* FAQ    * Search  * Register * Login 
Active topics
Unanswered topics

All times are UTC-06:00



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Descent 1 and/or 2 online anyone?
PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 4:11 am 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 4
I am looking to get some online action going and if anyone wants to game please let me know. I would like to try it through kahn but I have not tested it yet. I have been scouring the net for people to play with but it is difficult to find games. I would buy a subscription to kali but I need money first, so until then I will try out kahn. I prefer co-op but will play other types too.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 5:13 am 
Offline
DBB_Master
DBB_Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 9485
Location: Capital Of Canada
The only ppl I know that play D1 or D2 are using Kali. It's only 20$ for life. Not that hard to get.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 5:30 am 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 4
CDN_Merlin wrote:
It's only 20$ for life. Not that hard to get.


Like I said, I need money first. Not that hard to understand. Job=money, I don't have a job.
Simple as that.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 11:49 am 
Offline
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 17, 2000 2:01 am
Posts: 2506
Location: Clinton, Ohio
kahn died years ago, or did it come back recently under the radar? i'd love to play some d1 or d2, but i cant get them to work in xp and i refuse to revert to 98. sorry. :(


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 1:50 pm 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 4
kurupt wrote:
kahn died years ago, or did it come back recently under the radar? i'd love to play some d1 or d2, but i cant get them to work in xp and i refuse to revert to 98. sorry. :(


Try http://www.kahncentral.net to get kahn. Free now too. I got d2 running in xp just fine. Try setting the compatibility to win95 and see what that does for you.
Worked for me so maybe it just might work for you. :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 2:03 pm 
Offline
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 17, 2000 2:01 am
Posts: 2506
Location: Clinton, Ohio
wow, when did kahn come back? and no, 99% of the time its not as simple as compatibility mode, but thanks for trying to help. been down this road many times when xp came out, and i've exhausted every newb method and plenty of the more technical ones. closest i ever came was getting it to work in single player and having the multiplayer report a million+ ping, and everyone warping around (due to the million+ ping).

if someone were to solve it completely and write a tutorial, that would be what it takes to get myself and many others back into the game - at least a little bit back into it.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 6:49 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 7:11 pm
Posts: 60
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Kurupt:

Don't give up yet. D2 runs in xp just fine, just not the retail version. Go to this link for D2X, by Bradley Bell (and others).

http://www.icculus.org/d2x/

Install Win 95 Descent2 as normal, then install the D2x. Don't forget to also download the library files that are needed.

I run this official version of D2x in multiplayer through Kali and play single palyer all the time. with a joystick I am at 60 fps in game with a great ping. With my Nvidia 3D video stereo drivers my frame rate increases to 76 fps.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 7:31 pm 
Offline
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 17, 2000 2:01 am
Posts: 2506
Location: Clinton, Ohio
I never liked d2, my fault for not being specific. write a tutorial for d1x and i'll play.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:29 pm 
Offline
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender

Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2002 2:01 am
Posts: 4510
Location: Atlanta
Is there a D1x or something like it so I can play D1 with XP? I would love to start playing that again. I forget, does D1 support a joystick or is it kb only?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 10:07 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2002 3:01 am
Posts: 7091
Yes, D1 does support a joystick, and yes, there is a D1X. The latest version is 1.43, and it can be found here. Just unzip the files into your main D1 directory and run one of the two .exes. It may take some tweaking or require using one .exe file over the other, but it works quite well and provides quite a graphics boost to D1, as well as getting rid of that infamous super-framerate bug.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 11:49 pm 
Offline
DBB Ghost Admin
DBB Ghost Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 12133
Website: http://www.tomandcatherine.com
Location: I'm so glad to be home
d1x is also sometimes flaky on XP. I went through 5-6 versions on my first XP system without ever getting one that was really stable. Then I got a new XP system and the first one I tried worked perfectly. Go figure...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 2:25 pm 
Offline
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 17, 2000 2:01 am
Posts: 2506
Location: Clinton, Ohio
no luck for me on 2 seperate machines. ive used that 1.43 on a 98 machine and found it to be garbage. its just for people who value graphics over the game itself. i've been a 1.30 user since it came out. although i would bite the bullet and use 1.43 if i could actually get it working.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 3:07 pm 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 4
kurupt wrote:
no luck for me on 2 seperate machines. ive used that 1.43 on a 98 machine and found it to be garbage. its just for people who value graphics over the game itself. i've been a 1.30 user since it came out. although i would bite the bullet and use 1.43 if i could actually get it working.


If you want I can send you a compressed file with d1. Thats also depends on your connection speed. The version I have is retail 1.4a Works fine in win98 se for me.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 3:33 pm 
Offline
DBB Ghost Admin
DBB Ghost Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 12133
Website: http://www.tomandcatherine.com
Location: I'm so glad to be home
Descent 1.4a doesn't work properly on faster machines. You have to be running d1x, which unfortunately doesn't always work right in XP.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 7:17 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 484
Location: Staten Island, New York USA
I run d1x version 1.43 with no problem with my XP machine (not in win 98 compatability mode. Also D2x version version 2.0 works fine. I use a MS pre 2 while they are still around.

