* FAQ    * Search  * Register * Login 
Active topics
Unanswered topics

All times are UTC-06:00



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Sound lag in D2X .25
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 10:17 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2000 3:01 am
Posts: 5104
ICQ: 51510744
Website: http://www.clanmob.net
WLM: topwop99@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: aurora_boreas
AOL: IronHorse227
Location: Far from you.
Am I the only one with this problem? When I fire a weapon, it gets shot, but the sound plays half a second later. This happens with all of the sounds in D2x.

Is there mayby an older version that does not have this problem? And if so which one? Are there any other options I can play around with?

I have Turtle Beach Santa Cruz on 1ghz Athlon and 768 ram. This happens in both Windows XP and 98.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 10:28 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2001 2:01 am
Posts: 1273
Location: Washington (the state, not the city)
Perhaps try downloading a later version of SDL? www.libsdl.org is the site, I think.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 10:45 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2000 3:01 am
Posts: 5104
ICQ: 51510744
Website: http://www.clanmob.net
WLM: topwop99@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: aurora_boreas
AOL: IronHorse227
Location: Far from you.
Yup! That did it. That zip file should be updated to include that new runtime (Version 1.2.7 Win32).

For the sake of documentation, the latest can be downloaded here: http://www.libsdl.org/download-1.2.php

There is still an issue of it pausing every 2 seconds, but I have'nt tried it in XP yet. It could be background programs running. Ill check back later.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 11:28 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2000 3:01 am
Posts: 5104
ICQ: 51510744
Website: http://www.clanmob.net
WLM: topwop99@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: aurora_boreas
AOL: IronHorse227
Location: Far from you.
Works like a dream in XP. Guess I dont need to run D2 on 98 anymore, thanks!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2004 11:21 pm 
Offline
Defender of the Night
Defender of the Night

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 13452
Location: Olathe, KS
Not to mention its been dealt with repeatedly in the Tech Forum. ;) (the sound lag issue)

Even with the 20031107 CVS build, the readme says to download the latest SDL dll files.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 4:23 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2000 3:01 am
Posts: 5104
ICQ: 51510744
Website: http://www.clanmob.net
WLM: topwop99@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: aurora_boreas
AOL: IronHorse227
Location: Far from you.
Im sorry, I looked here for said mentioning of the SDL files but didnt see it, so I saw the need to make the post so that others may see it in the future when they browse this forum or do a search.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 7:20 pm 
Offline
Defender of the Night
Defender of the Night

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 13452
Location: Olathe, KS
Yeah, I've made a suggestion a couple of time about making a sticky about the sound lag issue.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 10:32 pm 
Offline
DBB Co-Founder1
DBB Co-Founder1

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 1261
Website: http://www.koolbear.com/descent/prolevel
Location: Orlando, FL
Scuse me if I have been out of the Descent loop for a couple of years:

What is D2x, and does it fix the processor dependent issues in D2?

Thank you for your assistance

Sup


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 10:59 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 9205
WLM: biffski@yahoo.com
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA
Sup, Welcome back!
It's a 32bit version/patch for D2 that allows OpenGL acceleration.

D2X

0.2.5 Is the most recent. It gives it almost a Glide or Voodoo graphics look. :)

btw, that dll fix did the trick. Thanks!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 12:12 am 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5426
ICQ: 28874658
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/
Location: Bellevue, WA
Not sure what you mean by processor dependent, but D2x does have a framecap... if you're talking about clock speed.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 7:49 am 
Offline
DBB Co-Founder1
DBB Co-Founder1

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 1261
Website: http://www.koolbear.com/descent/prolevel
Location: Orlando, FL
Yeah the framerate dependency issue in D2 ..

- Pyros on faster machines fly faster

- Faster machines have ridiculous Omega cannons that suck you dry from halfway acrost the level

- Homers are almost impossible to avoid the faster your machine is

Hm the more I think of it I think I remember D2x.

That framecap thing is voluntary right? So you have to count on the other guy being honest and using it?

Sup


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 12:17 am 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain

Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2000 3:01 am
Posts: 770
ICQ: 28764031
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/gallery
Yahoo Messenger: shadow_hoof
AOL: Aether+Stallion
Location: Waikare, New Zealand
Not that I know of. 80 FPS seems to be the limit, though in my experience 40 FPS is more helpful just because it makes dodging homing missiles easier.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 12:26 am 
Offline
DBB Stoner
DBB Stoner
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 20, 1998 3:01 am
Posts: 14329
this is a tech issue.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 1:41 am 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5426
ICQ: 28874658
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/
Location: Bellevue, WA
I can dodge homers pretty easily in D2x (0.26, GL) even at 80fps... I don't even need an afterburner with a little more space. And I'm not that good a player.

The ship speed and omega bug seem to be gone, if only due to the 80 fps cap.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 2:47 pm 
Offline
Defender of the Night
Defender of the Night

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 13452
Location: Olathe, KS
80fps is the default framecap.

I run this build. Be sure to read the txt file.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 7:55 pm 
Offline
DBB Co-Founder1
DBB Co-Founder1

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 1261
Website: http://www.koolbear.com/descent/prolevel
Location: Orlando, FL
So way there is none to bypass framecap?? Is goot, ya?

(... sorry, Swedish relapse)

Ferno:

You are correct. Technically :)

Sup


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Descent'rs have piloted these pages
 
The layout and contents contained within this site are © DescentBB.net 1997-2006.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is Outrage Entertainment.
Descent is a Trademark of Interplay Productions.

Miner Wars™ is trademark of Keen Software House s. r. o.
.


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group