My Descent 2 is too fast

A forum just for you old time Descent and Descent2 players.
Post Reply
User avatar
Sapphire Wolf
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1463
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 3:01 am
Location: Nope.avi , gender: male
Contact:

My Descent 2 is too fast

Post by Sapphire Wolf » Mon May 24, 2004 6:22 pm

How come My Dell Pentium 4 made my Descent 2 way too fast?

Did I post this in the wrong section?
User avatar
Lothar
DBB Ghost Admin
DBB Ghost Admin
Posts: 12133
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Location: I'm so glad to be home
Contact:

Post by Lothar » Mon May 24, 2004 6:52 pm

Descent2 is framerate-dependant. It was designed to run at 30-60 fps, and when you get outside that range, things get kinda weird.

Homers get harder to dodge as your framerate increases, and omega cannon is more powerful at higher framerate... but the big thing is once you pass about 120 fps, the game behavior changes drastically. Your ship starts moving faster, your guns fire faster, etc. Back in 1998, some pretty average pilots went to LANs and won tourneys over top pilots because they were running 500 FPS at low resolution/small screen on their amazing overclocked p2-450's, and they could outrun and outgun anybody, and this led to a big controversy.

Type "frametimer" and watch your framerate numbers. On a fairly new system, even at high resolution with a rearview window, you're probably running 500 fps.

There are 3 solutions:
1) run D2 on a slower computer
2) run D2_3dfx on a computer with a voodoo card and vsync
3) get D2x (being discussed in another thread here) and hope it runs right on your computer (it's still under development.)

If you try to install D1 you should see the same problems, and the solution there is to get D1x (and, again, hope it runs right on your computer.) Both D1x and D2x fix the problem by capping framerate.
User avatar
DCrazy
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
Posts: 8826
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2000 3:01 am
Location: Seattle

Post by DCrazy » Mon May 24, 2004 7:19 pm

Moved to Multiplayer.
User avatar
Sapphire Wolf
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1463
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 3:01 am
Location: Nope.avi , gender: male
Contact:

Post by Sapphire Wolf » Sun Jun 06, 2004 12:11 am

HOLD IT!

This Was talking about the Whole Windows Version Of Descent 2! Not about Multiplayer!
User avatar
kurupt
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2506
Joined: Wed May 17, 2000 2:01 am
Location: Clinton, Ohio

Post by kurupt » Sun Jun 06, 2004 8:04 am

you can play single player with D2x as well. he was just pointing out that it was made with multi in mind.
User avatar
Kyouryuu
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
Posts: 5775
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Isla Nublar
Contact:

Post by Kyouryuu » Sun Jun 06, 2004 10:51 am

This is so not a Multiplayer topic. Why did it get pushed here?

Anyhow, it's mostly what Lothar said. Your best bet for slowing Descent 2 down is probably to use D2X. Although it has a few quirks, it will make Descent 2 payable again. :)
User avatar
Ferno
DBB Stoner
DBB Stoner
Posts: 14341
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 1998 3:01 am

Post by Ferno » Sun Jun 06, 2004 11:40 pm

sounds like a tech forum post...
User avatar
AceCombat
Owned by Timex
Owned by Timex
Posts: 6510
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Conyers, GA, USA

Post by AceCombat » Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:36 am

what about just turning on VSync, and forcing it to run at 60 FPS?
User avatar
Lothar
DBB Ghost Admin
DBB Ghost Admin
Posts: 12133
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Location: I'm so glad to be home
Contact:

Post by Lothar » Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:40 am

VSync is only possible (meaning, supported in D2) with a 3dfx (glide) card and d2_3dfx. Since Dell pentium 4's don't come with 3dfx cards (they quit making them before the era of the p4) I think it's safe to say VSync isn't a viable option.

