D2X-XL suggestions thread

D2X-XL - Descent II update for modern systems with many new features and enhanced graphics. Home Page

Moderators: Grendel, Aus-RED-5

User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Tue May 09, 2006 4:36 am

You can kill only the thieves using a D2X-XL specific cheat code - at the cost cheating comes at. That's all I will do. If you want to get rid of the thief, you've got to pay the price. ;)
User avatar
Yogi
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 1:12 pm

Re: Thief Bot config switch for D2

Post by Yogi » Tue May 09, 2006 12:53 pm

Aus-RED-5 wrote:
Yogi wrote:I did a search in the D2X forum and found no such suggestions: for D2, add a switch config setting to have thief bot in game (value of 1) or no thief bot in the game (value of zero). Would this be too much work Diedel?

Thanks,
Yogi
Isn't that like "cheating"? :P

Scared of him are ya?? :lol:
Thief bot is more a pain in my furry bottom than a real threat. I am trying to not waste ammo destroying the bot. And, besides, that thief bot sort of works on my guilty conscience - since I steal many pic-a-nic baskets with all kinds of goodies!

Yogi
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Tue May 09, 2006 1:49 pm

Hm ... I will make a switch that makes Yogi believe he can turn off the thief bot with, while in reality it makes a super thief using megas, stealing everything at once and being a huge major PITA (tm)! :mrgreen:
Weyrman
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:40 pm
Location: Brisbane Australia

Post by Weyrman » Tue May 09, 2006 2:03 pm

You forgot the diabolical laughter BWAA-HHHAA-HA-HA-HA!! :evil:

I have realized recently that std mines are quite effective against the thiefbot. Especially if you can chase him into a room with a single door on it. Lay a string of mines behind you as you go in and then chase him so that he tries to exit....at great speed....into waiting mines.....YES!!!!

Very satisfying! :wink:
Weyrman
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:40 pm
Location: Brisbane Australia

Post by Weyrman » Mon May 15, 2006 6:30 am

Is it possible to have the standard \"collect powerup\" sound when getting cloak and invulnerability items as inventory? It just seems a bit odd to assimilate them (insert your favourite BORG quote here) with no audio cue whatsoever.
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Mon May 15, 2006 7:17 am

Sure.
reetus
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 3:51 pm

Post by reetus » Tue Jun 20, 2006 5:18 am

Suggestions for both D1 and D2, either or...

I would like to see 4 keys, a green one added with corresponding secondary textures for green doors etc.

Guided missles in D1 (one can dream!)

A ricocheting weapon would be nice in D1 but I imagine that is asking a lot.I might as well just use D2 in this case.

I think I remember seeing this in the suggestion thread...The ability to toggle dual missle fire during gameplay without going to the options menu.

Object triggers in D1.

I know, I know.....just play D2! :roll:
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5437
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius » Tue Jun 20, 2006 5:31 am

Uh... yeah... because D1 with more weapons basically is D2.

You can re-balance them if that's what you're thinking, but other than that...
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Tue Jun 20, 2006 5:45 am

reetus wrote:I know, I know.....just play D2! :roll:
Exactly. ;)

You can always omit weapons and equipment you don't like from your levels, and in multiplayer from every level chosen if you are the game host.
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
Posts: 1604
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Post by Aus-RED-5 » Tue Jun 20, 2006 5:46 am

D1 should be what it is.... Descent 1.

Nothing more, end of story.

Add all you want to D2.

Just make most of it off by default or an option to turn it off and I'll be happy! ;)

Why another key?

Do we really need another key? :roll:
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Tue Jun 20, 2006 5:50 am

Aus-RED-5 wrote:Why another key?

Do we really need another key? :roll:
That would just be boring.

reetus,

If you want something new, create D2X-XL levels with riddles using switches, and put some of them into robots. ;)
User avatar
DizzyRox
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Sedalia
Contact:

Post by DizzyRox » Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:17 am

I wonder how hard it would be to incorporate the pilot pix zip from D3,or an organized new one maybe for newer players in XL.
I never really played online much, but the few times when i did it was kinda cool,,When killing/getting killed/and or comms their lil personal icon/avatar popped up.Along with them using personal audio taunts was pretty cool.
It sounds like it would be a tall request to fill though..and prolly created lag or twitchiness, i dunno, at the time I was lucky to get under a 500/700 ping and discos with our crappy ISP here, so it ALL lagged for me.
User avatar
Tim
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 11:15 pm
Contact:

Post by Tim » Fri Jun 23, 2006 3:40 pm

Could you make d2x-xl do one of two things
1: check to see if there is a d2x.ini and if not then create one
2: check to see if there is a custom.ini(or something like that) and of so use it instead of d2x.ini.
The point is so that I don't have to keep making sure not to overwrite my d2x.ini every time I install an update.
And please just make an \"enable cheats\" option in multiplayer.
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Fri Jun 23, 2006 5:02 pm

1. no
2. You can specify an alternate ini file using the cmd line (see my D2 site)
3. no
User avatar
DizzyRox
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Sedalia
Contact:

Post by DizzyRox » Sat Jun 24, 2006 7:10 am

A splash screen with Aus-RED-5 wallpaper,,
kinda like D13dfx had would be cool 8)
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
Posts: 1604
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Post by Aus-RED-5 » Sat Jun 24, 2006 9:41 am

hummm... yeah, a custom splash screen would be cool.
Is that possible Diedel?
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:22 am

If you explain to me what exactly you mean ...?
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
Posts: 1604
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Post by Aus-RED-5 » Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:53 am

A splash screen.
Just like what DLE-XP has.

When launching d2x-xl. It will show you a logo or custom pic before going to main menu.

Kinda like what Descent 1 3dfx version had.
When you launched the game, you got a 3dfx logo. Then a D1 3dfx pic and whatever else after that.
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Sat Jun 24, 2006 2:30 pm

Sure, you can make one.

But there is already that Interplay intro movie from the PSX D2 version available.

Ofc that doesn't mean a splash screen could be shown also.

Personally, I dislike splash screens and intro movies though. They just delay being able to access the game.
reetus
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 3:51 pm

Post by reetus » Sat Jun 24, 2006 7:45 pm

for D1 and D2, A power bar showing the health of the boss? Not for every robot, just the boss. It would be nice to know if he is almost dead. :)
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5437
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius » Sat Jun 24, 2006 10:42 pm

Uhm. Sounds like cheating to me.
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
Posts: 1604
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Post by Aus-RED-5 » Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:11 pm

Diedel wrote:Personally, I dislike splash screens and intro movies though. They just delay being able to access the game.
This is true. I don't care for them either. Just thought it could be a good option for some who might like it.
Just put this suggestion at the very bottum of the list of things to do. ;)
reetus wrote:for D1 and D2, A power bar showing the health of the boss? Not for every robot, just the boss. It would be nice to know if he is almost dead. :)
If such a thing was added. It should be a cheat command or an option to turn on or off in config. Like the options for "Show Robots on radar" and "Show powerups on radar". ;)
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Sun Jun 25, 2006 2:16 am

Sirius wrote:Uhm. Sounds like cheating to me.
Why should that be cheating. It doesn't make the Boss one bit weaker or more dead. It's just for you so that you know what effect your efforts have had so far. ;)
Weyrman
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:40 pm
Location: Brisbane Australia

Post by Weyrman » Sun Jun 25, 2006 6:18 am

When you use a cloak (and I think invuln) inventory item, you get the pickup sound. Could you keep the pickup sound but change the use sound to the original sound used before they became inventory items?

It just doesn't sound right!! Please..... :)
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Sun Jun 25, 2006 1:10 pm

No, it doesn't sound right, and it should sound properly. ;)
zif
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 9:56 pm

Re: D2X-XL suggestions thread

Post by zif » Thu Jul 20, 2006 6:53 am

Diedel wrote:This thread is intended for suggestions regarding D2X-XL - no bug reports, no questions here please.
I wasn't sure if this should be in Q&A or Suggestions, but here goes...

Can you please put the older OGL reticle back in as an option?
The one from before the v1.6.89 change "Improved: OpenGL reticle visuals"

Old & New...
ImageImage
If it's still available in there somewhere, can you tell me how to activate it (and my apologies for this being a question and in the wrong thread in that case).

*EDIT* Actually... I've just tried toggling -gl_reticle 1/0 again in v1.6.74 and v1.6.103 and compared the reticle and it seems to stay exactly the same in v1.6.103 no matter how the option is set. Maybe this is a bug instead? Or, am I doing something wrong?

