* FAQ    * Search  * Register * Login 
Active topics
Unanswered topics

All times are UTC-06:00



Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 334 posts ]  1 4 5 6 7 8 9
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 8:32 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
WTF! My secret door I made from this whitish rock texture has disappeared! :evil:


Top
   
 
 Post subject: .\\d2x-xl\\d2x-xl.exe crash
PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 9:36 am 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet

Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 9:56 pm
Posts: 14
If I have D2X-XL set up in a folder called, for example, d:\\games\\Descent2 or c:\\d2xXL it works fine.
However, if the folder is named 'd2x-xl' and I double-click .\\d2x-xl\\d2x-xl.exe its window will pop up for a moment and then vanish.
Running it with -printlog generates a log file at (for example) c:\\d2x.log rather than in c:\\d2x-xl\\.

Log file contents...
*************************************************
Loading program arguments
File 'C:/d2x.ini' not found
C:\\d2x-xl\\d2x-xl.exe
-printlog
GetAppFolder ('C:', '', 'data', 'descent2.hog')
GetAppFolder (data) = 'C:' (1)
GetAppFolder ('C:', 'C:', 'data', 'd2demo.hog')
GetAppFolder (data) = 'C:' (1)
expected game app folder = 'C:'
expected game data folder = 'C:'
GetAppFolder ('C:', 'C:', 'models', '*.oof')
GetAppFolder (models) = 'C:' (1)
GetAppFolder ('C:', 'C:', 'textures', '*.tga')
GetAppFolder (textures) = 'C:' (1)
GetAppFolder ('C:', 'C:', 'movies', '*.mvl')
GetAppFolder (movies) = 'C:' (1)
GetAppFolder ('C:', 'C:', 'profiles', '')
GetAppFolder (profiles) = 'C:' (1)
GetAppFolder ('C:', 'C:', 'savegames', '')
GetAppFolder (savegames) = 'C:' (1)
GetAppFolder ('C:', 'C:', 'screenshots', '')
GetAppFolder (screenshots) = 'C:' (1)
GetAppFolder ('C:', 'C:', 'demos', '')
GetAppFolder (demos) = 'C:' (1)
GetAppFolder ('C:', 'C:', 'config', '*.cfg')
GetAppFolder (config) = 'C:' (1)
Creating default tracker list
Loading main hog file
no hog file found
Loading text resources
File 'descent.tex' not found
File 'descent.txb' not found
Loading hires models
File 'pyrogl.oof' not found
Loading ban list
File 'banlist.txt' not found
Initializing i/o
Reading configuration file
File 'descent.cfg' not found
Initializing control types
Initializing joystick
Initializing graphics
initializing SDL
initializing internal texture list
allocating screen buffer
initializing OpenGL window
setting OpenGL attributes
setting SDL_GL_DEPTH_SIZE to 24 succeeded
setting SDL_GL_STENCIL_SIZE to 8 succeeded
setting SDL_GL_ACCUM_RED_SIZE to 5 succeeded
setting SDL_GL_ACCUM_GREEN_SIZE to 5 succeeded
setting SDL_GL_ACCUM_BLUE_SIZE to 5 succeeded
setting SDL_GL_ACCUM_ALPHA_SIZE to 5 succeeded
setting SDL_GL_DOUBLEBUFFER to 1 succeeded
setting SDL video mode (640x480x32, windowed)
initializing OpenGL view port
initializing OpenGL screen mode
initializing OpenGL extensions
Shaders are available
Rendering to texture is available
building lightmap shader programs
Initializing render buffers
Loading default palette
File 'default.256' not found
File 'groupa.256' not found
*************************************************

