* FAQ    * Search  * Register * Login 
Active topics
Unanswered topics

All times are UTC-06:00



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Router problems...
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 10:50 am 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 545
Website: http://sectorgame.com/
Location: Seoul
Ok, firstly I have a Creative 8133U DSL Router (NAT Enabled). It has a firewall, but there is no way to disable that other than going around it port forwarding. So I looked around the Creative forums, and found what I already knew - I had to forward the ports. I couldn't make what Host IP I was supposed to enter however, so I just used the Router IP, Lan IP and Internet IP (Dynamic). I opened up port 2092 and 2093 both TCP/UDP on each IP.

Image

Looking good. But no glory. No one can see the server over the Internet. So any ideas? NAT Enabled, DMZ Disabled... Although my knowledge on those is less than stellar.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 3:16 pm 
Offline
DBB_Master
DBB_Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 9485
Location: Capital Of Canada
public port, 2092 and 2093
private port are same
host IP is your LAN IP.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 5:45 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 545
Website: http://sectorgame.com/
Location: Seoul
Yep.. Thats what I did. No worky... :(


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 11:14 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 9:22 am
Posts: 28
ICQ: 18451841
Website: http://www.red.game-server.cc
Yahoo Messenger: fpdcsa
AOL: red0barchetta
Location: Miami, FL. USA
I usually end up opening up the DMZ, as I run so many services, my LinkSys router does not have enough slots to enter all the ports I need. Not as safe, but, I do what I gotta do to get the services to run.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 3:53 am 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 545
Website: http://sectorgame.com/
Location: Seoul
The DMZ is disabled. Or do I have to enable it to open it? ;)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 6:07 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2004 9:12 pm
Posts: 187
ICQ: 122082463
AOL: patches1177
iirc, you need both TCP and UDP for D3 to work. From what I see in that pic, you'll have to create two entries for each port which are otherwise identical.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 9:18 am 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 545
Website: http://sectorgame.com/
Location: Seoul
Thought of that the first time I used the CP. Sadly, no luck....


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 4:38 am 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 545
Website: http://sectorgame.com/
Location: Seoul
Found the problem, NAT was causing problems, so I enabled DMZ for this PC and it works. Obviously, a bit riskier, but whatever. Good old software can take care of the generic intrusions.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 6:11 am 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 3:01 am
Posts: 645
Website: http://www.Descentforum.DE
Location: Germany
nice that you could solve it. i have not the big clue 'bout routers and the one i had to setup was really easy and good to understand...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 7:36 am 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 545
Website: http://sectorgame.com/
Location: Seoul
Or not.. I can see it on the LAN, but it cant be seen on the Internet... :S

Do I need to set DMZ host IP to my DSL IP instead of LAN perhaps?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 10:46 am 
Offline
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 6:54 am
Posts: 2791
Location: USA
Hunter......Please don't let Hyperspace CTF die..... :cry:

I don't see it hosted anymore.

Bettina

and who is the couple in the avatar?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron



Descent'rs have piloted these pages
 
The layout and contents contained within this site are © DescentBB.net 1997-2006.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is Outrage Entertainment.
Descent is a Trademark of Interplay Productions.

Miner Wars™ is trademark of Keen Software House s. r. o.
.


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group