* FAQ    * Search  * Register * Login 
Active topics
Unanswered topics

All times are UTC-06:00



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Old timer, Wants to play again
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 9:57 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 9:47 am
Posts: 141
Hey I first played descent in 1996, when i had a Macintosh Performa (A heap of junk if you ask me). Anyway, i got rid of my mac in '98 and switched to PC. Now i'm sick of Pc's and have gone back to good old apple (not offending all you pc users i hope).
Anyway, i found my old descent cd last week, and thought i would give it a go on my new macbook. However when i tried to intall the game, my macbook told me that the application was not supported by the system.
I tried downloading the D2x-Xl files too, but i am aware that you need the data files from an original descent purchase in order to play.
AS you can see i have the necessary files, as i have an original purchase of descent, despite its 11 years old!! is there anyway i can access the files so i can play this great game!!!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 1:15 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 9205
WLM: biffski@yahoo.com
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA
Welcome to the DBB!

Mac huh? .. ok, there is some critical info we need. First, what version of Mac OS are you using?

Which Descent game are you trying to play. There are folks here that play on Mac's (thought their numbers are dwindling).

From what you posted, it seems that you are trying to play D2 on the most recent OS. Each of the patches support current Mac Os's. D/l the patches and read though the \"README\" for instructions.

Rebirth Downloads

XLDownloads


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:30 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 9:47 am
Posts: 141
Hey Duper,
Thanks for the info.
My macbook arrived last week so its fresh out of the box, and has MAC OS X version 10.4.10

I have a very very old descent 1 cd, which is in macintosh format, but for some reason it won't install.

So what i really need to know is how i can go about installing this, i don't know if you know much about macs, but it seems there backwards compatability is fairly limited.

i would like to play descent 1, but with the D2x-xl project , can't you play the descent 1 missions with that?

ill download the patches form the links you posted, see if they help
Thanks man :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:40 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 9:47 am
Posts: 141
By the way, jut wanted to add how amazed i am at how fantasitcally large and active the descent community is! Just goes to show a good game never dies, i wish i could have been apart of it for all of this time!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2007 12:23 pm 
Offline
Defender of the Night
Defender of the Night

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 13452
Location: Olathe, KS
If memory serves, all the D1 installer does is just copy the data files from the CD to your hard drive. They're not even compressed! (and why would they need to be? The entire game is only 15MB in size!) Just copy the data over to your system and you're ready to go. You don't have to run the setup executable at all if rebirth functions like it does in windows. It'll use your operating system's setup instead of the game's.

Descent2 is a whole other story however. The data IS compressed, mainly due to the cutscenes.

And for the record, these are NOT patches. These are third party executables. Patches MODIFY original game data. Neither Rebirth or XL exhibit this behavior.

Also, kali is still alive and kicking. :) Your best shot at finding a game is there since thats where most of the community hangs out these days.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2007 3:06 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 9:47 am
Posts: 141
Hey MD-2389, thanks for your interest and advice. :)
Unfortunately i'm still having problems, hopefully this picture may help describe them a little better.
http://upload2.postimage.org/620321/photo_hosting.html
This shows exactly what is on the cd when inserted, the reason given as to why the file cannot be opened, and i have also opened the info box for the file
For some reason it seems that this acient version of decent HAS been compressed

I went over to the apple support pages, and the only advice they had for \"CLassic Applications\" was to install MAC OS 9 and use \"classic environment\" to run the application, i.e. decsent. Now why i would want to install an outdated OS is beyond me. Surely there is another way?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2007 4:05 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 11:48 pm
Posts: 703
Website: http://www.pumosoftware.co.nr
WLM: digipumo@hotmail.com
Location: Mexico
Facebook: rubenpumo
Twitter: Pumo_Torbernite
YouTube: PumoTorbernite
Mmh, well i don't know if the main game files (HOG and PIG) are different from the PC version (if someone knows, tell me) but maybe i can give you the HOG and PIG files if they works for you (Of course, by E-Mail)

_________________
[Pumo software main website] - Pumo Mines current progress: 60%
Visit my Steam profile, and add me as friend if you want :D


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2007 3:05 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 9:47 am
Posts: 141
Hey guys, thanks for all your help!
i've been really enjoying descent singleplayer. i've bought D2 now to.
Wht programs can i use to find some online action for D1/D2?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2007 4:32 pm 
Offline
Defender of the Night
Defender of the Night

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 13452
Location: Olathe, KS
Kali is the only real hub for the community these days. Just be aware that they can be a rowdy bunch sometimes, so expect alot of sarcastic remarks.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:51 pm 
Offline
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 24, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 4193
ICQ: 6955979
Website: http://bubbalou.event3dstudios.com
Location: Dallas Texas USA
People still use a MAC ... poor folk

_________________

I seem to have a better workout dodging your stupidity than attempting to grasp the weight of your intelligence.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 8:34 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 9:45 am
Posts: 144
Location: Connecticut
MD-2389 wrote:
Kali is the only real hub for the community these days. Just be aware that they can be a rowdy bunch sometimes, so expect alot of sarcastic remarks.