Sysinternals Filemon confirms that d2x-xl.exe is looking for files in the parent/root...
*************************************************
d2x-xl.exe:3156 OPEN C:\\data\\ NOT FOUND
d2x-xl.exe:3156 OPEN C:\\models\\ NOT FOUND
d2x-xl.exe:3156 OPEN C:\\textures\\ NOT FOUND
d2x-xl.exe:3156 OPEN C:\\movies\\ NOT FOUND
d2x-xl.exe:3156 OPEN C:\\config\\ NOT FOUND
d2x-xl.exe:3156 OPEN C:\\d2x.ini NOT FOUND
d2x-xl.exe:3156 OPEN C:\\descent2.hog NOT FOUND
d2x-xl.exe:3156 OPEN C:\\d2demo.hog NOT FOUND
d2x-xl.exe:3156 OPEN C:\\descent.tex NOT FOUND
d2x-xl.exe:3156 OPEN C:\\descent.txb NOT FOUND
d2x-xl.exe:3156 OPEN C:\\pyrogl.oof NOT FOUND
d2x-xl.exe:3156 OPEN C:\\banlist.txt NOT FOUND
*************************************************

Of course, it's easy to avoid this problem by not naming the folder 'd2x-xl'.
But still...


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 10:43 am 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet

Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 8:49 pm
Posts: 6
Hi people! :wink:

I downloaded the latest version 1.6.103 from the Descent 2 D2X-XL site www.descent2.de

The game is running fine but the MIDI music is not looping, only plays one time...

What I need to do to fix that?

If the procedure requires the compilation of the source code I can perfectly compile the source code again. 8)

Thanx and my sincere regards!!! :wink:

----------------
And let me say that this message is avaiable here too...

http://www.descentbb.net/viewtopic.php?p=172532

And I think that the proper place to post it is on the \"Win Bug Report Thread\"

Thanx!! :wink:


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 8:23 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 3:01 am
Posts: 1463
Website: http://www.sapphirewolf.net
Location: Nope.avi , gender: male
about the Frezzing bug, it only works on a level that is made for the original Descent 2, not D2x-xl such as the original Descent 2: Counter Strike(not the XL version)

_________________
Dev'Art-
http://sapphirewolf3057.deviantart.com/
Youtube-
http://www.youtube.com/SapphireWolf3057

WARNING: I'm a furry!


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 10:38 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:08 am
Posts: 1074
Location: Minnesota, USA
Weyrman wrote:
ok win 1.6.101 all currently released h-r textures

D2 level 1 cube 171 side 3 is triggered by the switch back in the corridor, but the robots behind it are firing through it at me.

like Aus-red-5 commented about higher up

I hope this is a bug and not just something I've forgotten :oops: :?


If I'm not mistaken, this is nearby a cloaking device, correct? If so then I'm getting the same problem.

AND, When me and The_Lion play4ed a coop of lvl4, everytime I'd open the door, a wall texture woudl be in the way, still fire through and robots coudl see through it to fire at me, but I couldn't see through it. First off, I believe The_Lion runs Linux, and this never happened to me when I want through lvl4 in SP, though there is a possibility that I played through D2 lvl4 with the 95 patch...


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 11:18 pm 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 8:43 pm
Posts: 5
V 1.6.106
I am having a problem with the text and graphics in the game menus.
Mainly with menu titles, but elsewhere also.
Image

Image
Heres my d2x.ini
;launch d2x-xl in fullscreen mode
;-fullscreen
;keep mouse focus in game window
-grabmouse
;use sound sampled at 22 Khz
-sound22k
;skip CD ROM check
-nocdrom
;use trilinear filtering and mipmaps
-render_quality 3
;let OpenGL handle rendering of layered textures
-gl_alttexmerge
;display multiplayer game messages from other players
-playermessages
;suppress duplicate messages
-noredundancy
;don't playback cut scenes movies, but allow robot movies
-nomovies 1
;use bitmap reticle
-gl_reticle 0
;use short multiplayer game data packets
-shortpackets
;send 10 updates per second in multiplayer games
-pps 10
;add your default player name here to make D2X-XL load it at program start
-player default
;use the following screen resolution at program start (will be overridden by player profile)
;-640x480
;set the following value to 0 to enable a backwards compatible camera rendering method
-render2texture 1
;set the following value to 0 to enable the original menu style
-menustyle 1
;set the following value to 1 to enable faster rendering of new style menus
-fastmenus 1
;set the following value to 1 to enable sound rendering via SDL_mixer (enables midi playback on non-Windows OS-s)
-sdl_mixer 1
;set the following value to 0 to enable original Descent 2 math data handling
-mathformat 2
;set the following value to 0 to use Descent 2 sounds in Descent 1 levels
-use_d1sounds 1
;specify the name of a custom menu background to use here
-altbg_name menubg-planet-small-logo.tga
;specify the brightness of the custom menu background here (0.0 < brightness <= 1.0)
-altbg_brightness 0.75
;specify the transparency of the custom menu background here (0.0 < alpha <= 1.0; -1.0 to keep what's set in the image)
-altbg_alpha -1.0
;tell whether to convert the custom menu background to a grayscale image
-altbg_grayscale 0
;enable usage of hires textures if present
-hires_textures 1
;enable usage of hires models if present
-hires_models 1

