How the ProxMine works

For Descent, Descent II and Descent3 level editing and modification assistance.
yfmain
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

How the ProxMine works

Post by yfmain »

I'm a newbie of D3E, and I wonder how the proxmine works.
It is a quite simple object, and it does not have any gunpoint.
But you know, when you hit it, it would explode and cover a very large range. I check the tablefile of this item, but nothing there.
Is there anything in script which is doing this, and where the exploding animation came from?

could anyone explain to me how such objects work and how to make it work?
DigiJo
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Post by DigiJo »

all mines in d3 are robots and follow the instructions of a compiled ai. (modul aigame.dll)
yfmain
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Post by yfmain »

Can we build such instruction files for custom Robots?
Duper
DBB Master
DBB Master

Post by Duper »

See THIS Thread for just THAT thing! :)

oops.. I said that word again! ACK!
yfmain
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Post by yfmain »

Thanks, but this thread did say what i want.

I exported the Proxmine.oof and table.gam item out and make a new .mn3, then i use this robot in my level, just like what Jon did, but the new mines in my level are only standing there without doing anything. I have to shoot them to die.

I write a script of one of the mine, and make the behavior simular like the original Proxmine, but it only works with the mines i defined with names.

So how could i make a robot like the proxmine, and i can put them in the game without doing any script work for every of them.

What DigiJo said makes sense, but i have no idea how to make a instruction for them.

BTW, How can i show a uservar on the screen or write then in a output file? i use the HUD message with integer, but it only showed the message without a number from uservar.
Interceptor6
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Post by Interceptor6 »

Well, if you want to make a custom prox mine you don't need to make it a robot. You can leave it as a weapon.