Put this in your D1X ini file:
-pps 6
-shortpackets
-noredundancy
-playermessages
-maxfps 80
-msgcolorlevel 3
-nicefps
-fullscreen
-joypolled
-notitles
-missiondir D:/Games/Descent Series/Descent/levels
-dynamicsockets
-gl_mipmap
-cockpit 2
-gl_reticle 1

I can't run them on Kahn. Last I heard Kahn was incompatable with XP. I use Kali. The problem, however, is finding people to play D1 or D2 with.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 8:36 pm 
Offline
DBB Defender
DBB Defender
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 30, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 3222
ICQ: 15517678
Website: http://www.suncho.com
WLM: xenerxythis@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: Spunchorb
AOL: Suncho
Location: Richmond, VT
What joystick do you use, pipsqueak? I can't get my joystick to work.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 8:48 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 484
Location: Staten Island, New York USA
Microsoft Precision 2 Joystick


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 8:55 pm 
Offline
DBB Defender
DBB Defender
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 30, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 3222
ICQ: 15517678
Website: http://www.suncho.com
WLM: xenerxythis@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: Spunchorb
AOL: Suncho
Location: Richmond, VT
Really? I use the Microsoft Force Feedback 2 and I can get D1x to work great except the game seems to be missing beats when polling my joystick. For example, if I push it all the way to the left, it just stutters rather than turning at full speed. Any idea what could be causing that? Have you run into that problem?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 1:14 pm 
Offline
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2000 6:00 am
Posts: 2155
I'll play but no mineriva or how ever you spell it. I can not stand that level.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 5:53 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 484
Location: Staten Island, New York USA
I've also had that problem. I find going into D1 options and adjusting the joystick sensitivity settings corrects that. Any my joy is configured through the Sidewinder options screen. Its not perfect but it really gives you that D1 nauseating feeling when playing.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 7:19 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5426
ICQ: 28874658
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/
Location: Bellevue, WA
Last time I tried, I have had no trouble running Descent 1.4a in Windows XP through VDMSound... unfortunately D1x doesn't work because of the way it accesses the video card...

The D1x Windows ports do though.

Descent 2 is also fine through VDMSound. Of course for that one you have the option of the Win95 version, although I commonly hear about people not liking it much.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 11:47 pm 
Offline
DBB Ghost Admin
DBB Ghost Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 12133
Website: http://www.tomandcatherine.com
Location: I'm so glad to be home
Sirius, if you're running D1 or D2 directly (not d1x or d2x) on a fast machine, your ship moves significantly faster than it should. Type "frametimer" in D2 to see your framerate -- if it's over about 120, you'll have problems playing.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2004 7:54 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5426
ICQ: 28874658
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/
Location: Bellevue, WA
The reason, I suppose, is that my machine isn't fast. Or at least not fast enough to cause problems.

(I guess a P3 667 with a Voodoo 3 only has so much power.)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2004 8:51 pm 
Offline
DBB Ghost Admin
DBB Ghost Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 12133
Website: http://www.tomandcatherine.com
Location: I'm so glad to be home
That should be fast enough to get some odd behavior (homers should be really tough to dodge) but if you run in high enough resolution you can probably keep your D2 framerate under 120 on that system for the most part.

But it changes very quickly. Shrink your screen down a bit with "frametimer" running, and watch your framerate go up. In particular, try flying at ~100 fps, and then try flying the same stretch at ~200 fps (small screen, no rearview, low resolution), if you can get it that fast. You'll be really surprised...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:22 am 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 6377
Location: ☃☃☃
Just a nitpick, it's frametime, not frametimer. I wouldn't say anything except this is like the third time you've said it. :wink:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:49 am 
Offline
DBB Ghost Admin
DBB Ghost Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 12133
Website: http://www.tomandcatherine.com
Location: I'm so glad to be home
The code is officially frametime, but the extra "r" switches you back from rearview. May as well just tell people to type frametimer.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2004 7:53 am 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2002 2:01 am
Posts: 1409
ICQ: 168682959
Website: http://www.Sega Genesis
WLM: tyransuasrex@gmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: sagezero1
AOL: Sage+Hedgeh
Location: Sega Genesis
Yeh I get that joystick stutter in D1X too.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2004 4:03 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 6377
Location: ☃☃☃
I don't know how bad your guys' is, but I can't even play D1x it's so bad. In fact, I can't even turn upward or rightward. D2x is perfect, though.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2004 6:45 pm 
Offline
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 17, 2000 2:01 am
Posts: 2506
Location: Clinton, Ohio
anyone figure out how to make the twist on a 3dpro work in d1x on windows xp? everything but that works, but i cant play d1 without a twist :(


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2004 7:25 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2002 3:01 am
Posts: 7091
The twist on my 3DPro works fine. Make sure that your throttle is in the absolute middle position; D1X often auto-detects that axis when you're trying to register another.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2004 5:50 am 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5426
ICQ: 28874658
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/
Location: Bellevue, WA
When I tried running it a little while back neither D1 nor D2 would even start up, so it's not a big deal. I was only getting 30-40 fps in the SDL version of D2X though. (0.12 I think)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Descent'rs have piloted these pages
 
The layout and contents contained within this site are © DescentBB.net 1997-2006.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is Outrage Entertainment.
Descent is a Trademark of Interplay Productions.

Miner Wars™ is trademark of Keen Software House s. r. o.
.


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group