more info on request


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 1:57 am 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Alcatraz,

What video card + driver version, and Windows OS do you have?


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 2:13 am 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 8:43 pm
Posts: 5
Windows XP SP2
i have a crappy intergated card, might be the problem

VIA/S3G UniChrome IGP

driver
6.14.10.194
date is 11/29/2004
a bit out date but i cant seem to find anything on via's site


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 2:44 am 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
I would say it is the onboard card video for sure.

Are you able to upgrade to use an AGP card?


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 2:53 am 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 8:43 pm
Posts: 5
yes i am able. and ive been planning on it for a while now. unfourtunately i cant afford anything decent right now.

_________________
Some people are like slinkies. Good for nothing, but still fun to watch them tumble down the stairs


Top
   
 
 Post subject: http://www.descentbb.net/index.php
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 9:32 am 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet

Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 8:43 pm
Posts: 8
Hi I've been lerking here for months,
I think I found my 1st bug.
(this is from 1.6.106 so ignore the no texture pyro)

When I try playing co-op the minimap isnt drawn in either the window or in fullscreen mode and all robots are shown immedately, I just rechecked and it's still valid in 1.6.108
Image
here's my d2x.ini if it means anything
d2x.ini wrote:
;------System------
-player The_Man
-secretsave
-notitles
-nomovies 1
-subtitles

;------UI------
-altbg_name menubg.tga
-altbg_brightness 0.75
-altbg_alpha -1.0
-altbg_grayscale 0
-fastmenus 1
-menustyle 1
-progress_bars 1

;------Graphics------
-gl_alttexmerge
-gl_intensity4_ok
-gl_luminance4_alpha4_ok
-gl_rgba2_ok
-gl_readpixels_ok
-gl_reticle 2
-render2texture 1
-use_shaders 1
-render_quality 4
-hires_textures 1
-hires_models 1
-bigpig
;-fullscreen
;-blend_background
-1024x768

;------Sound------
-Sound22K
-sdl_mixer 1
-use_d1sounds 1

;------Network------
;-internal_tracker 1
-playermessages
-noredundancy
;-pps 15
;-shortpackets


There is another bug, or at least I assume it's a bug, I had gone through the d2x-xl.hog and found hi-res versions of the briefing images, but they dont seem to work unless extracted to \\data, and they're missing a few images compared to what I found in the d1x hog.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:22 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
You need to enable the automap for multiplayer, and turn off bot visibility (in one of the menus).


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:58 am 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet

Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 8:43 pm
Posts: 8
where is this setting? this is what i have set in multi settings

Image


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 12:18 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 3:01 am
Posts: 1463
Website: http://www.sapphirewolf.net
Location: Nope.avi , gender: male
I meant to say that a game crashes when a robot fires a robot type Mercury Missile.

_________________
Dev'Art-
http://sapphirewolf3057.deviantart.com/
Youtube-
http://www.youtube.com/SapphireWolf3057

WARNING: I'm a furry!


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 12:51 pm 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
The Man wrote:
where is this setting? this is what i have set in multi settings[/img][/url]

Ack ... I had disabled automap due to a bug ... :oops:


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 1:03 pm 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet

Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 8:43 pm
Posts: 8
Was that bug the fact that the map is fully revealed even at the beginning of a game? It makes sense for anarchy but makes co-op kinda hard to play.

I think this bug has been around for quite a while.

