D3 server on linux

A place to deal with D3 servers, server issues, server listings, etc. Home Page

Moderators: Do_Checkor, Starken

Post Reply
User avatar
Tangaroa
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

D3 server on linux

Post by Tangaroa » Sat Apr 17, 2004 3:55 am

What do I need to run a descent 3 server on a machine with redhat 9?
User avatar
Sarge
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
Posts: 4396
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 1999 2:01 am

Post by Sarge » Thu May 27, 2004 4:21 pm

Up this, somebody help this guy out!

(P.S. I know it's not easy. D3 was designed to run on Win95/98
User avatar
Do_Checkor
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
Posts: 647
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 3:01 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Do_Checkor » Thu May 27, 2004 4:38 pm

oops. somehow i missed this. maybe we could ask Shiva or Munk? I will contact Munk via ICQ in a minute...
Shiva
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 364
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Post by Shiva » Thu May 27, 2004 5:13 pm

Not much really. Download the D3 Linux server, and follow the directions inside the package on how to install it. It's a pretty easy install, and you will have to copy over some files from the Descent CD, which it will also tell you to do in the instructions.
User avatar
SSX-Thunderbird
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1273
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2001 2:01 am
Location: Washington (the state, not the city)

Post by SSX-Thunderbird » Thu May 27, 2004 7:51 pm

I should add information for dedicated servers to the main PD site. There's a section on my hosted site for it, but I don't know if anyone actually goes there.
Munk
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:01 am
Location: Germany

Post by Munk » Sun May 30, 2004 12:51 pm

Unfortunatly, on machines above 700 MHz (depends on front side bus frequency) you always get an "unreliable buffer overrun", whenever a player joins the game on the outrage linux server.

If this didn't happen, you are very lucky, but you have to face the checksum mismatch bug, where some (or most?) levels can't be hostet.

There is a way to avoid all these bad things in using the windows server emulated on a linux machine. This works very well, i have almost 2 years experience with this configuration. But install process is rather complicated, but works fine when done.
You even can play Pyromania with it...
Post Reply