* FAQ    * Search  * Register * Login 
Active topics
Unanswered topics

All times are UTC-06:00



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New SP level in work [screens]
PostPosted: Sat Oct 18, 2008 1:47 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 3:01 am
Posts: 237
Location: Oslo, Norway
It's not a mission with objectives. I tried to make a mission, but sux at making a good story. So it's more like a training level and the only goal is to kill bots. The level is pretty big and there is 33 matchens around the level.

[The screens might apare a bit darker than in game]


Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

There is also weapon matcens, which will spawn mostly vaussclips and MD ammo

I want to make it an option on which ship you wanna fly, Pheenix or the tank or whatever. But not sure how to do this yet. Seems that i need to make a little intro level were you can release those ships, but I dunno how to pack multiple levels in one files.

I don't have a name for my level either, I sux at that to :D
my main focus has been to make good lookin' rooms with nice connection between them.
I only need to program som few more matchens, then the level is ready for som testflyin'

Leon


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 18, 2008 11:52 am 
Offline
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 30, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5775
ICQ: 37279425
Website: http://www.kyouryuu.net
AOL: kyouryuu32
Location: Isla Nublar
I don't know if I'd say good looking \"rooms.\" Looks more like a series of tubes.

They do look nice for corridors, though. :wink:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2008 3:58 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 3:01 am
Posts: 237
Location: Oslo, Norway
Yeah, theres a lot of tubes in this mission. But theres some rooms as well.

I'm finish with a teststage of my level, and it's accessable at yousendit for seven days. If anyone wanna testfly it and give me some feedback, please PM me.

Theres no weapon in my level except for AB cooler, quadlaser, vaussclips, MD ammo, mortars and napalm rockets. Type 'ivegotit' in game, and you have all the weapon.
I will add primary weapons in the intro level, if I figure how to make one. If anyone know how, or know a tut on how to pack levels together in one file, please tell me.

Leon


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:47 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 3:01 am
Posts: 237
Location: Oslo, Norway
Ok, I have figured how to make level sets.
Now I struggle to make the ship selection accessable. But Im workin on it :D


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 2:54 pm 
Offline
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 30, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5775
ICQ: 37279425
Website: http://www.kyouryuu.net
AOL: kyouryuu32
Location: Isla Nublar
I think you have to enable that through DALLAS scripting, but it's predicated on having first run a level to run that script. That is, level 1 can't have a ship selection, but level 2 can.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 3:34 pm 
Offline
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 3:31 pm
Posts: 4900
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
Looks like he got it figured out with some help from Atan. :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2008 8:19 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 3:01 am
Posts: 237
Location: Oslo, Norway
Yup, Atan even made a small level set for demostration.

I did a test flight with the skipnix, and Im verey pleased with the gameplay.
Im tempted to make it bigger, though, or even make a 3'rd level, a level with objectives and a story. But then it will prolly never get finish :roll:

Hey, Kyouryuu, I followed your 'hello world' tutorial for scripting, but the only message i got in game was 'no message found'. I even made it twice and dobble checked if it was done right. Well....I didn't pay much more attention to it and moved on to other things.
I did all this on a practice level I have, theres a bunch of stuff in it, it's scripted left and right, with keys, bots, doors and what not. After some rounds with the ship selection testing, I one day suddenly saw the 'hello world' message on my HUD, haha. I have no idea what might have happen here, prolly not easy to find out either. Do you have any ideas?

Leon


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2008 4:04 pm 
Offline
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 30, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5775
ICQ: 37279425
Website: http://www.kyouryuu.net
AOL: kyouryuu32
Location: Isla Nublar
None at all. :lol:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 6:55 pm 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet

Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 6:20 pm
Posts: 5
Were you able to finish this level? It looks great, I'd love to try it out!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Descent'rs have piloted these pages
 
The layout and contents contained within this site are © DescentBB.net 1997-2006.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is Outrage Entertainment.
Descent is a Trademark of Interplay Productions.

Miner Wars™ is trademark of Keen Software House s. r. o.
.


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group