* FAQ    * Search  * Register * Login 
Active topics
Unanswered topics

All times are UTC-06:00



Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 110 posts ]  1 2 3
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:41 am 
Offline
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 3:01 am
Posts: 3166
Website: http://www.mletech.com
Location: southern IL, USA
Why thank you Stress. Btw, hows your Koolance project coming along? Any big overclocking news to report?

The ground can be anywhere on your case, as long as its touching metal. Theres an unused screw hole for an extra long mobo in my case, so i just screwed the ground wire to that.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:11 am 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
I got tied up with 3 other systems. They should be done by tomorrow. "Red" will make a debuit later today in the case mod gallery :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 8:46 pm 
Offline
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 4924
Location: Moorhead, MN
So what are you naming your Dual Xeon rig? Is that Red?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 8:51 pm 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
no name. netbios is "Dually". Creative eh?

It's in one of those SGI rack mount cases, rememeber?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2004 9:16 am 
Offline
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 4924
Location: Moorhead, MN
Ohhhhh yeahhhhhhh, now I remember.

Well hurry up and get it working!@~!!!!! *bashes head and jumps around*


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2004 9:49 pm 
Offline
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 3:01 am
Posts: 3166
Website: http://www.mletech.com
Location: southern IL, USA
My decision to use the huge heatpipe coolers may have bitten me. The VRM and NB heatsinks get freakin HOT. For the past few days I've had a 80mm high-speed fan stuck between the heatpipes and my IDE cables, aimed so that the VRM and NB gets most of the air and the CPUs get the rest. With the fan in place the VRM temp (according to MBM5) stays around 50 degrees C. Removing that fan for less than 5 minutes makes the VRM temp soar to 70 degrees C. :|

Needless to say, I'm gonna have to rethink the airflow in my case in order to keep everything cool.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 3:50 am 
Offline
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 4924
Location: Moorhead, MN
Thats part of the reason I decided to go with a Liquid cooling solution instead.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 5:07 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2001 2:01 am
Posts: 347
Website: http://mypornaddiction.com/
Location: Orange County, CA, USA
Peltier. Is there a use for it? Either to cool the water or CPU?

Just wondering.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 7:35 pm 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
Just a radiator Joe.

Okay guys. I really didn't want to go through the voltage mods on this mobo to get my 2.75 volt hot shot ram to work, so I opted to put some cheap-ass 3200 in there that is happy @ 2.6 volts and see what would happen. Well so far so good. 2.8 for each chip works fine.

I am working on getting it all going now and after I hit submit on this I'll be working on the 4 directories for folding. There is a bit of a family thing going on here. Let me explain >:)

As some of you remember, Bullgod is my cousin. His mother, and mine are sisters. Bullgod configured his mothers machine to fold, which is a good thing, but did it for his own username. So now with that added extra push, he has passed my mothers points (diannnoeora) and left her in the dust. Here's where I derive fun in this lol...

I have decided that this 5.6GHz of dually system is going to be configured for mom :) So, Bullgod.. Watchout! lol


More later. Oh yea, watch Diannnoeora's 24 hour average leave the 120ish mark soon :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:09 pm 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
Damn, it's just purdy idn't it :P

Image

heh, for it's very first WU's it pulled
1 x 1308 = 320 points
3 x 1310 = 316 points ea.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:16 pm 
Offline
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 4924
Location: Moorhead, MN
What OS is that? XP?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:21 pm 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
MS Server 2003 DataCenter edition


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 10:50 pm 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
Been running for a few hours now. Been 100% stable too (knock on wood). Temps sit right at 45C and 46C for CPU 1 and 2 respectivly.

Not to shabby :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2004 12:14 am 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 1998 2:01 am
Posts: 6415
Location: Calgary Alberta Canada
doesn't the FAHcore_x.exe processes show task list, or is that a RDC connection?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2004 12:52 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2001 2:01 am
Posts: 46
Location: NW, WA. USA
ROFLMAO

Why am I not surprised. :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2004 11:19 am 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
Hrmm... Going through the logs this morning. No reboots, but machine ID #1 and #2 F@H clients have terminated early a few times and sent back uncomplete work.

