* FAQ    * Search  * Register * Login 
Active topics
Unanswered topics

All times are UTC-06:00



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 411 posts ]  1 7 8 9 10 11
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2006 4:36 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
You can kill only the thieves using a D2X-XL specific cheat code - at the cost cheating comes at. That's all I will do. If you want to get rid of the thief, you've got to pay the price. ;)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Thief Bot config switch for D2
PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2006 12:53 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 1:12 pm
Posts: 26
Aus-RED-5 wrote:
Yogi wrote:
I did a search in the D2X forum and found no such suggestions: for D2, add a switch config setting to have thief bot in game (value of 1) or no thief bot in the game (value of zero). Would this be too much work Diedel?

Thanks,
Yogi

Isn't that like "cheating"? :P

Scared of him are ya?? :lol:


Thief bot is more a pain in my furry bottom than a real threat. I am trying to not waste ammo destroying the bot. And, besides, that thief bot sort of works on my guilty conscience - since I steal many pic-a-nic baskets with all kinds of goodies!

Yogi


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2006 1:49 pm 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
Hm ... I will make a switch that makes Yogi believe he can turn off the thief bot with, while in reality it makes a super thief using megas, stealing everything at once and being a huge major PITA (tm)! :mrgreen:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2006 2:03 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:40 pm
Posts: 163
WLM: allan.belcher@shute-eng.com.au
Location: Brisbane Australia
You forgot the diabolical laughter BWAA-HHHAA-HA-HA-HA!! :evil:

I have realized recently that std mines are quite effective against the thiefbot. Especially if you can chase him into a room with a single door on it. Lay a string of mines behind you as you go in and then chase him so that he tries to exit....at great speed....into waiting mines.....YES!!!!

Very satisfying! :wink:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2006 6:30 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:40 pm
Posts: 163
WLM: allan.belcher@shute-eng.com.au
Location: Brisbane Australia
Is it possible to have the standard \"collect powerup\" sound when getting cloak and invulnerability items as inventory? It just seems a bit odd to assimilate them (insert your favourite BORG quote here) with no audio cue whatsoever.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2006 7:17 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
Sure.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 5:18 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 3:51 pm
Posts: 72
Suggestions for both D1 and D2, either or...

I would like to see 4 keys, a green one added with corresponding secondary textures for green doors etc.

Guided missles in D1 (one can dream!)

A ricocheting weapon would be nice in D1 but I imagine that is asking a lot.I might as well just use D2 in this case.

I think I remember seeing this in the suggestion thread...The ability to toggle dual missle fire during gameplay without going to the options menu.

Object triggers in D1.

I know, I know.....just play D2! :roll:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 5:31 am 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5426
ICQ: 28874658
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/
Location: Bellevue, WA
Uh... yeah... because D1 with more weapons basically is D2.

You can re-balance them if that's what you're thinking, but other than that...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 5:45 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
reetus wrote:
I know, I know.....just play D2! :roll:

Exactly. ;)

You can always omit weapons and equipment you don't like from your levels, and in multiplayer from every level chosen if you are the game host.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 5:46 am 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
D1 should be what it is.... Descent 1.

Nothing more, end of story.

Add all you want to D2.

Just make most of it off by default or an option to turn it off and I'll be happy! ;)

Why another key?

Do we really need another key? :roll:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 5:50 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
Aus-RED-5 wrote:
Why another key?

Do we really need another key? :roll:

That would just be boring.

reetus,

If you want something new, create D2X-XL levels with riddles using switches, and put some of them into robots. ;)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:17 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 157
Website: http://www.dizzyrox.koolbear.com
Location: Sedalia
I wonder how hard it would be to incorporate the pilot pix zip from D3,or an organized new one maybe for newer players in XL.
I never really played online much, but the few times when i did it was kinda cool,,When killing/getting killed/and or comms their lil personal icon/avatar popped up.Along with them using personal audio taunts was pretty cool.
It sounds like it would be a tall request to fill though..and prolly created lag or twitchiness, i dunno, at the time I was lucky to get under a 500/700 ping and discos with our crappy ISP here, so it ALL lagged for me.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 3:40 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 11:15 pm
Posts: 39
AOL: TTM815
Could you make d2x-xl do one of two things
1: check to see if there is a d2x.ini and if not then create one
2: check to see if there is a custom.ini(or something like that) and of so use it instead of d2x.ini.
The point is so that I don't have to keep making sure not to overwrite my d2x.ini every time I install an update.
And please just make an \"enable cheats\" option in multiplayer.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 5:02 pm 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
1. no
2. You can specify an alternate ini file using the cmd line (see my D2 site)
3. no


