Descent Bulletin Board folding team now active

This is the place for chat on DBB Distributed Computing projects... remember team #39070 for Stanfords Folding @ Home project.
User avatar
Iceman
DBB Habitual Type Killer
DBB Habitual Type Killer
Posts: 4923
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2000 2:01 am
Location: Huntsville, AL. USA
Contact:

Post by Iceman » Thu Sep 02, 2004 10:02 pm

ImageImageImageImage

Team Ranking (incl. aggregate) 2290 of 32833
User avatar
Nitrofox125
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1848
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Contact:

Post by Nitrofox125 » Thu Sep 02, 2004 10:32 pm

On board.

Nitrofox-Gamma
Nitrofox-Theta
Nitrofox-Pheta
Nitrofox-Delta

w00t
User avatar
kurupt
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2506
Joined: Wed May 17, 2000 2:01 am
Location: Clinton, Ohio

Post by kurupt » Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:19 am

any of you guys locking up alot since you've been folding?

i've hard locked twice in the entire time ive owned windows xp, and i've been using it since before its official release. since i've been folding, i've hard locked 19 times.

i think i'm gonna stop doing it. its nice to help out and all, but i'm a heartless bastard and if helping people out becomes an inconvienence, then ★■◆● that.
User avatar
Ferno
DBB Stoner
DBB Stoner
Posts: 14341
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 1998 3:01 am

Post by Ferno » Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:26 am

i've locked up a couple times already.
User avatar
STRESSTEST
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
Posts: 6574
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am

Post by STRESSTEST » Fri Sep 03, 2004 1:08 am

I have 10 machines running this and not a single lockup guys.... :roll:
User avatar
kurupt
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2506
Joined: Wed May 17, 2000 2:01 am
Location: Clinton, Ohio

Post by kurupt » Fri Sep 03, 2004 1:37 am

how often do you use them though? i use mine as my primary entertainment system - music, movies, tv, games, and for work that i bring home. nothing pisses me off more when i am in the middle of working on a formula and i lose all my progress because it locks up.
User avatar
Iceman
DBB Habitual Type Killer
DBB Habitual Type Killer
Posts: 4923
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2000 2:01 am
Location: Huntsville, AL. USA
Contact:

Post by Iceman » Fri Sep 03, 2004 9:57 am

K:

I read that the GROMACS core pushes the CPU in ways that most applications do not. In fact it uses SSE2 and 3DNow! if available. Furthermore, crashes as you describe are usually due to a RAM error. While you might not normally see a problem, running F@H pushes your entire system (MB/CPU/RAM) to the hilt. The added push plus the extra temperature may be the root of your problems.
User avatar
STRESSTEST
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
Posts: 6574
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am

Post by STRESSTEST » Fri Sep 03, 2004 10:04 am

I've also been reading on ram and the industry assumes a 1 bit error per 256meg of ddr ram per month.

This means if you have 512 megs, that's more likely to be 1 bit error per two weeks and 1 gig is 1 bit error per week. This will cause hard locks as well, and is the reason for ECC ram.

This they say is the number one reason for random locks. And a bad bit is mostlikely to be the same physical area in your ram that causes the problem every time.
User avatar
Avder
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
Posts: 4924
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Moorhead, MN

Post by Avder » Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:17 pm

Xciter wrote:Lock ups are generally caused by one of two things... your using the GUI client/screensaver and it has OpenGL issues... or your system is overclocked and not stable as you though it was. F@H as I said before runs a CPU 4 to 6 deg hotter then most anything else out there.

I'll create a forum soon... just need a moderator for it.
I and probably a few others would probably be willing to temp mod if you wanna just set it up and get it running until you decide on a perma mod. Ive admined BB's before so I could do it *shrug* but whatever. I think Stress deserves to be perma mod tho because he set the team up and got us into this stuff, were all just following suit. So yeah, set the forum up so we can get going on it :) I'd suggest putting it in the community section since its a community effort.

