D2X-XL Bug Reports - Mac OS X

D2X-XL - Descent II update for modern systems with many new features and enhanced graphics. Home Page

Moderators: Grendel, Aus-RED-5

User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Wed Jan 11, 2006 5:11 am

Before his disappearance, Lehm had described a faster lightmap generation method to me, but I couldn't get it to work ... :(
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
Posts: 1604
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Post by Aus-RED-5 » Wed Jan 11, 2006 5:15 am

Thats ok...
On my computer, it only take 1 to 3 seconds anyways. ;)
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Wed Jan 11, 2006 5:19 am

Ok. Now load my level Glass House and enable lightmaps. D'uh.
User avatar
Aus-RED-5
DBB Friend
DBB Friend
Posts: 1604
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:27 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Contact:

Post by Aus-RED-5 » Wed Jan 11, 2006 5:34 am

heh... took 1 second! :P
nahhh 13 seconds.

I have a possible bug report BTW.
Posting in the MS Windows thread. :)
User avatar
simX
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 7:21 am
Location: Bay Area, CA
Contact:

More bugs (probably not Mac OS X-specific)

Post by simX » Sat Jan 21, 2006 5:22 am

A few notes:

I've noticed that the brightness problem is still not fixed. When I load a saved game or start a new game in D2X-XL, the brightness is artificially high. However, when I display any menu while in-game, the brightness temporarily returns to normal. Then when I exit the menu and return the game, the brightness returns to being too high.

Also, I cannot start a new Descent 1 game. I noticed that shortly after 1.5.86, loading Descent 1 games stopped working. It works again now, at least for loading from saved Descent 1 games. Starting a new Descent 1 game does not work -- it says \"Prepare for Descent\", and then the screen goes black except for a few polygons that are visible.

One final thing: after shooting out lights, the light that was previously emanating from those lights continues to be emitted, even though there should be no more light coming from that location. (UPDATE: I take that back, it only happens on SOME levels. One specific level where this bug happens is level 17 in Descent 1. Maybe it's Descent 1-specific?)
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Sat Jan 21, 2006 10:10 am

Brightness bug: Cannot reproduce
D1 start mission bug: Had this, works now on Win32 + Linux
Light bug: Could be a level problem, as light deltas are precomputed. If that data is wrong, lights will continue to shine even if shot out. You could check that by loading such a level into DLE-XP, illuminating it, saving it (to another level), and shooting the lights in the modified level. If you need to extract a level from e.g. descent 1, use DLE-XPs module handler (gets launched when loading a hog file), and export all required files. Then create a new hog file and import these files.

Can you debug and check where the game hangs when starting a D1 mission?
User avatar
simX
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 7:21 am
Location: Bay Area, CA
Contact:

Re:

Post by simX » Sat Jan 21, 2006 3:10 pm

Diedel wrote:Brightness bug: Cannot reproduce
Hmm, is there any way to help you figure out where the problem is? I don't suppose the debug log would help.
Light bug: Could be a level problem, as light deltas are precomputed. If that data is wrong, lights will continue to shine even if shot out. You could check that by loading such a level into DLE-XP, illuminating it, saving it (to another level), and shooting the lights in the modified level. If you need to extract a level from e.g. descent 1, use DLE-XPs module handler (gets launched when loading a hog file), and export all required files. Then create a new hog file and import these files.
Well, as far as I know, DLE-XP doesn't run on Mac OS X, correct? It seemed to be only for Windows as far as I could tell.
D1 start mission bug: Had this, works now on Win32 + Linux. Can you debug and check where the game hangs when starting a D1 mission?
Hmm, that's weird. I can't reproduce the problem I described anymore (I didn't update the app, though). However, when I start a new Descent 1 game and start at any level, the textures are completely wrong.

You also asked me to test some custom levels with D2X-XL for Mac OS X. As expected, there are some major problems. Your glass house level, for example, fails to load at all -- it just stalls at the "Prepare for Descent" screen. There's a bunch of cfile_get_filehandle and cfile_find_hogfile errors about fonts. You can get the full debug log for this level at http://homepage.mac.com/simx/d2x-glass-house.log . The error that I get on the command-line is:

Code: Select all

Fatal signal: Bus Error (SDL Parachute Deployed)
There are also some in-level problems, not just level-load problems. For example, on Aquarium 2, I can successfully load the mission and play for a while, but there's a specific spot where I can always cause a crash: when entering the energy regeneration field (with the yellow sparklies). I get this error in the command line when it finally crashes:

Code: Select all

d2x-xl(12795,0xa000ed68) malloc: ***  Deallocation of a pointer not malloced: 0x1700; This could be a double free(), or free() called with the middle of an allocated block; Try setting environment variable MallocHelp to see tools to help debug
I remember this error being implicated in another bug where if you started a second mission in one D2X-XL session (without quitting the app in between missions), it would also crash with this error. (This problem doesn't seem to happen anymore, btw.)