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 7:10 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 157
Website: http://www.dizzyrox.koolbear.com
Location: Sedalia
A splash screen with Aus-RED-5 wallpaper,,
kinda like D13dfx had would be cool 8)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 9:41 am 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
hummm... yeah, a custom splash screen would be cool.
Is that possible Diedel?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:22 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
If you explain to me what exactly you mean ...?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:53 am 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
A splash screen.
Just like what DLE-XP has.

When launching d2x-xl. It will show you a logo or custom pic before going to main menu.

Kinda like what Descent 1 3dfx version had.
When you launched the game, you got a 3dfx logo. Then a D1 3dfx pic and whatever else after that.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 2:30 pm 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
Sure, you can make one.

But there is already that Interplay intro movie from the PSX D2 version available.

Ofc that doesn't mean a splash screen could be shown also.

Personally, I dislike splash screens and intro movies though. They just delay being able to access the game.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 7:45 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 3:51 pm
Posts: 72
for D1 and D2, A power bar showing the health of the boss? Not for every robot, just the boss. It would be nice to know if he is almost dead. :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 10:42 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5426
ICQ: 28874658
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/
Location: Bellevue, WA
Uhm. Sounds like cheating to me.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:11 pm 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Diedel wrote:
Personally, I dislike splash screens and intro movies though. They just delay being able to access the game.
This is true. I don't care for them either. Just thought it could be a good option for some who might like it.
Just put this suggestion at the very bottum of the list of things to do. ;)

reetus wrote:
for D1 and D2, A power bar showing the health of the boss? Not for every robot, just the boss. It would be nice to know if he is almost dead. :)
If such a thing was added. It should be a cheat command or an option to turn on or off in config. Like the options for "Show Robots on radar" and "Show powerups on radar". ;)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2006 2:16 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
Sirius wrote:
Uhm. Sounds like cheating to me.

Why should that be cheating. It doesn't make the Boss one bit weaker or more dead. It's just for you so that you know what effect your efforts have had so far. ;)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2006 6:18 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:40 pm
Posts: 163
WLM: allan.belcher@shute-eng.com.au
Location: Brisbane Australia
When you use a cloak (and I think invuln) inventory item, you get the pickup sound. Could you keep the pickup sound but change the use sound to the original sound used before they became inventory items?

It just doesn't sound right!! Please..... :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2006 1:10 pm 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
No, it doesn't sound right, and it should sound properly. ;)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: D2X-XL suggestions thread
PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 6:53 am 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet

Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 9:56 pm
Posts: 14
Diedel wrote:
This thread is intended for suggestions regarding D2X-XL - no bug reports, no questions here please.

I wasn't sure if this should be in Q&A or Suggestions, but here goes...

Can you please put the older OGL reticle back in as an option?
The one from before the v1.6.89 change "Improved: OpenGL reticle visuals"

Old & New...
ImageImage
If it's still available in there somewhere, can you tell me how to activate it (and my apologies for this being a question and in the wrong thread in that case).

*EDIT* Actually... I've just tried toggling -gl_reticle 1/0 again in v1.6.74 and v1.6.103 and compared the reticle and it seems to stay exactly the same in v1.6.103 no matter how the option is set. Maybe this is a bug instead? Or, am I doing something wrong?

Thanks,
Max


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 7:13 am 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
did you try and apply the -gl_reticle 1 in the d2x.ini file as well?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 7:25 am 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet

Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 9:56 pm
Posts: 14
Aus-RED-5 wrote:
did you try and apply the -gl_reticle 1 in the d2x.ini file as well?

