have i been playing too much...

A forum just for you old time Descent and Descent2 players.
Post Reply
User avatar
sniper725
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 3:15 pm

have i been playing too much...

Post by sniper725 » Tue Jan 15, 2008 6:29 pm

...or is it just evil come to get me
Image
the robot died shortly after this screenshot as if it was too unstable.
MD-2389
Defender of the Night
Defender of the Night
Posts: 13452
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Location: Olathe, KS

Post by MD-2389 » Tue Jan 15, 2008 8:53 pm

Looks like that sucker found some bad schrooms. ;)
User avatar
d3jake
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1074
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:08 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Post by d3jake » Tue Jan 15, 2008 9:34 pm

I've had a very similar issue with D2X-X, I have no clue what causes that... What's your video card, do you know?
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5465
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius » Tue Jan 15, 2008 10:05 pm

Yeah, there are a few robots that have odd texturing. The Sidearm, Red Fatty Jr, Smelter and Bulk Destroyer from memory.
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
Posts: 1604
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Post by Aus-RED-5 » Wed Jan 16, 2008 1:09 am

It's simple.

If you don't use shadows, or don't care either way.
Turn off fixed models + shadows and the bots will look just like they did in the original D2.

Code: Select all

;enable usage of shadow proof robot and ship models (recommended)
-fix_models 0
;use the shadow proof models for regular rendering, too
-alt_models 0
;Use shadows from low res models for hires models
-lores_shadows 0
;enable real time shadowing
-enable_shadows 0
Diedel has said this already when he fixed the models to make them shadow proof. He didn't fix the mapping of the textures for the bots.
This is why they are out of place. ;)
User avatar
d3jake
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1074
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:08 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Post by d3jake » Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:37 am

Must've been fixed in the last version that I used... Nice to know it was fixed.
Post Reply