The debug log from Aquarium 2 can be accessed at http://homepage.mac.com/simx/d2x-aquarium-2.log . Note that in this log, the last line:

Code: Select all

Error: Illegal side type in render_side, type = 16, segment # = 409, side # = 4
appeared hundreds of times, but I deleted the duplicate lines (except for three of them). Also, in both this log and the glass house log, I deleted the hundreds of lines that were complaining about d2x.hog not being present. (I left a set of three debug lines in both logs, but took out the duplicates.)
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Sat Jan 21, 2006 3:50 pm

Looks like all levels with custom textures have problems. Sigh - I need a Mac, but the way donations come, I will have one in 5 years from now. And I am not gonna buy one from my own money, because I really only need one to make the Mac D2X-XL users happy. Heck, even if someone around where I live would lend me one for two or four weeks would be sufficient ...
User avatar
simX
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 7:21 am
Location: Bay Area, CA
Contact:

Post by simX » Sat Jan 21, 2006 7:22 pm

Diedel --

One other thing: I've noticed in the MacUpdate/VersionTracker pages for D2X-XL, people are still having trouble taking two seconds to read the requirements and realizing that they need the original Descent 2 game disks to run D2X-XL. Perhaps instead of silently failing, you should present a menu that tells you that you need the original game data?

-- simX
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Sun Jan 22, 2006 3:23 am

Yes, I probably should. People can be so incredibly dumb.
Nikolai
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 11:09 am
Location: Kiev, Ukraine

Re:

Post by Nikolai » Sun Jan 22, 2006 10:06 am

Diedel wrote:I need a Mac, but the way donations come, I will have one in 5 years from now. And I am not gonna buy one from my own money, because I really only need one to make the Mac D2X-XL users happy. Heck, even if someone around where I live would lend me one for two or four weeks would be sufficient ...
As far as I know, Apple entered into alliance with Intel. And soon it will be possible to install MacOS X (future versions) on any PC with Intel CPU.
User avatar
simX
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 7:21 am
Location: Bay Area, CA
Contact:

Re:

Post by simX » Sun Jan 22, 2006 3:42 pm

Nikolai wrote:And soon it will be possible to install MacOS X (future versions) on any PC with Intel CPU.
Lol we've been through this before in another thread. Mac OS X on any PC will probably not happen anytime soon, for better or for worse.
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Sun Jan 22, 2006 4:19 pm

Afaik Apple will add some extra hardware to their Intel based computers to prevent OS X being executable on any other Intel hardware. If I look at how Apple treats their customers, I wonder whether I'd be better off with M$.
User avatar
simX
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 7:21 am
Location: Bay Area, CA
Contact:

Re:

Post by simX » Mon Jan 23, 2006 12:55 am

Diedel wrote:If I look at how Apple treats their customers, I wonder whether I'd be better off with M$.
Heh, as far as I'm concerned, I'll gladly sacrifice having to pay a bit extra for Apple's hardware to get an operating system that has zero viruses. That alone is worth the extra cost (not to mention so many other benefits).
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Mon Jan 23, 2006 4:08 am

It's not the price. Apple is on the forefront of applying DRM measures. I don't know of another company tieing their customers up that bad (apart from Sony, heh, but apparently they're too dumb :mrgreen: ).
User avatar
simX
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 7:21 am
Location: Bay Area, CA
Contact:

Re:

Post by simX » Mon Jan 23, 2006 4:19 am

Diedel wrote:It's not the price. Apple is on the forefront of applying DRM measures. I don't know of another company tieing their customers up that bad (apart from Sony, heh, but apparently they're too dumb :mrgreen: ).
Well, it's not like Microsoft is exactly innocent in this area either. Plus, you're still able to buy physical CDs -- you're not forced to buy anything from the iTMS. On the other hand, the RIAA would never have agreed to any sort of music store without DRM, and the iTMS DRM isn't that bad. In fact, you can strip it using iTunes simply by burning your music files to an Audio CD and then re-ripping them (you lose quality through this process, though).

