HAXMED32 gives Runtime Error 50003 on Vista

For Descent, Descent II and Descent3 level editing and modification assistance.
Post Reply
User avatar
Xfing
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1492
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:03 am
Location: Ringing Satan's Doorbell

HAXMED32 gives Runtime Error 50003 on Vista

Post by Xfing » Wed Jun 13, 2012 2:37 am

I can't run the program and it might come in handy sometime... I also had problems with HAMM97, but fixed it by adding the needed .ocx files and registering them. I did the same for haxmed whenever it asked for specific .ocx files, but now instead of a runtime error associated with a specific file, I get an "unexpected error", numbered 50003. Well I have no idea what could be the issue now, as I have installed Visual Basic Runtime 6 and cleaned out the registry of bad entries using Advanced PC Tweaker. Any ideas?
Descent 1,5: Level layouts done: 34/54 Secret level layouts done: 1/6
User avatar
Krom
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
Posts: 15181
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
Contact:

Re: HAXMED32 gives Runtime Error 50003 on Vista

Post by Krom » Wed Jun 13, 2012 8:56 am

Did you install all the descent manger DLL packs? Also try running it in XP compatibility mode. Otherwise your options may be limited to running it in a actual XP machine / virtual machine.
User avatar
Xfing
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1492
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:03 am
Location: Ringing Satan's Doorbell

Re: HAXMED32 gives Runtime Error 50003 on Vista

Post by Xfing » Thu Jun 14, 2012 8:59 am

You're right, I might be missing one of the dll packs. Mind sending me working links to both?
Descent 1,5: Level layouts done: 34/54 Secret level layouts done: 1/6
User avatar
Xfing
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1492
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:03 am
Location: Ringing Satan's Doorbell

Re: HAXMED32 gives Runtime Error 50003 on Vista

Post by Xfing » Fri Jun 22, 2012 8:28 am

Gosh dang it... I've tried both installing all of the dll packs I could find and using compatibility mode, nothing worked. The same error still pops up at running the program : (
Descent 1,5: Level layouts done: 34/54 Secret level layouts done: 1/6
User avatar
Krom
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
Posts: 15181
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
Contact:

Re: HAXMED32 gives Runtime Error 50003 on Vista

Post by Krom » Fri Jun 22, 2012 10:46 am

I've got a working version from the descent manger robot construction kit, or at least it works in my copy of windows 7 x64... I've uploaded the relevant files, including the required dllpacks here: http://krom.sploitz.com/DBB/descman/

(10 years ago I created a local mirror of the entire descent-network download server, I have pretty much everything they ever made.)
User avatar
Xfing
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1492
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:03 am
Location: Ringing Satan's Doorbell

Re: HAXMED32 gives Runtime Error 50003 on Vista

Post by Xfing » Fri Jun 22, 2012 1:46 pm

Huge thanks, Krom. I'ma try that stuff out :P
Descent 1,5: Level layouts done: 34/54 Secret level layouts done: 1/6
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5435
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Re: HAXMED32 gives Runtime Error 50003 on Vista

Post by Sirius » Sat Jun 23, 2012 1:10 am

Krom wrote:(10 years ago I created a local mirror of the entire descent-network download server, I have pretty much everything they ever made.)
Which is great, because I've been hearing they don't anymore.
User avatar
Krom
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
Posts: 15181
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
Contact:

Re: HAXMED32 gives Runtime Error 50003 on Vista

Post by Krom » Sat Jun 23, 2012 9:10 am

Well, I have the installers and all the various other misc files they had, but I don't have the source code for anything. If they want what I do have, I could upload it somewhere for them (its in a ~2 GB 7-zip archive).
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5435
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Re: HAXMED32 gives Runtime Error 50003 on Vista

Post by Sirius » Sat Jun 23, 2012 5:06 pm

Right, they never did distribute the source code though. What I mean is the DNet server has a lot of broken links when it comes to files.
Oh, with one exception; I think Garry once sent me the source code for PMView and some related things. Hopefully I still have it.
Post Reply