/2 cents
User avatar
Vindicator
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
Posts: 3166
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: southern IL, USA
Contact:

Post by Vindicator » Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:40 pm

Xciter wrote:Lock ups are generally caused by one of two things... your using the GUI client/screensaver and it has OpenGL issues... or your system is overclocked and not stable as you though it was. F@H as I said before runs a CPU 4 to 6 deg hotter then most anything else out there.
I'll attest to that, especially with it running as a service. I'm seeing temps 6-7 degrees higher than before (also why I bought a new fan for my MCX462). No lockups though. (this is why all those days spent running Prime95 have paid off)

And JFTR, I was a damn good mod of the single player forum on the test site :P But Stress has pulled everything together here so he would be the best candidate. Not sure having him mod more than 2 forums would be a good idea though... he's just that much closer to taking over the board ;)
User avatar
Iceman
DBB Habitual Type Killer
DBB Habitual Type Killer
Posts: 4923
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2000 2:01 am
Location: Huntsville, AL. USA
Contact:

Post by Iceman » Fri Sep 03, 2004 1:11 pm

ImageImageImageImage

Team Ranking (incl. aggregate) 2216 of 32832
User avatar
Avder
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
Posts: 4924
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Moorhead, MN

Post by Avder » Fri Sep 03, 2004 1:30 pm

Getting close guys :)
User avatar
KompresZor
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
Posts: 919
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Clearfield, Pennslyvania
Contact:

Post by KompresZor » Fri Sep 03, 2004 3:11 pm

Xciter wrote:looks like I got a mod in Iceman :)
Ice would of been my pick for mod :)
User avatar
Iceman
DBB Habitual Type Killer
DBB Habitual Type Killer
Posts: 4923
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2000 2:01 am
Location: Huntsville, AL. USA
Contact:

Post by Iceman » Fri Sep 03, 2004 3:26 pm

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Oh how kewl, you just made my day ... Thx!
Gooberman
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
Posts: 6155
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 1999 3:01 am
Location: tempe Az

Post by Gooberman » Fri Sep 03, 2004 4:53 pm

KompresZor wrote:
Xciter wrote:looks like I got a mod in Iceman :)
Ice would of been my pick for mod :)
^x2
User avatar
Defender
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5135
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Boston, MA. USA

Post by Defender » Fri Sep 03, 2004 10:05 pm

Alrighty, got my old laptop goin now.
so that's a p3 700 & 320mb ram goin.
User avatar
kurupt
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2506
Joined: Wed May 17, 2000 2:01 am
Location: Clinton, Ohio

Post by kurupt » Fri Sep 03, 2004 11:45 pm

yeah, i do overclock - pretty heavily. thats probably why. i'll see if it still does it if i run at stock.

i just noticed actually that when i run a certain command line with it (-forceasm) it warns against using it with overclocked machines.
User avatar
DarkShadow
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1371
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Contact:

Post by DarkShadow » Sat Sep 04, 2004 8:04 am

Team Ranking (incl. aggregate) 2084 of 32869

I had a few crashes when I was overclocked I just backed it down a little and now it runs fine.
User avatar
Defender
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5135
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Boston, MA. USA

Post by Defender » Sat Sep 04, 2004 1:12 pm

Team rank: 2035 of 32874

And I shoot up to 11th place! :D
User avatar
AceCombat
Owned by Timex
Owned by Timex
Posts: 6510
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Conyers, GA, USA

Post by AceCombat » Sat Sep 04, 2004 1:27 pm

2 machines and no lockups yet in 2 weeks
User avatar
kurupt
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2506
Joined: Wed May 17, 2000 2:01 am
Location: Clinton, Ohio

Post by kurupt » Sat Sep 04, 2004 4:54 pm

are you pushing a 2.4 @ 3.2 though?
User avatar
Vindicator
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
Posts: 3166
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: southern IL, USA
Contact:

