…and quite frankly…it’s not that crappy, I would look elsewhere for the problem.
User avatar
NUMBERZero
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 3:12 pm
Location: Florida
Contact:

Post by NUMBERZero » Mon Feb 22, 2010 8:05 pm

Turn off Ship Sounds in the General catagory in the Options. You will not be able to hear the low hum of your engines throttling up and down, but it will get rid of the static. You will still be able to hear the AB. You will still be able to hear yourself ramming into everything. It just turns off the useless engine static.
\"PUT THE BALL INNNNNN!!!!!!\"--What I was screaming on 3/7/09 PD Reunion Monsterball game
Descent 3 Anarchy: \"Just you, your ship, and a whole bunch of weapons to turn your enemies into slag.\"--TopGun
yvanovic
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 2:01 am

Post by yvanovic » Tue Feb 23, 2010 12:24 pm

Ship sound option was turned off. But the throttle sound is still there when accelerating, with bad statics. Setting low 16 bit sound quality helps, but sound is let's say less good. I have the latest and \"almost\" greatest X-Fi Fatality, but only DirectSound is available on D3 console after redetect. The EAX is not available for instance. Is it the same for all of you? I am surprized not to see much more complains about this issue. This makes me wonder I might have an old d3.hog sound file. I purchased that game at very first time it goes out (I played sinced D1, waiting for D2, then D3). May be Interplay solved some issues in D3.HOG files after first comming out??? Is your HOG file later than 1999/05/25? Anyway thanks all for your help.
User avatar
Foil
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
Posts: 4900
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 3:31 pm
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA

Post by Foil » Tue Feb 23, 2010 2:10 pm

Since you have a Creative X-Fi, check out the \"ALchemy\" system. It will allow the old DirectSound3D and EAX in Vista/7. That's what I use, and I'm not noticing any static-y issues.
User avatar
Duper
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 9205
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Re:

Post by Duper » Wed Feb 24, 2010 1:25 am

yvanovic wrote:Ship sound option was turned off. But the throttle sound is still there when accelerating, with bad statics.
This did it for me. Not a peep, unless I hit the burners.
yvanovic wrote:I have the latest and "almost" greatest X-Fi Fatality, but only DirectSound is available on D3 console after re-detect. The EAX is not available for instance. Is it the same for all of you?
Yup. I have the X-Fi XtremeGamer and I get the same thing; which I don't mind as the EAX thing only ever gave me a horrible echo. (I'm also running windows 7).

Ohm thanks Foil! I'll give that a try as well. Also, yvanovic, don't forget to get OpenAL for more compatibility.
ahh.. just noticed the D3 is listed for ALchemy compatibility
Post Reply