But it sure beats having no minimap at all


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 1:22 pm 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
In v1.6.110 you do not see the entire automap right away. I checked it in singleplayer and in coop.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 1:27 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 3:01 am
Posts: 1463
Website: http://www.sapphirewolf.net
Location: Nope.avi , gender: male
I think the robot Mercury Missile firing bug seems to occur on robots with a custom polymodel for example, the Blasticon(the blue guy that fires Mercury Missiles) from Project: Mandrill.

_________________
Dev'Art-
http://sapphirewolf3057.deviantart.com/
Youtube-
http://www.youtube.com/SapphireWolf3057

WARNING: I'm a furry!


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 1:43 pm 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet

Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 8:43 pm
Posts: 8
It might be on my end then, i just tested 1.6.110 and the minimap is still getting revealed right away.

I also found another bug and a graphical glitch.

I have two of the axis's on my joy config inverted, if I quit out of d2x and relaunch they get reset to default instead of keeping set.

And in multi if you sit in front one of the breakable displays (i used the one to your left right at the beginning of d2:cs lvl 1 to test) and do something that would 'pause' the game (ie, go to minimap or hit pause) the display will play like 2x as fast as if to make up for missing frames


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 2:55 pm 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
Fixed in v1.6.111.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 4:37 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:08 am
Posts: 1074
Location: Minnesota, USA
Aus-RED-5 wrote:
v1.6.100

Anybody else getting the, game crashes when you shoot a door in D2 - CS mission?


v1.6.111
Well, I get a diffrent problem.. I think. WHen I flew foreward (after redoing my config) toward the first door, and when I tapped it with my ship to open it, but then it dumps it right back to the desktop... Hopefully I still have the old copied I just overwrit and can use that one I know that one works...


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 4:52 pm 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet

Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 8:43 pm
Posts: 8
I figured out my minimap problem, the minimap does indeed work correctly if you dont use the radar window.

If you start a multi game and had the radar window opened from a previous game you have the minimap fully revealed at start.

If you didnt have it turned on and turn it on after joining the map gets fully revealed.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 5:12 pm 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
There is the automap and the radar, but what is the minimap?


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 5:14 pm 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet

Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 8:43 pm
Posts: 8
by minimap i mean automap, sorry i got my terms mixed up


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 5:42 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:08 am
Posts: 1074
Location: Minnesota, USA
Okay, becuase of the SDl whatsit, I can't press Shift+F1\\2 to get my rear view\\radars... And to be sure I just tested it, and instead of getting those views, I get teh F1 help screen, and the options menu.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 3:29 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
Well ... I can ... so what can I do?


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 3:51 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 6:01 am
Posts: 185
ICQ: 333302146
WLM: neumaennl@live.de
Location: Germany (Munich)
Aaarrrgh! D2X-XL crashes to the Desktop each time I start a new game - no matter what level it is :cry:

here is the log file:

d2x.log

edit: v1.6.113 - I thought I was to post Bug reports only for the latest version and so did I and therefore I didn't mention the version number, sorry


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 4:32 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
Which version, dangit! Do I have to ask that every time again?!

Try to decrease texture quality.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 5:07 am 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Use version 1.6.113

Dizzy's hires Monitor (misc060) doesn't work anymore.
The lowres version of the monitor doesn't animate either.
All other hires texture seem to be working.
Image

Another thing.
When you first enter the mine in CS lvl 1.
Go straight to the trigger in the room with the stream of lava and kill the trigger.
Image
Head back to the main room and head for the secret door with the next trigger on the right side of the wall.
Image
As you can see. The door is now open and nore the robot or I can't shoot through it.

d2x.ini
;-fullscreen
-grabmouse
-sound22k
-nocdrom
-render_quality 3
-gl_alttexmerge 1
-playermessages
-noredundancy
-nomovies 1
-gl_reticle 1
-shortpackets
-pps 10
-player AusRED5
-1024x768
-render2texture 1
-menustyle 1
-fastmenus 1
-sdl_mixer 1
-mathformat 2
-use_d1sounds 0
-altbg_name menubg.tga
-altbg_brightness 0.75
-altbg_alpha -1.0
-altbg_grayscale 0
-hires_textures 1
-hires_models 1
-progress_bars 1
-point_sprites
-vertex_arrays


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 5:20 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
I know already.

