The Dummy Has More Probs

This is the place for chat on DBB Distributed Computing projects... remember team #39070 for Stanfords Folding @ Home project.
Locked
User avatar
Deadmeat
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
Posts: 631
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2001 2:01 am
Location: Davis, Ca, USA
Contact:

The Dummy Has More Probs

Post by Deadmeat » Sat Oct 16, 2004 1:22 pm

AMD 2600+ with 512mb of ram config'd with -advmethods and -forceasm.

Somehow dumba** me got two instances of F@H installed on this box and I got some conflicts. Iceman told me to change the Machine ID for one of them. I went into config, but I can't change the ID. I tried to delete one of them, but it won't let me. Says something like "access denied to Console502".

I also tried to use FAHLOG and FAHMON, but can't figure out how to configure them to work. Typical of the freak'n geeks who write these things, they think everyone knows as much as they do. Can't they write some simple instructions for dumba**es like me?

I also noticed my latest project is a P1308 and it's taking about 30 min per step. Is this normal or is my box bogging down? Here's the log.

--- Opening Log file [October 16 15:37:26]


# Windows Console Edition #####################################################
###############################################################################

Folding@Home Client Version 5.02

http://folding.stanford.edu

###############################################################################
###############################################################################

Launch directory: C:\Programs\F@H
Service: C:\Programs\F@H\FAH502-Console.exe
Arguments: -svcstart

Launched as a service.
Entered C:\Programs\F@H to do work.

[15:37:26] - Ask before connecting: No
[15:37:26] - User name: DipStick (Team 39070)
[15:37:27] - User ID: D95EA2510AA9859
[15:37:27] - Machine ID: 1
[15:37:27]
[15:37:27] Loaded queue successfully.
[15:37:27] + Benchmarking ...
[15:37:30]
[15:37:30] + Processing work unit
[15:37:30] Core required: FahCore_78.exe
[15:37:30] Core found.
[15:37:30] Working on Unit 00 [October 16 15:37:30]
[15:37:30] + Working ...
[15:37:33]
[15:37:33] *------------------------------*
[15:37:33] Folding@Home Gromacs Core
[15:37:33] Version 1.68 (August 18, 2004)
[15:37:33]
[15:37:33] Preparing to commence simulation
[15:37:33] - Looking at optimizations...
[15:37:34] - Files status OK
[15:37:52] - Expanded 4136986 -> 23267593 (decompressed 562.4 percent)
[15:37:54]
[15:37:54] Project: 1308 (Run 669, Clone 2, Gen 0)
[15:37:54]
[15:37:54] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[15:37:54] Entering M.D.
[15:38:17] (Starting from checkpoint)
[15:38:17] Protein: p1308_1ryp_sv2_a4_k150_2fs
[15:38:17]
[15:38:17] Writing local files
[15:38:17] Completed 2000 out of 200000 steps (1)
[15:38:24] Extra SSE boost OK.
[16:03:29] Writing local files
[16:03:29] Completed 4000 out of 200000 steps (2)
[16:28:11] Writing local files
[16:28:12] Completed 6000 out of 200000 steps (3)
[16:53:07] Writing local files
[16:53:07] Completed 8000 out of 200000 steps (4)
[17:17:55] Writing local files
[17:17:56] Completed 10000 out of 200000 steps (5)
[17:42:52] Writing local files
[17:42:52] Completed 12000 out of 200000 steps (6)
[18:10:02] Writing local files
[18:10:03] Completed 14000 out of 200000 steps (7)
[18:34:57] Writing local files
[18:34:58] Completed 16000 out of 200000 steps (8)
[18:59:31] Writing local files
[18:59:31] Completed 18000 out of 200000 steps (9)


Now, my second machine is an AMD 1700+ with 512mb of ram config'd with -advmethods and -forceasm.

Right now I don't know what it's running, but it takes about 35 min for each step. Noticed the same on the last project. I'll post the log in the next reply because I can't make these machines share.

If this is normal behavior that's fine, but I was folding faster before. I just want to do as much as I can.
User avatar
Deadmeat
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
Posts: 631
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2001 2:01 am
Location: Davis, Ca, USA
Contact:

Post by Deadmeat » Sat Oct 16, 2004 1:24 pm

Here's second machine log.

--- Opening Log file [October 16 15:42:48]


# Windows Console Edition #####################################################
###############################################################################

Folding@home Client Version 4.00

http://folding.stanford.edu

###############################################################################
###############################################################################

Arguments: -local -advmethods -forceasm

Warning:
By using the -forceasm flag, you are overriding
safeguards in the program. If you did not intend to
do this, please restart the program without -forceasm.
If work units are not completing fully (and particularly
if your machine is overclocked), then please discontinue
use of the flag.

