Reliable buffer overrun!

A place to deal with D3 servers, server issues, server listings, etc. Home Page

Moderators: Do_Checkor, Starken

Post Reply
User avatar
Xamindar
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1497
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 2:44 am
Location: California
Contact:

Reliable buffer overrun!

Post by Xamindar » Sun Apr 30, 2006 3:24 pm

I was hosting a dedicated coop server of Reactor Gamma. For some reason I kept getting kicked because of a \"reliable buffer overrun\". I'm searching around but can't find much info on it. This server is running on windows 2000 and is using d3server to configure and keep it up. It seems to do it randomly to all the players but it actually did it to me more often.

Has anyone else encountered this problem? Any way I can fix it?
User avatar
Foil
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
Posts: 4900
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 3:31 pm
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA

Post by Foil » Mon May 01, 2006 10:55 am

I had the same thing happen a few weeks ago when I tried to host a Reactor Gamma co-op game (3 players).

Since this is a \"buffer overrun\" error, my guess is that it's because the server is trying to handle too many info packets (from player location/speed/weapons to bots, powerups, everything.. that level is PACKED full of stuff). That's only speculation, though.

I have no idea how to fix it, but I can tell you that Reactor Gamma on co-op mode is the only level where I've seen it happen.
User avatar
Xamindar
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1497
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 2:44 am
Location: California
Contact:

Post by Xamindar » Mon May 01, 2006 1:11 pm

Ok, thanks for the info. I was thinking it was something like that. That level is huge! I also noticed that I would get that overrun if I go psycho and fire all my secondary and primary at the same times (cyclones do it deffinately).

I guess I'll have to find a different level to host.
Post Reply