Oh, btw:

4000!

Free beer for everybody (but you have to get it in my home ... :roll: )

Edit:

Fixed. Just uploading v1.6.114. Level designers make sure to get DLE-XP v1.5.42, too, as it now supports putting large hires animations in pog files, like the doors from the current hires texture projects. Dizzy, do you read? ;)


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 5:25 am 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Diedel wrote:
Oh, btw:

4000!

Free beer for everybody (but you have to get it in my home ... :roll: )

hehe - nice! :P

Neumaennl,

I am never sure about which version someone uses. ;) Did you try to decrease texture quality? It can be that with a lot of hires textures, D2X-XL runs out of memory, in which case it doesn't react graceful at all.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 7:15 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 6:01 am
Posts: 185
ICQ: 333302146
WLM: neumaennl@live.de
Location: Germany (Munich)
OK, I just tried v1.6.114 and it crashes to the desktop as soon as the progress bar is complete and the level should start. This applies to d2 missions only, not d1 missions, they work fine. It happens independently of any texture quality or render quality settings.

log file

btw: I was able to play with the highest quality settings yesterday with v1.6.111


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 2:47 pm 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
I don't have a clue yet, but I have added some more output to the logging function in the critical area. Get v1.6.115 and post the log file (only the last 10 lines please) here again.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 1:53 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 6:01 am
Posts: 185
ICQ: 333302146
WLM: neumaennl@live.de
Location: Germany (Munich)
with v1.6.115 it crashes even earlier (while still showing the progress bar)

here are the last 10 lines of the log file:

File 'd1fs-xh.ham-l.mvl' not found
File '.d1fs-xh.ham-l.mvl' not found
File 'd1fs-xl.ham-l.mvl' not found
File '.d1fs-xl.ham-l.mvl' not found
Destroying camera objects
Destroying smoke objects
Initializing smoke manager
loading level 'd1fs01xl.rl2'
loading palette
loading level data


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 3:55 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
I have an immediate crash with hires textures if I turn -gl_alttexmerge off, so I think -gl_alttexmerge has no effect on your machine (maybe the shader programs don't get loaded).


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 4:12 am 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Version 1.6.115

I'm getting the immediate crash with an error report from WinXP Pro.
Image
I have the error report if you want it?

I've tried turning off -gl_alttexmerge 1, -hires_textures 1, -hires_models 1, and -progress_bars 1. Still crashes either way. :(


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 4:29 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 6:01 am
Posts: 185
ICQ: 333302146
WLM: neumaennl@live.de
Location: Germany (Munich)
There are some messages in the log file saying shader cannot be compiled, but that's always been the case and I've been able to play just fine with the highest quality settings. I did not change anything on my system.
I want to be able play again - is there anything I can do?


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:04 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
Yes - download v1.6.116. ;)

I think you told me already - but what was your gfx card and driver type (ATI: Omega or Radeon?) and version again?

Aus-RED,

wrong report. Run d2x-xl using the -printlog switch, and post the d2x.log file it stores in your descent folder here. But please try v1.1.116 first.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:26 am 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Diedel wrote:
Aus-RED,

wrong report. Run d2x-xl using the -printlog switch, and post the d2x.log file it stores in your descent folder here.


I know all about the d2x.log file.

Just thought you might want this one insted.

Anyways.....
Version 116 is now crashing after the progress bar is complete.
d2x.log


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 6:34 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:40 pm
Posts: 163
WLM: allan.belcher@shute-eng.com.au
Location: Brisbane Australia
same here new game, saved game, new pilot, all the same. All crash after progress bar loads. Actually, d2 lvl1 actually showed the level for a split second before crashing to desktop.

_________________
Pilot from Oz


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 334 posts ]  1 4 5 6 7 8 9

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Descent'rs have piloted these pages
 
The layout and contents contained within this site are © DescentBB.net 1997-2006.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is Outrage Entertainment.
Descent is a Trademark of Interplay Productions.

Miner Wars™ is trademark of Keen Software House s. r. o.
.


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group