Yeah, that was the only place I had previously messed with it. With it set as 0, 1 or even commented out I still get the same reticle. I've now tried it as a command-line parameter with no d2x.ini file... same thing.

Does the option work for you? Do you get different Bitmap and OGL reticles?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 7:35 am 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
nope. Not working for me.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 8:15 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
-gl_reticle 2


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 8:25 am 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet

Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 9:56 pm
Posts: 14
Diedel wrote:
-gl_reticle 2

Tried that as well and there was no difference.

*EDIT* Ignore what I said here before about -gl_reticle being listed twice in the printlog.. that was my doing due to misuse of http://shellext.synesis.com.au/#merunprg). But I still get no reticle changes with -gl_reticle 0/1/2 though).


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 9:37 am 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet

Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 8:43 pm
Posts: 8
Is the hi-poly pyro the only replacement model d2x-xl can handle? Would it be possible to use all the d3 power models as replacements and insert other d3 models?

Or has this been already implemented when the pyro replacement was made? I havnt checked.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:17 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
Theoretically, hires models for all objects can be supported. I just need someone to create them and convert them to OOF format. D2X-XL doesn't currently support rotating or moving object parts for hires models though.

zif,

I just made the OpenGL reticle lines thicker, and I will not revert that. I think it looks much better than the old OpenGL reticle with its one pixel wide lines.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: D2X-XL suggestions thread
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:19 am 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:08 am
Posts: 1074
Location: Minnesota, USA
Diedel wrote:
This thread is intended for suggestions regarding D2X-XL - no bug reports, no questions here please.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:20 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
Ummm ... yeah. :P


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 4:11 pm 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet

Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 9:56 pm
Posts: 14
Diedel wrote:
I just made the OpenGL reticle lines thicker, and I will not revert that. I think it looks much better than the old OpenGL reticle with its one pixel wide lines.

Well what I see with -gl_reticle 1 or 2 enabled looks fat and ugly. The thinner version was much better.

Therefore; my suggestion/request for the re-implementation of the old reticle as an *option*, not a reversion, stands.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: D2X-XL suggestions thread
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 4:13 pm 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet

Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 9:56 pm
Posts: 14
d3jake wrote:
Diedel wrote:
This thread is intended for suggestions regarding D2X-XL - no bug reports, no questions here please.

Well fortunately it turns out that it was a suggestion, after all.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 4:17 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:08 am
Posts: 1074
Location: Minnesota, USA
:p

Diedel wrote:
Sirius wrote:
Uhm. Sounds like cheating to me.

Why should that be cheating. It doesn't make the Boss one bit weaker or more dead. It's just for you so that you know what effect your efforts have had so far. ;)


So, what's the probability of this being added, or has it already?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 10:58 pm 
Offline
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Posts: 1604
ICQ: 243831557
Yahoo Messenger: AusRED5
AOL: AuzzieGeorge
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
zif wrote:
Diedel wrote:
I just made the OpenGL reticle lines thicker, and I will not revert that. I think it looks much better than the old OpenGL reticle with its one pixel wide lines.

Well what I see with -gl_reticle 1 or 2 enabled looks fat and ugly. The thinner version was much better.

Therefore; my suggestion/request for the re-implementation of the old reticle as an *option*, not a reversion, stands.

If you know anything about editing the D2.hog file.
Why not just make your own reticle and save it to the hog file?

In the old days when I used to make levels. I added custom recticles to a pog file for that level.

I bet I could do better nowa days. ;)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 3:23 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
Website: http://www.descent2.de
d3jake wrote:
Would there be a way to setup D2X so we can change what the GUide-Bot says? Like instead of I'm coining back to get you" it'll say, "i'm coiming back yo find your lard @$$" well...something like that...


You can edit descent.tex.eng and put it in the D2 or data folder under the name descent.tex.

I might add damage indicators for bots in the future, but no promises, only if I feel like it. ;)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 411 posts ]  1 7 8 9 10 11

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Descent'rs have piloted these pages
 
The layout and contents contained within this site are © DescentBB.net 1997-2006.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is Outrage Entertainment.
Descent is a Trademark of Interplay Productions.

Miner Wars™ is trademark of Keen Software House s. r. o.
.


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group