Multiple IP's with D3Server3

A place to deal with D3 servers, server issues, server listings, etc. Home Page

Moderators: Do_Checkor, Starken

Post Reply
calgary-server2
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 1:00 pm

Multiple IP's with D3Server3

Post by calgary-server2 » Tue Oct 09, 2007 1:20 pm

Hi guys.

I know D3Server3 can use an alternate IP in it's settings. I have a multi-homed server with multiple NIC's. When creating a game to host, I don't see where I can add an alternate IP for a particular game. I will end up hosting different games on different NIC's with different IP's.

Any suggestions?

Thanks for everyone's time.
User avatar
Krom
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
Posts: 15181
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
Contact:

Post by Krom » Tue Oct 09, 2007 2:33 pm

Its the -useip ***.***.***.*** command line variable. It will bind D3 to a specific IP, note that in order to run multiple servers on the same IP they have to be on different ports.
User avatar
Foil
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
Posts: 4900
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 3:31 pm
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA

Post by Foil » Tue Oct 09, 2007 3:09 pm

Krom, I think he's talking about Hunter's D3Server tool, where the alternate IP setting is global (applies to all the games launched through it).

You could launch a separate game manually (config file with the \"-useip\" command), or try to run separate instances of D3Server (although I'm not sure if you can).

My question is: why do the games end up on different NICs, with different IPs? That seems odd...
User avatar
Grendel
3d Pro Master
3d Pro Master
Posts: 4390
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Corvallis OR, USA

Post by Grendel » Tue Oct 09, 2007 3:20 pm

Not if he has multiple pipes to the internet.
ImageImage
calgary-server2
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 1:00 pm

Post by calgary-server2 » Tue Oct 09, 2007 3:39 pm

Hi guys.

Thanks for the quick reply. I should have clarified it a bit. Yes, there are multiple pipes hooked up to this box. Is there another server tool that will handle the scripting for me and allow me to specify different ip's for different games?

Thanks again.
Post Reply