did any D1 robots made appearences in D2?

A forum just for you old time Descent and Descent2 players.
Post Reply
tomoyoafter
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 8:39 pm

did any D1 robots made appearences in D2?

Post by tomoyoafter » Fri Oct 01, 2010 8:38 pm

i never got around to finishing D2
so which one made it to D2?

thanks
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5437
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius » Fri Oct 01, 2010 8:42 pm

Supervisor robot is the only one I remember.
User avatar
Alter-Fox
The Feline Menace
Posts: 2661
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 12:49 pm
Location: the realms of theory
Contact:

Post by Alter-Fox » Fri Oct 01, 2010 11:31 pm

I believe there was a MatCen in level 16 that sometimes made cloaked Medium Lifters.

The Supervisor robot was on Quartzon (level 5 - level 8.), so you'd have to have stopped before level 5 to not encounter it.

Vertigo had most of the D1 robots. I believe it had everything but the Advanced Lifter, Medium Lifter, Class 1 Heavy Driller (though it introduced the class 2 version), PTMC Defense Prototype and the Platform bots. I think all the other D1 bots were in Vertigo.
tomoyoafter
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 8:39 pm

Re:

Post by tomoyoafter » Sat Oct 02, 2010 2:02 am

Alter-Fox wrote:I believe there was a MatCen in level 16 that sometimes made cloaked Medium Lifters.

oh that's neat, does it stay cloaked even if you shoot it?

thanks for the info
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5437
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius » Sun Oct 03, 2010 3:16 am

I knew I was forgetting something - yes, you're right, there were cloaked lifters too (don't think they were medium lifters - I believe the model was different - but it is still from Descent 1). I wouldn't be able to tell you what level(s) they appeared in though.
tomoyoafter
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 8:39 pm

Post by tomoyoafter » Tue Oct 05, 2010 5:40 am

User avatar
Alter-Fox
The Feline Menace
Posts: 2661
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 12:49 pm
Location: the realms of theory
Contact:

Post by Alter-Fox » Tue Oct 05, 2010 7:03 am

No. Closest thing to the box art was the Diamond Claw. Which you probably did see... it appeared on level 3 (is even in the demo).
I believe there was a retextured medium lifter in one of Sirius' D2 multiplayer levels that looked very close to it though. Look at \"Year of the Snake\".
User avatar
Xfing
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1497
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:03 am
Location: Ringing Satan's Doorbell

Post by Xfing » Sun Oct 31, 2010 8:38 am

It's just like AlterFox says. I hope that we get to finish D1 and a half someday, that'll solve that problem forever :)
Descent 1,5: Level layouts done: 34/54 Secret level layouts done: 1/6
User avatar
Stroodles
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 406
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 11:36 am
Location: Right Behind You

Re:

Post by Stroodles » Sun Oct 31, 2010 11:55 am

Xfing wrote:It's just like AlterFox says. I hope that we get to finish D1 and a half someday, that'll solve that problem forever :)
I got distracted from that too =(
Amg! It's on every post and it WON'T GO AWAY!!
User avatar
Xfing
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1497
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:03 am
Location: Ringing Satan's Doorbell

Re:

Post by Xfing » Mon Nov 01, 2010 6:17 am

Stroodles wrote:
Xfing wrote:It's just like AlterFox says. I hope that we get to finish D1 and a half someday, that'll solve that problem forever :)
I got distracted from that too =(
For me it's the lack of a steady Internet connection right now (and probably for another month or more) that makes it hard for me to work on it, the next phase I'm stuck at is altering descent2.ham. Pumo suggested to use haxmedit for DOS, which doesn't have protection, and that's what I'll do when I get my nets back. Working on my level too :)
Descent 1,5: Level layouts done: 34/54 Secret level layouts done: 1/6
User avatar
Alter-Fox
The Feline Menace
Posts: 2661
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 12:49 pm
Location: the realms of theory
Contact:

Post by Alter-Fox » Mon Nov 01, 2010 8:53 am

At least you don't need to be connected to the internet to use the editor... (not like, say, the Source SDK)...
User avatar
Xfing
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1497
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:03 am
Location: Ringing Satan's Doorbell

Post by Xfing » Tue Nov 02, 2010 7:52 am

Yeah, that's definitely a plus. Could you take a shot at descent2.ham then? I think you know what needs to be changed. I would do it myself when I get my connection back, but i have no idea how long will it take.
Descent 1,5: Level layouts done: 34/54 Secret level layouts done: 1/6
User avatar
Alter-Fox
The Feline Menace
Posts: 2661
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 12:49 pm
Location: the realms of theory
Contact:

Post by Alter-Fox » Tue Nov 02, 2010 7:45 pm

I would, but I can't get Dosbox to work.
User avatar
Xfing
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1497
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:03 am
Location: Ringing Satan's Doorbell

Re:

Post by Xfing » Wed Nov 03, 2010 12:04 pm

Alter-Fox wrote:I would, but I can't get Dosbox to work.
Damn it, but I know what you're talking about. That thing needs some serious configuration done to launch most DOS apps.

I take it you've already tried dragging the app's icon onto the DOSbox icon?
Descent 1,5: Level layouts done: 34/54 Secret level layouts done: 1/6
Post Reply