* FAQ    * Search  * Register * Login 
Active topics
Unanswered topics

All times are UTC-06:00



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Questions from a nOOb
PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 2:40 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2001 2:01 am
Posts: 631
Website: http://www.teamnub.com
Location: Davis, Ca, USA
I'm upgrading my DSL to 3mb down, 768kb up and am thinking about running a server. I've looked in this forum and Do_Checkor's and notice a lot of talk about routers. I don't have a router. I connect to SBC through a 2Wire 1800HG Gateway. Will this work or am I going to need a router? And, if so, what's a good one to get?

TIA

DM


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 4:57 pm 
Offline
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Posts: 15145
ICQ: 46028958
Website: http://krom.d3k.org
AOL: dutenhnj
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
Lack of a router makes it easier to put up a server, on the other hand it also makes it easier for network worms and viruses to attack your computer. Stay on top of your windows updates. ;)

A method of telling if you have a router or not is to go to http://www.dslreports.com/whois and look at your public IP address, then inside a command prompt window (start ---> run ---> "cmd" without the quotes and press enter) type "ipconfig /all" and if the IP address (or one of the IPs if it lists multiple) is the same as the public IP on DSL reports then you do not have a router and can freely run a server.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 1:28 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2001 2:01 am
Posts: 631
Website: http://www.teamnub.com
Location: Davis, Ca, USA
Thanx much, Krom.

I did what you said and came up with two different IP's, so I figured I was in trouble. I didn't know what this gateway thing did. I thought it might be a switch, much like I used before. Coming from SBC there was no info on it, so I did some digging on 2Wire's website and found out it acts like a router and has a built-in firewall. Figured I was in deep doo-doo because I had no software for it. Then, while looking at some screenshots, I accidently stumbled on access to the program which will let me configure it. Their games list even has a profile for Descent3. :D

Guess I'm good to go. Just have to jump in and get my feet wet. I'll probably be back with more questions.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 4:29 pm 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 3:01 am
Posts: 645
Website: http://www.Descentforum.DE
Location: Germany
yea nice post krom!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Descent'rs have piloted these pages
 
The layout and contents contained within this site are © DescentBB.net 1997-2006.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is Outrage Entertainment.
Descent is a Trademark of Interplay Productions.

Miner Wars™ is trademark of Keen Software House s. r. o.
.


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group