I do agree that DRM as a concept is evil and I wish that no one had invented it. But I do enjoy using the iTMS because it's much more convenient than going to a record store. I guess DRM is the price of convenience, and some people are willing to make that trade-off.

I suppose you could also say that our patent system/copyright system/current laws are the root cause of the DRM problem, because without effectively infinite copyright periods, a crappy patent approval system, and fair use-hostile laws like the DMCA, DRM probably wouldn't have ever been invented.

But I suppose I'm preaching to the choir at this point, and I'm also muddying up a thread that's dedicated to something else, so I'll be quiet now.
User avatar
NineLives
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 1:12 pm

Post by NineLives » Fri Jan 27, 2006 6:36 am

My copy just plain isn't going into fullscreen.

My ini file reads...

-fullscreen

That's what I need, right?
User avatar
kaelan
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 2:51 pm
Contact:

Post by kaelan » Fri Jan 27, 2006 7:46 am

In theory, that should be the switch. Have you tried toggling it in the display options menu? I know that it has worked through there in the past. :)
User avatar
NineLives
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 1:12 pm

Post by NineLives » Fri Jan 27, 2006 5:42 pm

Oh I see. I didn't notice that if I scrolled all the way down in the menu [Options -> Screen Resolution] that there would be a fullscreen option.

Also, you have to checkmark it (hit the spacebar with it selected) and THEN press return. It will go to fullscreen after that. I was thinking it should go when I hit the box, but - meh. :)

Thanks for the help!
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Fri Jan 27, 2006 6:57 pm

Press Alt+Enter to toggle fullscreen at any time. If there is no Alt key on Mac keyboards, I will add Cmd+Enter (or so, there are special Mac keys used in the D2X-XL code).
User avatar
simX
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 7:21 am
Location: Bay Area, CA
Contact:

Post by simX » Fri Jan 27, 2006 7:26 pm

Diedel -- the Mac equivalent of the \"alt\" key is \"option\", and I stumbled inadvertently upon that feature and it works fine. Now if only you could rectify the space/enter problem with switching screen resolutions/full-screen mode... ;)
User avatar
NineLives
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 1:12 pm

Post by NineLives » Sat Jan 28, 2006 11:13 pm

D2 is working beautifully, thank you. My old GeForce 2 MX doesn't appear to handle some of the new lighting features, but that's fine.

D1 is another story. :)

With pig file
Image

Without pig file
Image

Without the pig may look fine, but on the first trial it crashed when I destroyed the first mine, and on the second I made it through the exit, but it said I died in the mine and then skipped level 2 and started me at level 3. :?

It's no big deal, as I like D2 much more anyways. Just felt I should report!
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Wed Feb 08, 2006 6:24 pm

Following message moved to proper thread:
mbellon wrote:1.5.110 crashes on startup for me. PowerMac G5 Quad 2.5 Ghz with 4.5 GB of RAM. The OS version is 10.4.4 and it's up to date as far as Apple is concerned.

I created a folder on my desktop for trying things out. Followed the instructions (used /Library/... for SDL) and grabbed the contents of Data from the Descent 2 CD.

If I can get this to work I'll be happy to make a nice donation!

Any advise?
Diedel
User avatar
kaelan
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 2:51 pm
Contact:

Post by kaelan » Wed Feb 08, 2006 6:45 pm

mbellon,

Are you using the data from the Mac version of Descent 2? I haven't been able to personally test the Mac data files, as I only have the dos/win95 version.
User avatar
simX
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 7:21 am
Location: Bay Area, CA
Contact:

Post by simX » Wed Feb 08, 2006 9:57 pm

Just for reference, my descent 1 textures are also looking like the messed up screenshot above when I have the descent.pig file in place. This didn't happen before, and is a pretty recent regression.

For reference, I have both the Mac data files for Descent 1 and Descent 2, and they've always worked fine (in both D2X and D2X-XL) up into the most recent iterations of D2X-XL. I can provide a download of them, if either diedel or kaelan wants to test them.
User avatar
kaelan
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 2:51 pm
Contact:

Post by kaelan » Wed Feb 08, 2006 10:17 pm

I'd love to have a set of Mac data to test with. Since it works right now, its not a big rush. But if you have the chance to post it up, PM the URL to me... or alternatively, I can setup an ftp account that you could upload it to (so that you don't need to use up your webspace).

