* FAQ    * Search  * Register * Login 
Active topics
Unanswered topics

All times are UTC-06:00



Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 260 posts ]  1 2 3 4 5 7
Author Message
 Post subject: Descent Bulletin Board folding team now active
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 1:19 pm 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
All one needs to do is DL the client from here:
http://folding.stanford.edu/download.html

Our team is #39070

Any client program can contribute to the statistics for this team by putting the number 39070 in the team field
(right-click to configure a client program)

This is our teams website as well:
http://vspx27.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main ... mnum=39070

-----------------------------------------

Links:

Downloads http://folding.stanford.edu/download.html

DBB team stat site http://vspx27.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main ... mnum=39070

Folding @ Home forums http://forum.folding-community.org/index.php

current WU's and values http://vspx27.stanford.edu/psummary.html

-----------------------------------------

How to set up the console version:

1) remove the shortcut in the startup menu (start > all programs > startup)

2) DL the console version for windows on teh F@H website.

3) Place the exe in the Folding@Home folder in your program files

4) Create a shortcut for it on your desktop

5) right click the shortcut and select "properties"

Add the command line to the shortcut as pictured -local -config

Image

6) run the shortcut and read the options. Plain enter leaves the selection as default. It will ask you if you want to run it as a service. Type "yes" and hit enter without the quotes.

once done, it will run. The service change will take affect the next time you boot.

7) Go back to the properties of the shortcut and remove the -config switch.

Keep the shortcut just incase you ever decide to turn off the console and want to restart it without rebooting.

from that point forward it will just run. Pretty cool.


If you have a hyperthreaded machine then you want to add some steps.

1) make another folder in your program files called folding@home2

2) copy, not drag and drop, all of the contents from the first one (Including the console you just added) to the new one.

3) create another shortcut for the 2nd version linking to the console's exe in the 2nd folder.

4) use the -local and -config switch on this one and run it

5) when it asks if you want to modify the advanced options type yes and hit enter.

6) Tell this one to run as a service too

7) tell this one to use "2" for machine id, it will be set to "1"

8) once running edit the shortcut removing the -config switch.

now you can run two instances and it will use all of the CPU.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 2:02 pm 
Offline
Defender of the Night
Defender of the Night

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 13452
Location: Olathe, KS
Stickied by request.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 3:21 pm 
Offline
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 4924
Location: Moorhead, MN
Im in. Possibly going to add it to another comp eventually. Right now its running on my hopelessly idle quasirouter box with absolute lowest priority. Hooray for me!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 3:54 pm 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
currently I have these folding:

3.06 P4
1.8 P4
1.8 P4
1800+ AMD
1.0 P3
2700+ AMD
2400+ AMD
--------

13.35 Ghz


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 4:25 pm 
Offline
3d Pro Master
3d Pro Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 3:01 am
Posts: 4381
Location: Corvallis OR, USA
Uhm, why not running a D3 server instead ? ...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 4:33 pm 
Offline
DBB_Master
DBB_Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 9485
Location: Capital Of Canada
Grendel wrote:
Uhm, why not running a D3 server instead ? ...



But that would be to logical.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 5:00 pm 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
Because I don't play D3 maybe? And after the years of doing that "thankless" effort I decided enough was enough due to all the leaches in the world. Should I go on? You asked...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 5:35 pm 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
Team Ranking (incl. aggregate) 11277 of 32663


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 5:44 pm 
Offline
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 4924
Location: Moorhead, MN
woot


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 5:50 pm 
Offline
3d Pro Master
3d Pro Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 3:01 am
Posts: 4381
Location: Corvallis OR, USA
STRESSTEST wrote:
And after the years of doing that "thankless" effort I decided enough was enough due to all the leaches in the world.

