* FAQ    * Search  * Register * Login 
Active topics
Unanswered topics

All times are UTC-06:00



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: HAXMED32 gives Runtime Error 50003 on Vista
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 2:37 am 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:03 am
Posts: 1362
Location: Ringing Satan's Doorbell
I can't run the program and it might come in handy sometime... I also had problems with HAMM97, but fixed it by adding the needed .ocx files and registering them. I did the same for haxmed whenever it asked for specific .ocx files, but now instead of a runtime error associated with a specific file, I get an "unexpected error", numbered 50003. Well I have no idea what could be the issue now, as I have installed Visual Basic Runtime 6 and cleaned out the registry of bad entries using Advanced PC Tweaker. Any ideas?

_________________
Descent 1,5: Level layouts done: 32/54 Secret level layouts done: 1/6


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: HAXMED32 gives Runtime Error 50003 on Vista
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 8:56 am 
Offline
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Posts: 15145
ICQ: 46028958
Website: http://krom.d3k.org
AOL: dutenhnj
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
Did you install all the descent manger DLL packs? Also try running it in XP compatibility mode. Otherwise your options may be limited to running it in a actual XP machine / virtual machine.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: HAXMED32 gives Runtime Error 50003 on Vista
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 8:59 am 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:03 am
Posts: 1362
Location: Ringing Satan's Doorbell
You're right, I might be missing one of the dll packs. Mind sending me working links to both?

_________________
Descent 1,5: Level layouts done: 32/54 Secret level layouts done: 1/6


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: HAXMED32 gives Runtime Error 50003 on Vista
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 8:28 am 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:03 am
Posts: 1362
Location: Ringing Satan's Doorbell
Gosh dang it... I've tried both installing all of the dll packs I could find and using compatibility mode, nothing worked. The same error still pops up at running the program : (

_________________
Descent 1,5: Level layouts done: 32/54 Secret level layouts done: 1/6


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: HAXMED32 gives Runtime Error 50003 on Vista
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 10:46 am 
Offline
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Posts: 15145
ICQ: 46028958
Website: http://krom.d3k.org
AOL: dutenhnj
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
I've got a working version from the descent manger robot construction kit, or at least it works in my copy of windows 7 x64... I've uploaded the relevant files, including the required dllpacks here: http://krom.sploitz.com/DBB/descman/

(10 years ago I created a local mirror of the entire descent-network download server, I have pretty much everything they ever made.)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: HAXMED32 gives Runtime Error 50003 on Vista
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 1:46 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:03 am
Posts: 1362
Location: Ringing Satan's Doorbell
Huge thanks, Krom. I'ma try that stuff out :P

_________________
Descent 1,5: Level layouts done: 32/54 Secret level layouts done: 1/6


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: HAXMED32 gives Runtime Error 50003 on Vista
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2012 1:10 am 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5426
ICQ: 28874658
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/
Location: Bellevue, WA
Krom wrote:
(10 years ago I created a local mirror of the entire descent-network download server, I have pretty much everything they ever made.)

Which is great, because I've been hearing they don't anymore.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: HAXMED32 gives Runtime Error 50003 on Vista
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2012 9:10 am 
Offline
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Posts: 15145
ICQ: 46028958
Website: http://krom.d3k.org
AOL: dutenhnj
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
Well, I have the installers and all the various other misc files they had, but I don't have the source code for anything. If they want what I do have, I could upload it somewhere for them (its in a ~2 GB 7-zip archive).


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: HAXMED32 gives Runtime Error 50003 on Vista
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2012 5:06 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5426
ICQ: 28874658
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/
Location: Bellevue, WA
Right, they never did distribute the source code though. What I mean is the DNet server has a lot of broken links when it comes to files.
Oh, with one exception; I think Garry once sent me the source code for PMView and some related things. Hopefully I still have it.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Descent'rs have piloted these pages
 
The layout and contents contained within this site are © DescentBB.net 1997-2006.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is Outrage Entertainment.
Descent is a Trademark of Interplay Productions.

Miner Wars™ is trademark of Keen Software House s. r. o.
.


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group