* FAQ    * Search  * Register * Login 
Active topics
Unanswered topics

All times are UTC-06:00



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: My Descent 2 is too fast
PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2004 6:22 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 3:01 am
Posts: 1463
Website: http://www.sapphirewolf.net
Location: Nope.avi , gender: male
How come My Dell Pentium 4 made my Descent 2 way too fast?

Did I post this in the wrong section?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2004 6:52 pm 
Offline
DBB Ghost Admin
DBB Ghost Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 12133
Website: http://www.tomandcatherine.com
Location: I'm so glad to be home
Descent2 is framerate-dependant. It was designed to run at 30-60 fps, and when you get outside that range, things get kinda weird.

Homers get harder to dodge as your framerate increases, and omega cannon is more powerful at higher framerate... but the big thing is once you pass about 120 fps, the game behavior changes drastically. Your ship starts moving faster, your guns fire faster, etc. Back in 1998, some pretty average pilots went to LANs and won tourneys over top pilots because they were running 500 FPS at low resolution/small screen on their amazing overclocked p2-450's, and they could outrun and outgun anybody, and this led to a big controversy.

Type "frametimer" and watch your framerate numbers. On a fairly new system, even at high resolution with a rearview window, you're probably running 500 fps.

There are 3 solutions:
1) run D2 on a slower computer
2) run D2_3dfx on a computer with a voodoo card and vsync
3) get D2x (being discussed in another thread here) and hope it runs right on your computer (it's still under development.)

If you try to install D1 you should see the same problems, and the solution there is to get D1x (and, again, hope it runs right on your computer.) Both D1x and D2x fix the problem by capping framerate.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2004 7:19 pm 
Offline
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2000 3:01 am
Posts: 8826
Location: Seattle
Moved to Multiplayer.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 12:11 am 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 3:01 am
Posts: 1463
Website: http://www.sapphirewolf.net
Location: Nope.avi , gender: male
HOLD IT!

This Was talking about the Whole Windows Version Of Descent 2! Not about Multiplayer!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 8:04 am 
Offline
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 17, 2000 2:01 am
Posts: 2506
Location: Clinton, Ohio
you can play single player with D2x as well. he was just pointing out that it was made with multi in mind.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 10:51 am 
Offline
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 30, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5775
ICQ: 37279425
Website: http://www.kyouryuu.net
AOL: kyouryuu32
Location: Isla Nublar
This is so not a Multiplayer topic. Why did it get pushed here?

Anyhow, it's mostly what Lothar said. Your best bet for slowing Descent 2 down is probably to use D2X. Although it has a few quirks, it will make Descent 2 payable again. :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 11:40 pm 
Offline
DBB Stoner
DBB Stoner
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 20, 1998 3:01 am
Posts: 14328
sounds like a tech forum post...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:36 am 
Offline
Owned by Timex
Owned by Timex
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:01 am
Posts: 6510
Location: Conyers, GA, USA
what about just turning on VSync, and forcing it to run at 60 FPS?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:40 am 
Offline
DBB Ghost Admin
DBB Ghost Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 12133
Website: http://www.tomandcatherine.com
Location: I'm so glad to be home
VSync is only possible (meaning, supported in D2) with a 3dfx (glide) card and d2_3dfx. Since Dell pentium 4's don't come with 3dfx cards (they quit making them before the era of the p4) I think it's safe to say VSync isn't a viable option.

I've been pretty happy with d2x, except for some minor problems with the sound. Get it from Diedel's site.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 12:50 pm 
Offline
Owned by Timex
Owned by Timex
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:01 am
Posts: 6510
Location: Conyers, GA, USA
Lothar wrote:
VSync is only possible (meaning, supported in D2) with a 3dfx (glide) card and d2_3dfx. Since Dell pentium 4's don't come with 3dfx cards (they quit making them before the era of the p4) I think it's safe to say VSync isn't a viable option.


okay, no need to be smartass about it, i know what all those features are. i was just asking. i know damn well they stopped making 3dfx before P-4's


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 3:20 pm 
Offline
DBB Ghost Admin
DBB Ghost Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 12133
Website: http://www.tomandcatherine.com
Location: I'm so glad to be home
I'm not being a smartaxx. I'm just being thorough in my response in case anyone else is wondering.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 3:36 pm 
Offline
Owned by Timex
Owned by Timex
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:01 am
Posts: 6510
Location: Conyers, GA, USA
ahhhhhhhhh okie dokie


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 12:43 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2004 9:12 pm
Posts: 187
ICQ: 122082463
AOL: patches1177
And besides, D2X, just like D1X, has a framerate cap in it. It's wired to not let the game run faster than 80 FPS, but it'll run as slow as you want (even 1 FPS should work, though I don't recommend it ;)). You can set it to 60 FPS if you want, but I don't think it'll sync to your monitor (which it can probably be forced to do in your video driver, now that I think about it). D2X and D2_3dfx are pretty much unrelated btw, except that they're both very pretty (compared to the original software renderer, that is). Only D2_3dfx was a lot faster and prettier, but hey, it's getting there :P

There's also a thread on Diedel's version of D2X in the Coder's Corner that should be used for reporting problems, feature requests, etc.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 4:22 am 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5426
ICQ: 28874658
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/
Location: Bellevue, WA
If you're really worried about it, there are Glide wrappers for OpenGL and Direct3D about... they're slow, but when reducing speed is actually the point of the exercise...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 10:16 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 3:01 am
Posts: 1463
Website: http://www.sapphirewolf.net
Location: Nope.avi , gender: male
Okay, pay attention, this topic is related to the whole game.

Now look at my FPS number:
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 11:51 pm 
Offline
DBB Ghost Admin
DBB Ghost Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 12133
Website: http://www.tomandcatherine.com
Location: I'm so glad to be home
Yep, that's what my system does in D2.

Quote:
There are 3 solutions:
1) run D2 on a slower computer
2) run D2_3dfx on a computer with a voodoo card and vsync
3) get D2x (being discussed in another thread here) and hope it runs right on your computer (it's still under development.)


I've been pretty pleased with D2x, except that I get fairly low quality sound.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2004 9:59 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 6377
Location: ☃☃☃
Sirius wrote:
If you're really worried about it, there are Glide wrappers for OpenGL and Direct3D about... they're slow, but when reducing speed is actually the point of the exercise...


GliDOS is the only one I know of that works with D2. Traditionally with Glide emulators, the glideX.dll file is emulated, which is a Windows file, so D2 doesn't use it. Also, GliDOS isn't free. :(

Unfortunately with the 3dfx route, you're still dealing with a DOS program, so, in NT/2K/XP, you'll be having to emulate joystick and sound too.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 4:19 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 3:01 am
Posts: 1463
Website: http://www.sapphirewolf.net
Location: Nope.avi , gender: male
Should I earn my very own Laptop?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 4:22 pm 
Offline
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2000 3:01 am
Posts: 8826
Location: Seattle
Did I move this to Multiplayer? Jeez... shoulda moved it to tech. Sorry bout that.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Descent'rs have piloted these pages
 
The layout and contents contained within this site are © DescentBB.net 1997-2006.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is Outrage Entertainment.
Descent is a Trademark of Interplay Productions.

Miner Wars™ is trademark of Keen Software House s. r. o.
.


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group