BUBBALOU wrote:
People still use a MAC ... poor folk


MD's Point exactly... :P

Hey... I still need someone to make one of those nifty 3dpro converters for me. Or tell me where to order the parts and all that crap. I'm getting tired of not playing descent...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 11:16 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5428
ICQ: 28874658
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/
Location: Bellevue, WA
You could play with mouse if you're desperate (I do because it's less of a strain actually). Or another joystick (God forbid!).


Top
   
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2007 8:23 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 9:45 am
Posts: 144
Location: Connecticut
Sirius wrote:
You could play with mouse if you're desperate (I do because it's less of a strain actually). Or another joystick (God forbid!).


I actually started on mouse.... was pretty good too! But my wrist are still good(knock on wood) so I would love to be able to use the 3dpro I JUST bought...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:44 am 
Offline
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2000 3:01 am
Posts: 8826
Location: Seattle
BUBBALOU wrote:
People still use a MAC ... poor folk


Actually, everyone connected to an Ethernet network uses Media Access Control... oh, wait, you didn't mean that! You meant a Mac.

I play Duke 3D under DOSBox on my Macbook Pro all the time, try that for D1 if you want the most accurate experience. You won't get hardware acceleration for D2, however.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2007 5:31 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5428
ICQ: 28874658
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/
Location: Bellevue, WA
Odd. Why did you just buy a joystick that doesn't work with your system?

I mean, sure there are the converters if you get them, but...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 9:11 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 9:45 am
Posts: 144
Location: Connecticut
Sirius wrote:
Odd. Why did you just buy a joystick that doesn't work with your system?

I mean, sure there are the converters if you get them, but...


3dpro is the best descent stick. It does work... when it wants to... But every now and again it will just cut out in the middle of a game and not work at all for a few seconds. I'm tempted now to just retire this stick and purchase a usb one... but none I've felt have the same stability and just good feel as the 3d pro.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 2:34 pm 
Offline
Defender of the Night
Defender of the Night

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 13452
Location: Olathe, KS
Get yourself a Logitech Extreme 3D Pro. Best stick I have ever owned, hands down! Like with my previous FF stick, my wrist doesn't ache in the slightest when using this stick. The button placement is practically ideal for Descent! You should seriously check it out!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 3:43 pm 
Offline
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 3:31 pm
Posts: 4900
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
Eh. I'm using the Logitech currently (mainly because of the Best Buy warranty), but I'd love to get back to the Sidewinder Precision Pro or 3DPro.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 3:43 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:08 am
Posts: 1074
Location: Minnesota, USA
I also like the Saitek ST290 Pro, it takes a bit of muscle to move around, and after a while you actually start grinding into the base, but after that it smooth sailing. and for $20 you can't use. (As a note, i didn't use the hat for sliding, so I dont' know how good it is.)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 10:49 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 8:30 am
Posts: 453
Location: Waukesha, WI
If you can find one, and you still have a pre-USB keyboard port, you could do worse than a Gravis Phoenix. Turn, pitch, roll, and throttle all at once without touching a button (that you can save for sliding). Golly I miss that old thing...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 11:24 pm 
Offline
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 24, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 4193
ICQ: 6955979
Website: http://bubbalou.event3dstudios.com
Location: Dallas Texas USA
haha

3DPro Rocks (with USB adapter too)

Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 7:40 am 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5428
ICQ: 28874658
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/
Location: Bellevue, WA
I must be the only person in the universe who tried a 3D Pro and wasn't that impressed. :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2007 4:19 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 6:01 am
Posts: 185
ICQ: 333302146
WLM: neumaennl@live.de
Location: Germany (Munich)
oh, I have a Gravis Phoenix, too and wow is that a great joystick - 4 axes and 24 programmable buttons plus great handling - what more could one want? (well I want a Gravis phoenix with USB port so I can use it on my laptop)

maybe when I have time I will (try to) make an adapter similar to Grendel's for the 3Dpro, no promises, though


Top
   
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2007 9:48 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 8:30 am
Posts: 453
Location: Waukesha, WI
Neumaennl wrote:
I want a Gravis phoenix with USB port so I can use it on my laptop...

maybe when I have time I will (try to) make an adapter similar to Grendel's for the 3Dpro, no promises, though


I wonder if this would do the trick. It works for the programmable PS/2 keyboard (aka programmer's best friend) I have on my USB workstation, also from this company.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 3:21 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 6:01 am
Posts: 185
ICQ: 333302146
WLM: neumaennl@live.de
Location: Germany (Munich)
thx for the try Sedwick, but I don't think it would work - the Gravis Phoenix is connected to a PS/2 or DIN/AT Keyboard port and the Gameport - the Keyboard is then plugged into the Gravis Phoenix, which hands the signals through to the PC - if I wanted to make a USB Adapter which makes a 4 Axes/24 Button USB Joystick out of it I think I'd have to build it myself


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron



Descent'rs have piloted these pages
 
The layout and contents contained within this site are © DescentBB.net 1997-2006.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is Outrage Entertainment.
Descent is a Trademark of Interplay Productions.

Miner Wars™ is trademark of Keen Software House s. r. o.
.


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group