Post by Vindicator » Sat Sep 04, 2004 5:13 pm

Since its locking up on you I'm not sure the 3.2 is workin for you there kurupt.
User avatar
AceCombat
Owned by Timex
Owned by Timex
Posts: 6510
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Conyers, GA, USA

Post by AceCombat » Sat Sep 04, 2004 7:46 pm

kurupt wrote:are you pushing a 2.4 @ 3.2 though?

not that much OC< but im pushing my two P-II's in my server 350 MHz higher than stock
User avatar
kurupt
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2506
Joined: Wed May 17, 2000 2:01 am
Location: Clinton, Ohio

Post by kurupt » Sat Sep 04, 2004 8:59 pm

Vindicator wrote:Since its locking up on you I'm not sure the 3.2 is workin for you there kurupt.
never had a problem until the folding. it never locked up while i was folding either. it would lock up later on after i'd try to play a game or something. if i reboot first it doesn't do it. odd.
Delkian
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Contact:

Post by Delkian » Mon Sep 06, 2004 5:27 pm

Xciter wrote:
22:49] <[NuB2]Grendel> Also I'm not comfortable w/ this kind of code (same for seti@home) as long it's not open source
Open source code leads to cheating in projects like this.
Sorry if someone has already posted this.

Actually the version of SETI@home that runs as a BOINC project is open source, as is BOINC itself. Other projects on BOINC aren't, or at least don't have to be, but you can choose which projects you participate to.

SETI prevents cheating by sending the work to multiple clients and only granting credit after checking that the results match.
User avatar
Avder
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
Posts: 4924
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Moorhead, MN

Post by Avder » Mon Sep 06, 2004 11:10 pm

Regarding the Dual Xeons thing, Ive read that you need to do a U-wire mod to get these to run with enough voltage at higher FSB/Multiplier settings. Is this so? And if so how hard is it to do the mod?
User avatar
STRESSTEST
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
Posts: 6574
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am

Post by STRESSTEST » Tue Sep 07, 2004 12:14 am

You have a piece of speaker wire around there? And have something to cut it with? I assume your fingers work well enough to bend one strand of copper from it.

Well, there ya go.
User avatar
Avder
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
Posts: 4924
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Moorhead, MN

Post by Avder » Tue Sep 07, 2004 2:42 pm

Ok, I can do that easy enough. Now, what grade DDR ram would I need to have? A friend of mine says I'd only need PC 1600 at most for this, but assuming that I'm gonna shoot for 2.65GHz at 166x16, wouldnt I need some PC 2700 at least? I'm gonna see about getting the dualies and the PC-DL from Asus. The ram grade that I need will determine if I can afford to get into this...if its sufficiently low its a go. Also, reccomend some coolers that will work on the PC-DL Asus Board? Quiet coolers. Ive got enough loud comps as it is. Also, would I need to install win2k Pro or Server to take advantage of the Dualies and HT...friend says server since 2k is supposed to only support 2 CPU's.

That should be about everything I need to know to set this up.
User avatar
Vindicator
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
Posts: 3166
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: southern IL, USA
Contact:

Post by Vindicator » Tue Sep 07, 2004 3:48 pm

Avder wrote:Ok, I can do that easy enough. Now, what grade DDR ram would I need to have? A friend of mine says I'd only need PC 1600 at most for this, but assuming that I'm gonna shoot for 2.65GHz at 166x16, wouldnt I need some PC 2700 at least?
PC1600 only goes up to 100mhz FSB, so only buy this if you intend to keep the FSB stock. And I'm sure you are :P

