* FAQ    * Search  * Register * Login 
Active topics
Unanswered topics

All times are UTC-06:00



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 2589 posts ]  1 2 3 4 5 65
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 6:53 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
The credits stuff is a little more complicated.
  1. The background below the credits is saved.
  2. The credits are written to an extra bitmap.
  3. That bitmap is blitted to the screen.
  4. The saved background image is blitted to the screen.
  5. Then, the offset for the credits is incremented.
  6. Proceed with 2. until a key is pressed
So there's three spots where the screen offset based on screen size has to be taken into account. I forgot one. :P

This is all fixed now, highscore list displays properly as well, and I have added a simple movie playback function cycling through all available game movies.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 2:06 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5426
ICQ: 28874658
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/
Location: Bellevue, WA
Cool.

And yes, direct D1x 1.43-style TCP/IP games would be nice as well. I would guess you could get most of it from a quick look at that code...

Edit: If it's intelligible. ;) I have heard many things about the coding style of the Descent X programmers, most of them not good.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 2:17 pm 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
I have two different source code archives, one of which probably does not contain UDP/IP code.

I have been working on UDP/IP comm today, but not gotten far. Somehow I cannot bind a socket to an IP address.

Most of what I've seen in D2X coding style wise made my hair raise. Bloody amateurs who think they're cool because they can tinker around in some OpenGL code.

The menu function is several 1000 lines. The guy who has coded this must have never heard of functions, or function arguments, or reusable code.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 12:55 am 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Diedel wrote:
The next thing I'd really love to implement is playing via direkt UDP/IP connection (i.e. the servers makes his IP address known to all clients who enter it in their multiplayer screen and thus can connect directly to the server over the inet w/o the help of KALI).

Well I hope you'll be able to implement that into D2x! That would be great! Be cool to setup a dedicated server to play on! :wink:
Good luck and I hope you can make that work.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 1:34 am 
Offline
DBB Stoner
DBB Stoner
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 20, 1998 3:01 am
Posts: 14329
Aus: D2 doesn't work via client/server architecture, but peer-to-peer.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 2:38 am 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
2dx-w32 v1.0.9
http://img148.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img148& ... ore7dx.jpg
Need I say more?
Plus I have a nVidia FX5950 ultra 256MB card. Latest drivers (66.93) and the screen shots aren't working right for me. http://img219.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img219& ... 0000de.jpg Though I really don't care. Just letting you know is all.
Cheers


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 3:45 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
Endscore screen will be fixed asap. There can be more things like that, I don't know all screens D2X can produce by heart.

Looks like the newest hardware doesn't support glReadPixels(), or I'd need to set some additional OpenGL parameters before calling it I don't know ...

Aus,

I am not going to implement dedicated servers. I am only trying to implement direct IP communication. One player will still be the server (game host).


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 4:11 am 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Guess I shouldn't have used the word "dedicated". lol
All i ment was that on one PC I can start a game (non Kali) and from another join it. Plus give out IP for others to join. EDIT: *thinking to self.. whats the point in doing that?* Thats all I ment. Sorry Ferno and Diedel. :lol:
Just makes me think back when D3 first came and you could do the P2P IP games and my Brother-n-law was playing a lan game with friends. I knew his IP so I joined the game from my house. He was surprised when I showed up in the game! :lol:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 4:38 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
The point of this is that you don't need KALI to play D2 online games. ;)

And then I just want to implement this, find out how to make this work.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 7:17 am 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Diedel wrote:
The point of this is that you don't need KALI to play D2 online games. ;)

And then I just want to implement this, find out how to make this work.

Well implement the UDP/P2P IP deal, and I'll welcome it with open arms! :P


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:35 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
I can't get it to work. Everything seems to be set up correctly, but a packet sniffer doesn't show any UDP data being sent by d2x-w32. :(


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 1:25 am 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Diedel.
Bug of some kind. D2x-w32 v1.10:
Tryed to go through an illusion/door and you can't now.
Test it urself and see if this happens to you?
Thanks. :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 3:11 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
Fixed. I thought I should introduce my very own personal bug in d2x-w32. :oops: :D


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 3:21 am 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
hehe no worries....
Thanks Diedel! :P


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 8:22 am 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Diedel,
Just wanted to let you know that when config the mouse (axis) movement. Only F/B will set. No L/R.
:?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 1:41 pm 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
Works for me.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 2:29 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 121
I get this bug also.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 8:14 pm 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Diedel wrote:
Works for me.

What mouse do you use?
Mine is the Logitech Mx 700 cordless Optical Mouse and keyboard (Logitech® Cordless MX� Duo).
Just wondering if it has something to do with the optics or what? Either way. I've tryed over and over. Still won't set L/R.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 4:41 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
Logitech MX 310 (800 dpi).


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 5:53 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 174
Website: http://www.cc.utah.edu/~dlg7
Something I've noticed in the last few versions, the fusion cannon shots are almost transparent, and frequently are not even visible against a light texture background.
Also, do you have any listing of all the new d2x.ini file parameters and what they do? like "-minturnrate X" what is the number range and what does it do?
Thanks for all the fixes so far, 1.0.13 is playing nice!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 7:37 pm 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
I have just fixed a little bug in v1.0.13 regarding dual joystick support and config.

zapp, you need to reget that version, at least if you are playing with dual sticks.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 8:18 pm 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Hummmm... I got v1.0.13 and the mouse movement is still not setting right. :( I still only get F/B to set. Can you please look into this? I have no idea why this is.... Lehm is having same prob. So I'm not the only one.
Just so you know. I have no other joysticks pluged in when trying to set mouse axis.
Thanks


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 3:08 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
I don't have this problem, so I cannot look into it. I just tried it again. I only need to move the mouse fast enough (not very fast, just not slo-mo).


