anyone know where i can download old kali versions?

A forum just for you old time Descent and Descent2 players.
Post Reply
User avatar
kurupt
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2506
Joined: Wed May 17, 2000 2:01 am
Location: Clinton, Ohio

anyone know where i can download old kali versions?

Post by kurupt » Tue Aug 31, 2004 2:50 am

anyone?
User avatar
BUBBALOU
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
Posts: 4193
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Dallas Texas USA
Contact:

Post by BUBBALOU » Tue Aug 31, 2004 6:02 am

User avatar
Avder
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
Posts: 4924
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Moorhead, MN

Post by Avder » Tue Aug 31, 2004 10:56 am

All old versions except for 1.68 are disabled. I will NEVER downgrade from 1.68 to 2.x.

Yes, thats right, 2.x is a downgrade from 1.68 :P
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5435
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius » Tue Aug 31, 2004 7:28 pm

Yeah, it's an absolute hog of CPU resources in comparison. These days it's not a big deal, of course, since Kali 2 was released in the days of Pentium IIs I think; but there isn't a whole lot in Kali 2.x that is actually useful and not in earlier releases.
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5435
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius » Tue Aug 31, 2004 7:54 pm

And in a new wacky twist, just for the hell of it I started up Kali 2.613 today and watched people cycling in and out of chat (or more accurately, me cycling in and out of chat). And I noticed something; certain users never DID seem to drop out, and absolutely all of those were either using 1.68 or GtK or a weird thing called xkali (I think), whatever that is.

It seems, at least from my end, that those people don't have a problem with my buggy router.

Which is weird; it seems to indicate 1.68 is more compatible with 2.x than 2.x is.
User avatar
Avder
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
Posts: 4924
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Moorhead, MN

Post by Avder » Tue Aug 31, 2004 8:18 pm

Its because 2.x has a fruity net protocol which is barely compatible with the traditional kali net protocol. Also, xkali is the newest linux version of kali, written by a lot of the pserv people I think, because a lot of them use linux instead of windows. From what I hear its a lot more friendly to users behind nat.
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5435
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius » Wed Sep 01, 2004 1:17 am

Hm. Might have to try it, since I actually have Linux... although I don't use it very often.
User avatar
BUBBALOU
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
Posts: 4193
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Dallas Texas USA
Contact:

Post by BUBBALOU » Wed Sep 01, 2004 6:15 am

I have absolutely no problems with Kali 2.x and above with multiple computers behind a router. Given the fact when I had 1.68 and had initially set up a router for broadband, NETGEAR ROUTER was the problem not KALI.

Dumped that router within 2 hours and replaced it with a LINKSYS (never a problem since).

This was about 10 minutes after seeing at the Netgear Website **There is a problem with Netgear routers and GAMING software and GAMING applications** we are working on the Soulution with Netgears NAT translation services** (took them 4 years)

WTF GAMER with GAMING router Problems?? NFW! RMA RTN OMFW... keys please GONE~!

KALI would flame you because your port numbers would change every minute or so behind the netgear router thinking you had mutiple users with the same serial

PS static IP's behind the router make things easier too!
User avatar
Tyranny
DBB Defender
DBB Defender
Posts: 3399
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Phoenix, Arizona

Post by Tyranny » Wed Sep 01, 2004 4:28 pm

Yeah bubba, I had the same problem with a D-Link router and 3 computers networked using Kali. Switched to a linksys and haven't had any trouble since as well.
DarkHorse
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
Posts: 770
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2000 3:01 am
Location: Waikare, New Zealand
Contact:

Post by DarkHorse » Sat Sep 04, 2004 6:51 pm

I'll be damned if I'm switching routers just to get Kali to work. I'd rather go and find another game.
User avatar
Ferno
DBB Stoner
DBB Stoner
Posts: 14341
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 1998 3:01 am

Post by Ferno » Sat Sep 04, 2004 7:05 pm

I had a DLink netcard burn out on me once, so I took that as a sign of how good DLink's quality is.

needless to say I'm running realtek nic's and a linksys DSL modem
Post Reply