* FAQ    * Search  * Register * Login 
Active topics
Unanswered topics

All times are UTC-06:00



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Timeout.... I think.
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 7:49 pm 
Offline
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 6:54 am
Posts: 2791
Location: USA
Sometimes when I choose \"Launch\" in the D3 tracker to enter a game, all I get is a white screen that says \"done\" at the bottom. It only happens on one server. Is there a fix that I need to install?

Bettina


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 3:30 am 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 3:01 am
Posts: 645
Website: http://www.Descentforum.DE
Location: Germany
Good Morning Bettina :)

on WHAT server? what mod? what mission? the white error on a homepage?? does this happen by launching out of vortex too? questions over questions :)

First thing I'd say is: delete and re-download the mission - this may already solve it...

Good luck!

_________________
www.Descentforum.DE | www.Do-Clan.DE | www.Descentforum.NET | www.Descentforum.NET/ServerOps


Top
   
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 2:03 pm 
Offline
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 6:54 am
Posts: 2791
Location: USA
Do_Checkor wrote:
Good Morning Bettina :)

on WHAT server? what mod? what mission? the white error on a homepage?? does this happen by launching out of vortex too? questions over questions :)

First thing I'd say is: delete and re-download the mission - this may already solve it...

Good luck!


Hi...

I don't remember the server name, but it will happen again soon and I'll get the info your requesting. It goes bad one day but not the next...

Ill get the info...

Bettina


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 4:16 pm 
Offline
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 6:54 am
Posts: 2791
Location: USA
Ok, it happened again. When I click on LAUNCH, all I get is a white screen with \"done\" at the bottom.

Funny thing, its only the following servers. All ANARCHY levels.

DIII-Server #1 Skybox
DIII-Server #2 Subway Dancer
DIII-Server #3 Public Fear

When I tried about twenty time on #1, it finally showed text with player names. The other two are still just white.

Bettina :)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:04 pm 
Offline
3d Pro Master
3d Pro Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 3:01 am
Posts: 4381
Location: Corvallis OR, USA
Bet51987 wrote:
Ok, it happened again. When I click on LAUNCH, all I get is a white screen with "done" at the bottom.

What app is it that sports the "Launch" button ? You using http://d3.descent.cx/tracker.d3 ? W/ IE or Firefox ?

Most likely the reason is that the DIII servers don't answer immediately to requests since they are in europe. Looks like their route drops UDP packets quite often since I can't get responses from them in kquery on a regular basis. So yes, most likely it's a timeout.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 6:09 pm 
Offline
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 6:54 am
Posts: 2791
Location: USA
Thanks....

I use IE6 and yes I use the LAUNCH in http://d3.descent.cx/tracker.d3. Once I select it, a screen comes up allowing me to select .EXE.... and it starts my game.

But, the screen stays white.

Bettina


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 3:51 am 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 3:01 am
Posts: 645
Website: http://www.Descentforum.DE
Location: Germany
for now:

I'd recommend you to use a REAL Webbrowser like Firefox http://www.mozilla.com/firefox/ or Opera http://www.opera.com ! :-)

But why you only get that problem with the DIII Servers - I don't get it ATM...

_________________
www.Descentforum.DE | www.Do-Clan.DE | www.Descentforum.NET | www.Descentforum.NET/ServerOps


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 7:34 am 
Offline
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 2:01 am
Posts: 2365
Location: South of Ft. Worth Texas
I was paranoid about letting the web launch an application. I had to keep checking it each time to confirm that the batch job was the same, except for the link. yeah, I'm very paranoid about computer security. :)

So....

I wrote my own launcher using a Notetab clip. Notetab is a FANTASTIC text editor that has a very powerful scripting language. Clips are what we call the little programs you can write in that scripting language. My Notetab editor is almost ALWAYS open, I use it for everything. So now when I want to start a descent game, I just browse over to http://d3.descent.cx/tracker.d3, copy the ip address I'm interested in, then double click the notetab click and Notetab launches descent with that ip address in the parameters.

The clip is a simple one liner:
Code:
^!Dos \"C:\\Program Files\\Descent3\\MAIN.EXE\" -launched -pilot Kilarin -setdir \"C:\\Program Files\\Descent3\" -directip ^$GetClipboard$ -nointro -nooutragelogo

(obviously, Notetab replaces ^$GetClipboard$ with the contents of the clipboard, which is the ip address you just copied from the web page)

If you don't want to use Notetab, you can, of course, just let the launcher write the batch file for you and run that. Or you could do the exact same thing with notepad, its just a few more clicks. Just create a batchfile somewhere easily accessable (your desktop for instance) The batchfile should have one line:

\"C:\\Program Files\\Descent3\\MAIN.EXE\" -launched -pilot YOURPILOTNAME -setdir \"C:\\Program Files\\Descent3\" -directip IPADDRESSHERE -nointro -nooutragelogo

When you want to launch, EDIT that batch file, copy the ip address from the web page, paste it into the batch file where the IPADDRESSHERE is, then save and run.

The Notetab clip is easier, and Notetab light is a FREE download. So, If anyone wants to set up Notetab to do this for them, I'd be MORE than happy to help them get it working. Always happy to win a convert for my favorite text editor! :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 12:22 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 473
Website: http://www.sllik.com/
Location: Dallas, TX
Sorry. I'm a vi/vim/gvim junkie myself. =)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Descent'rs have piloted these pages
 
The layout and contents contained within this site are © DescentBB.net 1997-2006.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is Outrage Entertainment.
Descent is a Trademark of Interplay Productions.

Miner Wars™ is trademark of Keen Software House s. r. o.
.


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group