Need D1 line command

A forum just for you old time Descent and Descent2 players.
Post Reply
User avatar
Duper
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 9205
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Need D1 line command

Post by Duper » Wed Nov 22, 2006 12:56 am

Does anyone remember the line command to split the D1 screen in half??

You could get effective 3d view that way.
User avatar
Neumaennl
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 6:01 am
Location: Germany (Munich)
Contact:

Post by Neumaennl » Thu Nov 23, 2006 7:01 am

it's in the manual - you have to use the command for enabling one of the 3D Helmets/glasses - I don't remember which one, though - could be VFX-1
User avatar
Duper
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 9205
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Post by Duper » Thu Nov 23, 2006 9:17 pm

no. This wasn't for the VF Glasses. This actually split the screen into two halves. (that's redundant, I know)

Then you moved close enough until the picture became one half. Kinda like a Masterview for your computer! :D
User avatar
The Lion
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 2:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by The Lion » Fri Nov 24, 2006 1:31 pm

-vfxmono

Don't know if it works with the D1x'es though, and if so, which ones.
User avatar
Duper
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 9205
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Post by Duper » Fri Nov 24, 2006 5:12 pm

nope, it doesn't. :\\ aw well. thanks anyways. Thanks Nuem, it looks like you were on the right track!

Merry Christmas guys!
User avatar
Theftbot
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 172
Joined: Sun May 11, 2003 2:01 am

Post by Theftbot » Sat Nov 25, 2006 6:01 pm

May have to go through setup.exe to set it up-though im not really sure
User avatar
Duper
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 9205
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Post by Duper » Sat Nov 25, 2006 6:32 pm

it can be used as a tag on a shortcut (formerly a pif file) or in a bat file. The problem is that D1 doesn't work in XP, mostly because sound won't config right. IRQ standards have changed and the old D1 config program won't allow for manual assignment.

:oops:

Hey, could the Xl or XX guys put this feature bck in????

pplllLLEEEAAssss!
;)
User avatar
Neumaennl
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 6:01 am
Location: Germany (Munich)
Contact:

Post by Neumaennl » Sun Nov 26, 2006 5:13 am

have you tried DOSBox? D1 runs quite well in it and you have no sound issues and can use the original D1 in all its 320x200 glory :P
User avatar
Duper
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 9205
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Post by Duper » Sun Nov 26, 2006 3:54 pm

Neumaennl wrote:... can use the original D1 in all its 320x200 glory :P
lmao.. I tried that the other day... shooting at colored squares :lol: kinda like firstperson pong!!!!

DOSBox? I've never heard of it.
User avatar
DarkShadow
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1371
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Contact:

Post by DarkShadow » Mon Nov 27, 2006 8:26 am

Duper wrote:DOSBox? I've never heard of it.
DOSBox info
User avatar
Duper
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 9205
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Post by Duper » Mon Nov 27, 2006 11:34 am

Amazing!! Thanks!
Might be able to use DTX again! woot!
User avatar
BUBBALOU
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
Posts: 4193
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Dallas Texas USA
Contact:

Post by BUBBALOU » Wed Nov 29, 2006 6:53 am

D1x-Rebirth is a no brainer, no need for DOSBOX!!

as you can see it was for another proggie, but all he really had to do was make it run in win 95/98 mode

You can save yourself a heap of configuration issues when you have an application that has issues with XP, right click the setup (even if it is on a CD) and choose Windows Compatibility mode before you install.

This is especially helpful for those programs that use a legacy installation wizard that errors out on it's initial start.

This lil tid-bit of info came in really handy when an old friend( MIS/IT ) was about to wipe a couple (100) perfectly good XP laptops to install windows 98 and set for dual boot, for 1 measly legacy government application. I was called for assistance on how to wipe the Laptop since they did not have a floppy for the 98 disk, all I did was ask why... the rest was history. Still urked they didn't give me one as compensation.

I seem to have a better workout dodging your stupidity than attempting to grasp the weight of your intelligence.
User avatar
Duper
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 9205
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Post by Duper » Wed Nov 29, 2006 11:30 am

I think ya mis-understood Bubba. I use rebirth for normal play.

I want to try something that the original D1 had in it. A split screen.

This doesn't work under the new versions of Descent and thus the need for Dosbox. I have no intention in playing Descent the original way. Also, I don't don't have a legacy box... not yet at least.
psionik
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2000 2:01 am
Location: Lexington, KY
Contact:

Post by psionik » Mon Dec 11, 2006 6:52 pm

run setup and tell it you have a VFX1
Post Reply