So where's the difference w/ folding ? As far I can see those guys leach on you even worse -- CPU goes up to 100% -- wear & tear increases, power requirement increases, who knows what that app does w/ your machine besides stealing CPU power/bandwidth and the glory for the official result goes to the guys running the program and writing a paper about it.. :P


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 5:59 pm 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
bandwidth is not really a concern. You DL a WU and it churns the crap outa it for hours then send the results back and DLs another. Ofcourse this project is for the greater good vs. a group of egotistical video game dorks :P


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 6:34 pm 
Offline
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 4924
Location: Moorhead, MN
Grendel wrote:
So where's the difference w/ folding ?


the thank you is the fact that if this leads to something that does good (like, curing alzheimers maybe?) you'll be able to say that you were part of the effort, and all it took was some spare computing cycles.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 6:38 pm 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
Team Ranking (incl. aggregate) 10568 of 32663


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 10:11 pm 
Offline
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 3:01 am
Posts: 3166
Website: http://www.mletech.com
Location: southern IL, USA
I joined the team (username Pushrod), it might take a bit for my units to show up.

woot


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 10:25 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 559
Website: http://www.geocities.com/willlo99
AOL: willlo99CCHS
i joined too


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 10:50 pm 
Offline
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 4924
Location: Moorhead, MN
Orthanc (athlon XP 2700, 1G DDR) has been added as my second CPU. Once it gets cool enough and I have my old 450mhz running, and as soon as my laptop gets repaired, I'll have them contributing to the team as well.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 10:56 pm 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
Added a link to the team website on the top post
http://vspx27.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main ... mnum=39070


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 11:04 pm 
Offline
3d Pro Master
3d Pro Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 3:01 am
Posts: 4381
Location: Corvallis OR, USA
Xciter wrote:
Grendel wrote:
blahblahbla


I'm very heavily involved in the project [..]

Thanks for clearing that. Still won't join, sorry. GL w/ the project tho !


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 11:43 pm 
Offline
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 17, 2000 2:01 am
Posts: 2506
Location: Clinton, Ohio
i can run it while im at work, but i use my pc alot after work. would it be beneficial for only that limited amount of time?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 11:45 pm 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
Grendel wrote:
Xciter wrote:
Grendel wrote:
blahblahbla


I'm very heavily involved in the project [..]

Thanks for clearing that. Still won't join, sorry. GL w/ the project tho !


I'm not going to try to convince you Detlef, but I am curious as to why you wont?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 11:46 pm 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
kurupt wrote:
i can run it while im at work, but i use my pc alot after work. would it be beneficial for only that limited amount of time?


hell yes matt


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 11:55 pm 
Offline
3d Pro Master
3d Pro Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 3:01 am
Posts: 4381
Location: Corvallis OR, USA
STRESSTEST wrote:
I'm not going to try to convince you Detlef, but I am curious as to why you wont?


Quoted from chat:

[22:48] <[NuB2]Grendel> heh -- mainly because this machine is a) dedicated to games and b) not running all day ;)

[22:49] <[NuB2]Grendel> Also I'm not comfortable w/ this kind of code (same for seti@home) as long it's not open source


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 12:00 am 
Offline
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 17, 2000 2:01 am
Posts: 2506
Location: Clinton, Ohio
cool, i set it up before i go to work tommorrow then


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 6:02 am 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5426
ICQ: 28874658
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/
Location: Bellevue, WA
Is it just me or is wear and tear a slight misnomer when applied to electrical circuits?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 8:49 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2000 2:01 am
Posts: 444
Website: http://www.webinfractions.com/gamma
Location: California
I'm in... seems more than worthwhile and I spend a lot of time away from my pc while it's running.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 9:36 am 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
Nice, I see a few more of you guys submitted WU's durring the night. WEre off to a great start.

You'll see me twice there. Some one had my name so I added a smiley to my name, but last night I fugured that maybe it would work with my normal name and I tried it. It worked :P


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 11:39 am 
Offline
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 17, 2000 2:01 am
Posts: 2506
Location: Clinton, Ohio
when i used those command line sit would pop a window up and show me a list and say it will use them, but then it wouldnt start. i had to use the exe itself. that means the command lines arent being used, correct?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 11:50 am 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 2:01 am
Posts: 919
AOL: CumPressHer
Location: Clearfield, Pennslyvania
I'm in :)
wonder if the DBB Team will get credit for my past WU's or if only the new ones will count? I only have 11 WU's and a score of 1377 so it's not be a big deal.