PC2700 is good, PC3200 would be better since you can go up to 200mhz FSB.
Also, reccomend some coolers that will work on the PC-DL Asus Board? Quiet coolers. Ive got enough loud comps as it is.
Ima get me two of these monsters. Pricey at $40 each, but they are fanless and it wouldnt be hard at all to hook up a low-noise fan to blow across em. Here's a link to a guy with a PC-DL that he's done some work on. He has two of those heatsinks on it. Theres a lot of good info about that board here. http://www.datamine.tk/
Also, would I need to install win2k Pro or Server to take advantage of the Dualies and HT...friend says server since 2k is supposed to only support 2 CPU's.
I've been wondering about this myself.
User avatar
STRESSTEST
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
Posts: 6574
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am

Post by STRESSTEST » Tue Sep 07, 2004 5:16 pm

I think 2kPro + updates will work with HT. Not sure tho. It will work with dual chips tho.

I'll be using XP most likely, if not 2003 server.
User avatar
Avder
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
Posts: 4924
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Moorhead, MN

Post by Avder » Tue Sep 07, 2004 5:58 pm

Well, I'm not looking for monster coolers...I'm looking for something more along the lines of decent heatsink and quiet, standard issue CPU fan. I'll be getting a case with two 80mm fans right bewhind the CPU slots, so ventilation wont be a problem....so...other heat sinks?

And also, All I'm gonna try for is 166x16. I'm not gonna try for anything times 200 because the CPU would need to be able to run at 16x200 until the bios dumbs down the multiplier. I dont have my room cool enough, or the resources to keep these cool enough to run at 3.2GHz.
User avatar
Vindicator
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
Posts: 3166
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: southern IL, USA
Contact:

Post by Vindicator » Tue Sep 07, 2004 6:03 pm

Well theres always the stock Intel heatsinks with the wind-tunnel design. You can find these on eBay for $10-15 each. Throw on a 60mm -> 80mm fan adapter and a medium-speed 80mm and you should be good to go.
User avatar
Avder
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
Posts: 4924
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Moorhead, MN

Post by Avder » Tue Sep 07, 2004 7:35 pm

Ehhhhh Ive looked at that solution, I'd like something a bit more traditional. Its not like this case is gonna be un-ventilated. Just a standard heatsink that will fit on the PC-DL.
User avatar
Boo
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 413
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 3:01 am

Post by Boo » Fri Sep 17, 2004 4:00 pm

Ok, ive decided to chip in (if my parents let me)
User avatar
STRESSTEST
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
Posts: 6574
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am

Post by STRESSTEST » Fri Sep 17, 2004 4:44 pm

Sweet, welcome aboard! (if your parents let you)
User avatar
Iceman
DBB Habitual Type Killer
DBB Habitual Type Killer
Posts: 4923
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2000 2:01 am
Location: Huntsville, AL. USA
Contact:

Post by Iceman » Fri Sep 17, 2004 5:15 pm

Excellent, tell your parents that it will make you feel good to contribute to the demise of diseases such as Alzheimers, Mad Cow, and various forms of cancer.
User avatar
Boo
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 413
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 3:01 am

Post by Boo » Sun Sep 19, 2004 6:16 am

Ok, parents would have let me but our damn 5-yr-old computer was having issues again... Getting a new comp soon, so I can try again then
User avatar
Iceman
DBB Habitual Type Killer
DBB Habitual Type Killer
Posts: 4923
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2000 2:01 am
Location: Huntsville, AL. USA
Contact:

Post by Iceman » Sun Sep 19, 2004 7:15 am

Even a 5 year old computer can fold. How about after you get the new one and get it folding you reinstall the OS on the 5 year old one and get it to fold also?
User avatar
IsAB
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 247
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2001 2:01 am
Location: Piraeus, Greece
Contact:

Post by IsAB » Sun Sep 19, 2004 4:59 pm

I'm in, an Athlon XP200 and a P3/650@860 are folding.
Stress's constant spaming left me no choice
User avatar
KompresZor
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
Posts: 919
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Clearfield, Pennslyvania
Contact:

Post by KompresZor » Sun Sep 19, 2004 7:39 pm

Welcome aboard IsAB :D
Locked