I've been pretty happy with d2x, except for some minor problems with the sound. Get it from Diedel's site.
User avatar
AceCombat
Owned by Timex
Owned by Timex
Posts: 6510
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Conyers, GA, USA

Post by AceCombat » Mon Jun 07, 2004 12:50 pm

Lothar wrote:VSync is only possible (meaning, supported in D2) with a 3dfx (glide) card and d2_3dfx. Since Dell pentium 4's don't come with 3dfx cards (they quit making them before the era of the p4) I think it's safe to say VSync isn't a viable option.
okay, no need to be smartass about it, i know what all those features are. i was just asking. i know damn well they stopped making 3dfx before P-4's
User avatar
Lothar
DBB Ghost Admin
DBB Ghost Admin
Posts: 12133
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Location: I'm so glad to be home
Contact:

Post by Lothar » Mon Jun 07, 2004 3:20 pm

I'm not being a smartaxx. I'm just being thorough in my response in case anyone else is wondering.
User avatar
AceCombat
Owned by Timex
Owned by Timex
Posts: 6510
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Conyers, GA, USA

Post by AceCombat » Mon Jun 07, 2004 3:36 pm

ahhhhhhhhh okie dokie
pATCheS
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 187
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2004 9:12 pm
Contact:

Post by pATCheS » Tue Jun 08, 2004 12:43 am

And besides, D2X, just like D1X, has a framerate cap in it. It's wired to not let the game run faster than 80 FPS, but it'll run as slow as you want (even 1 FPS should work, though I don't recommend it ;)). You can set it to 60 FPS if you want, but I don't think it'll sync to your monitor (which it can probably be forced to do in your video driver, now that I think about it). D2X and D2_3dfx are pretty much unrelated btw, except that they're both very pretty (compared to the original software renderer, that is). Only D2_3dfx was a lot faster and prettier, but hey, it's getting there :P

There's also a thread on Diedel's version of D2X in the Coder's Corner that should be used for reporting problems, feature requests, etc.
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5437
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius » Tue Jun 08, 2004 4:22 am

If you're really worried about it, there are Glide wrappers for OpenGL and Direct3D about... they're slow, but when reducing speed is actually the point of the exercise...
User avatar
Sapphire Wolf
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1463
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 3:01 am
Location: Nope.avi , gender: male
Contact:

Post by Sapphire Wolf » Sat Jun 12, 2004 10:16 pm

Okay, pay attention, this topic is related to the whole game.

Now look at my FPS number:
Image
User avatar
Lothar
DBB Ghost Admin
DBB Ghost Admin
Posts: 12133
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Location: I'm so glad to be home
Contact:

Post by Lothar » Sat Jun 12, 2004 11:51 pm

Yep, that's what my system does in D2.
There are 3 solutions:
1) run D2 on a slower computer
2) run D2_3dfx on a computer with a voodoo card and vsync
3) get D2x (being discussed in another thread here) and hope it runs right on your computer (it's still under development.)
I've been pretty pleased with D2x, except that I get fairly low quality sound.
User avatar
Jeff250
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 6387
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 1999 2:01 am
Location: ☃☃☃

Post by Jeff250 » Fri Jun 18, 2004 9:59 pm

Sirius wrote:If you're really worried about it, there are Glide wrappers for OpenGL and Direct3D about... they're slow, but when reducing speed is actually the point of the exercise...
GliDOS is the only one I know of that works with D2. Traditionally with Glide emulators, the glideX.dll file is emulated, which is a Windows file, so D2 doesn't use it. Also, GliDOS isn't free. :(

Unfortunately with the 3dfx route, you're still dealing with a DOS program, so, in NT/2K/XP, you'll be having to emulate joystick and sound too.
User avatar
Sapphire Wolf
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1463
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 3:01 am
Location: Nope.avi , gender: male
Contact:

Post by Sapphire Wolf » Thu Jul 01, 2004 4:19 pm

Should I earn my very own Laptop?
User avatar
DCrazy
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
Posts: 8826
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2000 3:01 am
Location: Seattle

Post by DCrazy » Thu Jul 01, 2004 4:22 pm

Did I move this to Multiplayer? Jeez... shoulda moved it to tech. Sorry bout that.
Post Reply