Creating a Server behind Routers using NAT

A place to deal with D3 servers, server issues, server listings, etc. Home Page

Moderators: Do_Checkor, Starken

Post Reply
User avatar
Neo
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
Posts: 765
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 6:03 am

Creating a Server behind Routers using NAT

Post by Neo » Wed Oct 13, 2004 7:55 am

How do I host a non-dedicated server in D3 so that people can see my WAN IP? Do I just open TCP and UDP ports on my routers?
User avatar
CDN_Merlin
DBB_Master
DBB_Master
Posts: 9486
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Location: Capital Of Canada

Post by CDN_Merlin » Wed Oct 13, 2004 8:12 am

Yes, look in the readme file and forward those ports to the PC that will be hosting the game.
User avatar
Neo
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
Posts: 765
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 6:03 am

Post by Neo » Thu Oct 14, 2004 7:09 am

When you say "forward those ports," do you mean open the ports?
User avatar
Do_Checkor
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
Posts: 647
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 3:01 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Do_Checkor » Thu Oct 14, 2004 7:57 am

open AND forward from the router to the PC. Maybe the settings tab is called "virtual router" or "portmapping" or so...
User avatar
CDN_Merlin
DBB_Master
DBB_Master
Posts: 9486
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Location: Capital Of Canada

Post by CDN_Merlin » Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:23 am

open/forward are th same thing. On my linksys it's the "Gaming" tab or the "port forwarding" tab.
User avatar
Instig8
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 347
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2001 2:01 am
Location: Orange County, CA, USA
Contact:

Post by Instig8 » Thu Oct 14, 2004 12:08 pm

If you do this a lot, you probably should have a static IP set on the server machine (if you haven't already done so). Make sure the IP is outside any DHCP range set on the router.
Post Reply