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 3:44 am 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Diedel.
I'm geussing that you don't play D2x in FULL screen do ya? If not try and set mouse axis in FULL screen mode. I play in FULL screen mode and when I unchecked FULL screen and set it to 800x600. I was able to set mouse axis F/B and L/R then. It seems to be only a prob when in FULL screen mode. So try that please and see if you get same prob in FULL screen mode.
Thanks


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 3:47 am 
Offline
DBB Stoner
DBB Stoner
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 20, 1998 3:01 am
Posts: 14329
One thing that I liked about D1x was the ability to assign certain weapons to certain joystick keys. IE: lasers could be assigned to button 5, Vulcan could be assigned to button 6, etc.

would it be too much trouble to implement this?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 4:08 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
Aus,

ok, got it now. Will be fixed ASAP.

Ferno,

that would require a little more effort. I will look into it, but it will take some time.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 4:33 am 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5426
ICQ: 28874658
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/
Location: Bellevue, WA
With the SW P2, you can do that already by mapping buttons... but I suppose what you have doesn't have that sort of software...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 5:06 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
Mouse config bug fixed.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 5:15 am 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Yes I got it and its fixed.
Thank you! :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 9:28 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
Ferno,

the only think I could probably do was to bind a weapon toggle to a joystick key (like pressing a certain button will change the current weapon to lasers), but not have the weapon immediately fired - that would be a cheat.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 2:56 pm 
Offline
DBB Stoner
DBB Stoner
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 20, 1998 3:01 am
Posts: 14329
Diedel wrote:
Ferno,

the only think I could probably do was to bind a weapon toggle to a joystick key (like pressing a certain button will change the current weapon to lasers)



that's what i was thinking.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 12:58 am 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5426
ICQ: 28874658
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/
Location: Bellevue, WA
Ugh... redrawing bug is still present in some form. (1024x768 resolution if it helps any.)

Start up a level - any level, it doesn't matter. Then exit, and hit the 'New Game' option again. Scroll the list with the arrow keys, and things will become very difficult to see.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 2:28 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
This happens if the background is redrawn over the menu text/dialog, and I just don't know when/why this happens.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 12:34 am 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5426
ICQ: 28874658
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/
Location: Bellevue, WA
Midi support in newest build picks title song when disabled and re-enabled in game, instead of the level's MIDI file. (At least it does for custom MIDIs...)

In addition, I have a suspicion D2x doesn't handle object bitmaps properly.


Top
   
 Post subject: another sound complaint
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 2:33 am 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 1:41 am
Posts: 17
Hi there, I was very very suprised about development of D2X-win32 in the year of 2005 - just AMAZING!
There is one great BUT - I'm standing in the queue with those who have problems with crackling and shattered sounds. I've tried many D2X builds and the sound is quite smooth in them (even when using same SDL library as d2x-win32 uses!).
HW: GeForce Ti4200 (this bug was reported also by someone with Radeon), Soundblaster Live 1024 (maybe??), chipset VIA KT266A. All drivers most recent (and working well in all game titles).


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 3:09 am 
Offline
DBB Defender
DBB Defender
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 3:01 am
Posts: 3399
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Try adding "-sound11k" or "-sound22k" (without quotes) in your D2x.ini. It can be found in the D2 directory. Only try them in one at a time, having both in the .ini file might cause conflicts.

See if that clears up the crackling. Make sure you have the latest D2x-w32 (v1.1.11) with the SDL provided in that. If you already have an existing D2x.ini file in your D2 dir do not overwrite it with the one provided in the zip file.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 3:17 am 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 1:41 am
Posts: 17
Tyranny: thanks for hints.
a) i have already fiddled with samplerate before - crackling is not cleaned up - it can be just somewhat "covered" in overall low-quality 11k but it's still there.
b) I'm always doing clean "unzip" to my old DOS D2 not to have anything mixed..


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 4:45 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
Sirius,

can you get more specific about "object bitmap rendering faults"?

Tyr,

though it acts the same from the outside, a midi device is technically different from a redbook audio device (even if the device is just a piece of software).

I got the code from icculus.org and didn't write it myself, but I've understood it good enough. I have played around with that code for hours yesterday and queried the availability of midi device volume control on my computer (Audigy 2, not the worst sound hardware I'd say), and there wasn't volume control.

You can however always turn midi sound completely off and on in the sound menu when chosing the lowest volume or a higher one.

I really cannot tell why sound is so bad on certain systems. I have never experienced problems. There is some slight static during sound playback (esp. explosions), but it is only noticeable when I pay attention to it. As far as I can tell I am using the same sound code the "official" d2x project does (arch\sdl\digi.c), so I am clueless about what's going on (wrong) here. I will pursue this matter and maybe find something out. I have asked Bradley Bell to help me with this, but gotten no reply so far.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 4:57 am 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 1:41 am
Posts: 17
I'll try D2X-win32 on various systems (different soundboards) and will inform you.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 5:29 am 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
I have an Audigy2.zs and D2x-w32 sounds fine to me. So who knows? :roll:


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 2589 posts ]  1 2 3 4 5 65

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Descent'rs have piloted these pages
 
The layout and contents contained within this site are © DescentBB.net 1997-2006.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is Outrage Entertainment.
Descent is a Trademark of Interplay Productions.

Miner Wars™ is trademark of Keen Software House s. r. o.
.


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group