* FAQ    * Search  * Register * Login 
Active topics
Unanswered topics

All times are UTC-06:00



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Another Stik question. ...sorta.
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:04 am 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 9205
WLM: biffski@yahoo.com
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA
It's about sticks, but more directly, I was wondering if anyone knows which D2 file contains stick parameters. I want to set axis' as the game's interface only detects my throttle axis. R1 or something like that.

I get different settings depending on the exe I use.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:12 am 
Offline
3d Pro Master
3d Pro Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 3:01 am
Posts: 4379
Location: Corvallis OR, USA
Descent2.exe uses descent.cfg, "Descent II Win95.exe" uses descent.cfg and/or descentw.cfg and d2x.exe seems to use descentw.cfg


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:15 am 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 9205
WLM: biffski@yahoo.com
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA
This is all that's in there:

JoystickMin=0,0,0,0,0,0,0
JoystickCen=32767,32767,32767,0,32767,32767,32767
JoystickMax=65535,65535,65535,0,65535,65535,65535

I need axis assignment. Thanks tho Grendel!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 1:41 am 
Offline
3d Pro Master
3d Pro Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 3:01 am
Posts: 4379
Location: Corvallis OR, USA
Oh. The axis assignments are in the player profile files IIRC.

Edit: I'm not sure if I understand the problem -- you can't assign axis ?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Another Stik question. ...sorta.
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 3:28 am 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5426
ICQ: 28874658
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/
Location: Bellevue, WA
Duper wrote:
I want to set axis' as the game's interface only detects my throttle axis. R1 or something like that.


That's the problem... so basically, no, he can't assign axes normally.

I'm not sure how you'd edit the joystick axis settings in a .plr file myself... but there might be specs out there.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 6:47 am 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 9205
WLM: biffski@yahoo.com
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA
hmm. Just noticed that there are 7 axis bandwidth ranges there. I'm used to seein only 3. Soooo.. i guess I need to just reduce one to 0 throughout the squence till it works. .. I'll see what that does after work and will report back.


The problem I'm having is assigning the correct axis to the stick for what i want. In this case the Y axis. The game sees only the R1 Axis which seems to be my throttle control on the Stick base. I've had this happen in another game or two, if the forementioned doesn't work, I'll need to look for a program that will allow me to "hack" the player file and assign them there.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:26 am 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2002 3:01 am
Posts: 7090
Sorry if this is a stupid question, but is your stick's throttle set exactly at its middle setting? I know both D1 and D2 have issues with automatically detecting the throttle instead of whatever axis you're trying to configure if the throttle isn't dead-centered.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 1:50 pm 
Offline
DBB Ghost Admin
DBB Ghost Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 12133
Website: http://www.tomandcatherine.com
Location: I'm so glad to be home
The game has trouble even if the axis is dead-centered.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 2:20 pm 
Offline
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2000 3:01 am
Posts: 8826
Location: Seattle
It could also be an over-sensitive throttle axis. I never had a problem configuring my throttle for D1 or D2 (Win95).


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 8:38 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 9205
WLM: biffski@yahoo.com
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA
Wow.. both my sticks, {the Saitek and 3D Pro} went ka-plooy! Kinda like i clipped the white wire instead of the red wire. ..:\ aw well...


yea .. the throttle doesn't Center out. It goes from Off to On, on side or the other.

So, I guess the real question is, Is there a program to hack that part of the Player file. I know that there was one that allowed you to monitor kills and such, but nothing critical. ..hrm .. too bad i don't know how to code.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2004 3:05 pm 
Offline
3d Pro Master
3d Pro Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 3:01 am
Posts: 4379
Location: Corvallis OR, USA
I found some sample PLR files somewhere two weeks ago. Can't refind them :( It's only 3k, I can send them to you if you PM me you email address. From the readme:

"This .zip file contains four pilot files already pre-configured with the proper axis settings that should answer the needs of most of those who have been having axis problems.

JoyA.plr - This pilot is configured to use the twist or UN Axis for banking L-R.
JoyB.plr - This pilot is configured to use the twist or UN Axis for Turning L-R.
JoyC.plr - This pilot is configured to use the twist or UN Axis for Sliding L-R.
pad.plr - A default 4-axis gamepad pilot for any Descenter who may fly using a Gamepad.

All four player files are set at 640x480 resolution w/ Cockpit Mode at Fullscreen.
All four player files have already had the Auto-Level function disabled.
All four player files have had the sensetivity setting for Joystick/Mouse adjusted to the maximum setting."

I still don't exactly know what your problem is -- maybe this helps:

Grendel wrote:
Hm, it's just a quick fix -- now the setup information draws on top of the old text if you change something.. But hey, at least you can read it. There's always ESC and comming back :)

People following this threat can load the "fixed" executable here until Diedel puts up the latest version.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2004 3:33 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 9205
WLM: biffski@yahoo.com
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA
awe man .. now i have them configured right, but they don't want to work. .. its like the stick doesn't care what the configuration says. i feel a HD reformat coming on... ;)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2004 5:41 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 9205
WLM: biffski@yahoo.com
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA
Did It!

Blow away the config file in your Descent directories. .. both Config files.

I used a pilot who's axis' are set up correctly, Also found some older drivers. ..Also switched USB ports.


still can't calibrate the X2 axis in game tho. :|


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2004 6:27 pm 
Offline
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 4924
Location: Moorhead, MN
you mean like go "del *.cfg" in the d1 folder? or what?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Descent'rs have piloted these pages
 
The layout and contents contained within this site are © DescentBB.net 1997-2006.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is Outrage Entertainment.
Descent is a Trademark of Interplay Productions.

Miner Wars™ is trademark of Keen Software House s. r. o.
.


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group