[15:42:48] - Ask before connecting: No
[15:42:48] - User name: DipStick (Team 39070)
[15:42:48] - User ID = 6719C68B6B92DCE9
[15:42:48] - Machine ID: 1
[15:42:48]
[15:42:48] Loaded queue successfully.
[15:42:48] + Benchmarking ...
[15:42:50]
[15:42:50] + Processing work unit
[15:42:50] Core required: FahCore_82.exe
[15:42:50] Core found.
[15:42:50] Working on Unit 08 [October 16 15:42:50]
[15:42:50] + Working ...
[15:42:51]
[15:42:51] *------------------------------*
[15:42:51] Folding@Home PMD Core
[15:42:51] Version 1.00 (Oct 5, 2004)
[15:42:51]
[15:42:51] Preparing to commence simulation
[15:42:51] - Assembly optimizations manually forced on.
[15:42:51] - Not checking prior termination.
[15:42:51] - Expanded 405499 -> 3045421 (decompressed 751.0 percent)
[15:42:52]
[15:42:52] Project: 586 (Run 12, Clone 77, Gen 1)
[15:42:52]
[15:42:52] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[15:42:52] Entering M.D.
[15:43:10] Completed 14675 out of 50000 steps (29)
[15:59:09] Writing checkpoint files
[16:06:17] Writing local files
[16:06:17] Completed 15000 out of 50000 steps (30)
[16:06:17] Writing checkpoint files
[16:22:19] Writing checkpoint files
[16:38:20] Writing checkpoint files
[16:41:54] Writing local files
[16:41:54] Completed 15500 out of 50000 steps (31)
[16:54:21] Writing checkpoint files
[17:10:22] Writing checkpoint files
[17:17:30] Writing local files
[17:17:30] Completed 16000 out of 50000 steps (32)
[17:17:30] Writing checkpoint files
[17:33:33] Writing checkpoint files
[17:49:36] Writing checkpoint files
[17:53:09] Writing local files
[17:53:09] Completed 16500 out of 50000 steps (33)
[18:05:33] Writing checkpoint files
[18:21:40] Writing checkpoint files
[18:28:44] Writing local files
[18:28:44] Completed 17000 out of 50000 steps (34)
[18:28:44] Writing checkpoint files
[18:44:43] Writing checkpoint files
[19:00:40] Writing checkpoint files
[19:04:13] Writing local files
[19:04:13] Completed 17500 out of 50000 steps (35)
[19:16:38] Writing checkpoint files
User avatar
BAAL
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
Posts: 706
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2001 2:01 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by BAAL » Sat Oct 16, 2004 1:35 pm

30 min per step is about the same as my p4 w/ 512 ram is doing on a 1308 right now.
User avatar
STRESSTEST
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
Posts: 6574
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am

Post by STRESSTEST » Sat Oct 16, 2004 3:09 pm

That first one you are working on is a huge one(1308). 320 points for it tho. They take a while. I've had several of them

the second one is a 586. I don't know what it is.
User avatar
KompresZor
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
Posts: 919
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Clearfield, Pennslyvania
Contact:

Post by KompresZor » Sat Oct 16, 2004 9:44 pm

DM F@H is running as a service on the AMD 2600+ if you have a shortcut in the startup menu also, then yes you are running two instances of F@H. You're going to have to remove one or the other.

The easiest thing to do would be to just remove the shortcut from the startup folder.

btw.. do you only have one F@H folder on that AMD2600??
User avatar
Deadmeat
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
Posts: 631
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2001 2:01 am
Location: Davis, Ca, USA
Contact:

Post by Deadmeat » Sun Oct 17, 2004 11:30 am

I opened Start/Programs/Startup and find no shortcut. Exploring the drive also comes up blank.

No, there are two folders on the system, C:\fah 1 and C:\Programs\F@H. The service is in fah 1. I've tried deleting F@H, but the system won't let me.
User avatar
Iceman
DBB Habitual Type Killer
DBB Habitual Type Killer
Posts: 4923
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2000 2:01 am
Location: Huntsville, AL. USA
Contact:

Post by Iceman » Sun Oct 17, 2004 3:11 pm

... /Control Panel/Administrative Tools/Services

Find the service and stop it then disable it. Then you should be able to delete it.
User avatar
Deadmeat
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
Posts: 631
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2001 2:01 am
Location: Davis, Ca, USA
Contact:

Post by Deadmeat » Mon Oct 18, 2004 1:36 pm

Thanx Iceman, that worked.
User avatar
Iceman
DBB Habitual Type Killer
DBB Habitual Type Killer
Posts: 4923
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2000 2:01 am
Location: Huntsville, AL. USA
Contact:

Post by Iceman » Mon Oct 18, 2004 10:02 pm

Notta Prob Bro ...
Locked