Thanks,
Max
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
Posts: 1604
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Post by Aus-RED-5 » Thu Jul 20, 2006 7:13 am

did you try and apply the -gl_reticle 1 in the d2x.ini file as well?
zif
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 9:56 pm

Post by zif » Thu Jul 20, 2006 7:25 am

Aus-RED-5 wrote:did you try and apply the -gl_reticle 1 in the d2x.ini file as well?
Yeah, that was the only place I had previously messed with it. With it set as 0, 1 or even commented out I still get the same reticle. I've now tried it as a command-line parameter with no d2x.ini file... same thing.

Does the option work for you? Do you get different Bitmap and OGL reticles?
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
Posts: 1604
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Post by Aus-RED-5 » Thu Jul 20, 2006 7:35 am

nope. Not working for me.
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Thu Jul 20, 2006 8:15 am

-gl_reticle 2
zif
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 9:56 pm

Post by zif » Thu Jul 20, 2006 8:25 am

Diedel wrote:-gl_reticle 2
Tried that as well and there was no difference.

*EDIT* Ignore what I said here before about -gl_reticle being listed twice in the printlog.. that was my doing due to misuse of http://shellext.synesis.com.au/#merunprg). But I still get no reticle changes with -gl_reticle 0/1/2 though).
The Man
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 8:43 pm

Post by The Man » Fri Jul 21, 2006 9:37 am

Is the hi-poly pyro the only replacement model d2x-xl can handle? Would it be possible to use all the d3 power models as replacements and insert other d3 models?

Or has this been already implemented when the pyro replacement was made? I havnt checked.
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:17 am

Theoretically, hires models for all objects can be supported. I just need someone to create them and convert them to OOF format. D2X-XL doesn't currently support rotating or moving object parts for hires models though.

zif,

I just made the OpenGL reticle lines thicker, and I will not revert that. I think it looks much better than the old OpenGL reticle with its one pixel wide lines.
User avatar
d3jake
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1074
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:08 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: D2X-XL suggestions thread

Post by d3jake » Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:19 am

Diedel wrote:This thread is intended for suggestions regarding D2X-XL - no bug reports, no questions here please.
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:20 am

Ummm ... yeah. :P
zif
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 9:56 pm

Post by zif » Fri Jul 21, 2006 4:11 pm

Diedel wrote:I just made the OpenGL reticle lines thicker, and I will not revert that. I think it looks much better than the old OpenGL reticle with its one pixel wide lines.
Well what I see with -gl_reticle 1 or 2 enabled looks fat and ugly. The thinner version was much better.

Therefore; my suggestion/request for the re-implementation of the old reticle as an *option*, not a reversion, stands.
zif
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 9:56 pm

Re: D2X-XL suggestions thread

Post by zif » Fri Jul 21, 2006 4:13 pm

d3jake wrote:
Diedel wrote:This thread is intended for suggestions regarding D2X-XL - no bug reports, no questions here please.
Well fortunately it turns out that it was a suggestion, after all.
User avatar
d3jake
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1074
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:08 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Post by d3jake » Fri Jul 21, 2006 4:17 pm

:p
Diedel wrote:
Sirius wrote:Uhm. Sounds like cheating to me.
Why should that be cheating. It doesn't make the Boss one bit weaker or more dead. It's just for you so that you know what effect your efforts have had so far. ;)
So, what's the probability of this being added, or has it already?
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
Posts: 1604
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Post by Aus-RED-5 » Fri Jul 21, 2006 10:58 pm

zif wrote:
Diedel wrote:I just made the OpenGL reticle lines thicker, and I will not revert that. I think it looks much better than the old OpenGL reticle with its one pixel wide lines.
Well what I see with -gl_reticle 1 or 2 enabled looks fat and ugly. The thinner version was much better.

Therefore; my suggestion/request for the re-implementation of the old reticle as an *option*, not a reversion, stands.
If you know anything about editing the D2.hog file.
Why not just make your own reticle and save it to the hog file?

In the old days when I used to make levels. I added custom recticles to a pog file for that level.

I bet I could do better nowa days. ;)
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Sat Jul 22, 2006 3:23 am

d3jake wrote:Would there be a way to setup D2X so we can change what the GUide-Bot says? Like instead of I'm coining back to get you" it'll say, "i'm coiming back yo find your lard @$$" well...something like that...
You can edit descent.tex.eng and put it in the D2 or data folder under the name descent.tex.

I might add damage indicators for bots in the future, but no promises, only if I feel like it. ;)
Post Reply