Question for experienced server ops.

A place to deal with D3 servers, server issues, server listings, etc. Home Page

Moderators: Do_Checkor, Starken

Post Reply
User avatar
Pun
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
Posts: 2108
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2001 2:01 am
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Contact:

Question for experienced server ops.

Post by Pun » Tue Sep 21, 2004 3:29 pm

Assuming you have a good clean 3000/1500 connection and a 2.8 gig P4 with half a gig of memory, is it possible to run an 8-player, a 4-player and two 2-player games on one box?
User avatar
esa
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
Posts: 251
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2001 2:01 am
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Contact:

Post by esa » Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:14 pm

1.5 megabits up? Easily, as far as bandwidth, CPU, and memory are concerned (you also need good latency.)

CPU and bandwidth requirements scale exponentially with the number of players: you would need *more* bandwidth and CPU for a single fully-populated 16-player game than your 8+4+2+2 scenario. A fully-loaded 16-player game at 9PPS with everyone shooting may burst near 1.5 megabits. Level design matters a lot.

You can use 'perfmon' to observe the bandwidth consumption and packet volume.
Starken
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
Posts: 741
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Redmond, WA

Post by Starken » Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:52 pm

Another good rule of thumb is to never let your servers sustained bandwidth exceed half of your connections rating. Due to the small packets used by the game, transport overhead (unseen by your performance monitor since it is added at the modem) becomes a large factor. Overhead varies by connection type, but I once calculated it for my SDSL line at 40+ percent.

As always YMMV.
User avatar
Do_Checkor
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
Posts: 647
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 3:01 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Do_Checkor » Wed Sep 22, 2004 5:22 am

Yea I agree will esa and Starken. It depends much on what levels, what MODs and how many packets you are going to use.

But in general: Your machine can easily handle those 4 instances, but if your connection does - you have to test. I'd say: Usually your 4 servers won't be used at the same time, so it should work good...
User avatar
Pun
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
Posts: 2108
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2001 2:01 am
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Contact:

Post by Pun » Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Thanks, fellas. I'm sure I'll have more questions later. Right now I'm still waiting for my connection to be upgraded.
User avatar
Instig8
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 347
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2001 2:01 am
Location: Orange County, CA, USA
Contact:

Post by Instig8 » Sat Oct 02, 2004 9:01 pm

If I recall correctly, some of my 14-player servers would gobble up as much as 1.5 megabit each. 100 megabits was the limit, so no bandwidth issues there.
Post Reply