There used to be a way to choose between the FAH wu's and the other wu's they offered, now I don't see a preference on the ver. 5.02 :?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 11:54 am 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 2:01 am
Posts: 919
AOL: CumPressHer
Location: Clearfield, Pennslyvania
Xciter wrote:
If you've got a good amount of ram and broadband... use the -advmethods flag and set the client to accept WU's over 5MB in size. These WU's are very new and stanford has put an extra 50 to 100% bonus points on their value.


I've got 640mb is that a "good amount" or should I stick to the smaller stuff. (amd1700+)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 5:10 pm 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
I've tried running 2 instances of it on the 3ghz machine and it says there is one running already, and quits
fix?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 5:24 pm 
Offline
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 7585
Location: Dallas, TX
STRESSTEST wrote:
I've tried running 2 instances of it on the 3ghz machine and it says there is one running already, and quits
fix?


Create a copy of the directory and run that?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 5:27 pm 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
yea, no dice


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 5:36 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 2:01 am
Posts: 919
AOL: CumPressHer
Location: Clearfield, Pennslyvania
http://folding.stanford.edu/faq.html#run.dual

RTFM :wink:
Quote:
Does Folding@home run on dual processor machines?

Yes, you can. Additional processors must run the console version (with the "-local" command-line argument if run on Windows). First, make additional directories for each processor and copy the FAH Console executable file into each. Then configure them with the -config switch, filling in settings for each. It is very important to make sure that under the "Advanced Settings" option each copy is given a unique machine ID (from 1 to 8 ). The first copy will default to a machine ID of 1, so additional copies should be given IDs of 2, 3, 4, etc. Each may then be run out of their installed directory, using the -local switch on windows.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 8:23 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 3:01 am
Posts: 419
Website: http://www.sonicstrike.net/~viral/
I've got an unused AMD 650 MHZ box sitting in my room that I'll set to run this constantly. The contributing name will be 'Tabris.' Any contributions from 'Viralphrame' will come from my main AMD 2.3ghz main box. I never use the thing for myself, and this is a perfect way to do something with it. :D


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 8:24 pm 
Offline
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 17, 2000 2:01 am
Posts: 2506
Location: Clinton, Ohio
give me some credit, i know how to make a shortcut and add command lines ;)

when i ran the shortcut it brought up a box that showed the command lines that i could use and what they do, but the program wouldnt start unless i ran the executable directly.

it also was not running when i got home from work, and it appears to only have run 1 WU. is there a way to make it keep going until i manually shut it off?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 8:56 pm 
Offline
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 4924
Location: Moorhead, MN
kur, get the no nonsense windows client. When you first start it, it walks you through a configuration setup where you can set pretty much every option possible.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 9:13 pm 
Offline
Owned by Timex
Owned by Timex
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:01 am
Posts: 6510
Location: Conyers, GA, USA
ive got a dual P-II system thats mostly idle. ill think about jumping on


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 10:57 pm 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
just a little note for those of you joining in with this great effort. I'd hope that you use the same name you use here since it is the DBB folding team, and were all from here. Unless ofcourse you've already been doing this and had a different name in use already. If not oh well.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 7:04 am 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 1371
ICQ: 114033439
Website: http://vspx27.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=teampage&teamnum=39070
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Well got it running on a p4 1.7ghz celeron laptop and my xp2100 when I'm not gaming.:)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 9:28 am 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
Welcome aboard Curtis. I see you snuck in there last night.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 260 posts ]  1 2 3 4 5 7

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Descent'rs have piloted these pages
 
The layout and contents contained within this site are © DescentBB.net 1997-2006.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is Outrage Entertainment.
Descent is a Trademark of Interplay Productions.

Miner Wars™ is trademark of Keen Software House s. r. o.
.


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group