More so with #1 then #2. #3 and 4 have been working on the same work unit downloaded yesterday and continue to do so. Both 1 and 2 are working on cores now that have been going for some time. Much longer then the ones that terminated early.

Any ideas why this would happen other than the obvious reasons of overclocking Jim? Do dually systems see more of this kind of thing? It's happened on other machines here that are not overclocked, so Im just wondering.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2004 1:49 pm 
Offline
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 3:01 am
Posts: 3166
Website: http://www.mletech.com
Location: southern IL, USA
I was getting a few early ends with the 130x units I was working on, but I turned off -forceasm and havent had any since.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2004 2:34 pm 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
Are you using a dually system?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2004 5:10 pm 
Offline
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 3:01 am
Posts: 3166
Website: http://www.mletech.com
Location: southern IL, USA
Yes, I'm referring to my dual Xeon/PCDL combo that you also have. None of my other machines have problems with using -forceasm. Its currently running 2.65ghz (one of my sticks of RAM is flaky so for the time being thats what I'm stuck at). Its also running 4 instances of Folding.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2004 6:56 pm 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
hrmmm

I'll give that a try next time one kills over


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2004 1:23 pm 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
welp, I removed that switch and they seem to all be working now without core crashes.. I'll give it another day to see how it does. Thanks for the pointer BTW Vindi.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2004 2:57 pm 
Offline
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 4924
Location: Moorhead, MN
How come youre running them at 2.8 instead of 3.2, stress?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 1:57 am 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
that's 200 FSB and it will stay there for a week maybe to make sure the sytems is perfectly stable. What better way to determine that then to fold :P

I'll dick around with more fsb settings after all that.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 10:45 pm 
Offline
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 4924
Location: Moorhead, MN
So 200x14? I assume you mean youre going to bump them up to 200x15 and then 200x16 later on?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 11:44 pm 
Offline
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 3:01 am
Posts: 3166
Website: http://www.mletech.com
Location: southern IL, USA
The Xeons love higher FSB (as with the P4), so ideally rather than increase the multi you'd set the FSB at around 220-230.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 12:03 am 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
we'll see. This ram may nit run that high so I may have to work with the multi too.. been busy on re-fitting the desk here for the last couple of days. :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 1:14 am 
Offline
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 4924
Location: Moorhead, MN
Well from what Ive read, whatever you set the FSB at, the CPU has to be able to at least post at 16x that speed until the bios can drop the multi back down. Thats why when I get the watercooling all set up next year im shooting for just 200x16.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 10:06 am 
Offline
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am
Posts: 6574
no, it doesn't quite work like that

XEONs are first off, not multi locked. The rub is that you can only go down in multiplier, not up. So for example these at 16x100 cannot go 17x+ etc.

The way you have to do it is to set the multi at 14 and leave the fsb at 100 (1.4GHz) and then save and exit the BIOS. Once it reboots and you see that the 1.6s have posted at 1.4, you're ready to get into the BIOS and play with the FSB since the multi stuck. Youa re free to play with the fsb without worry until you get a hard lock and have to use the clear cmos jumper. At that point you have just reset the BIOS back to 16x and have to start all over again. This goes on till you find the sweet spot.

Maybe this is the most I can get out of mine, I don't know. I do know that mine only get 1.55 volts with the 1.6 mod (the highest you can go). Others get 1.57 1.58 volts with the 1.6 mod. That little bit could be the difference between 2.8 and 3.0~3.2 GHz for me


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 11:02 am 
Offline
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 3:01 am
Posts: 3166
Website: http://www.mletech.com
Location: southern IL, USA
Avder's referring to the 'feature' on the PCDL (unsure if all Xeon boards do this) where the Xeons have to POST at default multiplier for a split second before the BIOS sets it at whatever you chose. So if you set it at 14x200 its actually running 16x200 for a split second when the system boots.

And I've never had to clear the CMOS, since it resets itself if overclocking fails :P


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 12:02 am 
Offline
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 4924
Location: Moorhead, MN
Yeah, that feature is what I was referring to.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 110 posts ]  1 2 3

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Descent'rs have piloted these pages
 
The layout and contents contained within this site are © DescentBB.net 1997-2006.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is Outrage Entertainment.
Descent is a Trademark of Interplay Productions.

Miner Wars™ is trademark of Keen Software House s. r. o.
.


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group