As far as D1 textures, I know that they have looked fine in the past... I'll check it out again and see if I can find the source of the problem.

In regards to the Quad, I should be able to look into it further. I actually just got one a couple weeks ago. Haven't had a chance to try running D2X on it though. But it does compile fast... :D
User avatar
NineLives
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 1:12 pm

Post by NineLives » Thu Feb 09, 2006 4:03 am

The FMV sequences on the Mac are also different. Is there any interest in working those in as well?
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Thu Feb 09, 2006 4:10 am

The texture problem looks like a palette problem. simX, can you find out with which D2X-XL the problem started? I can give you source archives of most of the recent versions if you need them.

Imo getting networking and new level format to work on OS X would be more important though.

If I had a Mac ... :roll: ... most Mac users seem to be stingy. Maybe they're all broke because their hardware was so expensive. :P
User avatar
simX
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 7:21 am
Location: Bay Area, CA
Contact:

Re:

Post by simX » Fri Feb 10, 2006 5:59 am

Diedel wrote:The texture problem looks like a palette problem. simX, can you find out with which D2X-XL the problem started? I can give you source archives of most of the recent versions if you need them.

Imo getting networking and new level format to work on OS X would be more important though.

If I had a Mac ... :roll: ... most Mac users seem to be stingy. Maybe they're all broke because their hardware was so expensive. :P
I will try to figure out which version started the D1 palette problem. I do agree that networking and the new level format are higher priorities, but I don't see anything we can do at this point given that you don't have a Mac.
ansaytor
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 11:42 am

donating

Post by ansaytor » Fri Feb 17, 2006 4:40 pm

Hello All,
I'm new to the boards, have downloaded the osX version and have been playing around with it (ok, I'm on level 23, D1:) anyway, I'd really like to see multiplayer working . . . and would be willing to donate, however, after entering in a donate amount and clicking 'go' I get nothing. I've tried it in Safari and Firefox. There's probably a solution that I haven't had time to find and read . . .


Also, about how much are you short for a mini?
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Fri Feb 17, 2006 4:52 pm

You need to donate via Paypal, that's the only possibility currently.

I have received about USD 250 so far.

Dunno what a mini costs here though.
Vorn
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:20 pm

Post by Vorn » Tue Feb 21, 2006 9:07 pm

Several bugs, all from the latest version on OS X 10.3.9 with all the latest patches (as of the post date, 21 February):

1. there's no button in the options menu to set fullscreen.
2. -grabmouse grabs the mouse but does not properly let it go on exit: for the remainder of the session the mouse worked fine but the cursor was completely invisible, and I had to relaunch the entire WindowServer to get it back.
3. without -grabmouse, mouse control does not work properly: when the mouse hits the edge of the screen, you cannot turn more in that direction.
4. the Mouse Sensitivity slider on Controls doesn't stick - the slider can be modified, but does not remain at its position after you leave the screen the slider is on, and does not affect gameplay at all.
5. light mapping with lighted weapons fire, in D1 at least, doesn't work properly: weapons fire light /replaces/ other lights instead of adding to them.
6. I cannot connect to a server running on Windows or Linux on the latest; I get an error about the level data not matching, despite matching md5 sums.

I'm trying to build the latest, but I think I need to tell configure/make to use the OpenGL framework thing. Once I figure that out I'll be able to see what's left.
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Wed Feb 22, 2006 3:09 am

I have just uploaded v1.5.128 for OS X - try that one, it should address at least some of these issues.

You can toggle fullscreen anywhere in the program by pressing Alt+Enter.
Vorn
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:20 pm

Post by Vorn » Wed Feb 22, 2006 3:30 am

That one definitely doesn't work. playing Descent 1 shows no walls at all, but they still act like they're there - doors and monitors still activate when you shoot them, by the sound of things. Changing Wall Transparency in the options has no effect. Also the enemies are all still there and visible. Finally, it crashes to desktop after about 15 seconds of this. I have all the appropriate files from the Descent 1 CD.

I'm trying to figure out how on earth you built this; using the config files essentially assumes that I'm on Linux and tries to use OpenGL headers specific to X11 (GL/glx.h, for instance), but there's no xCode or PB files.
User avatar
simX
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 7:21 am
Location: Bay Area, CA
Contact:

Post by simX » Wed Feb 22, 2006 3:35 am

Vorn: There's an .xcodeproj file in there that allows you to build D2X-XL through Xcode. However, I am getting the same problem as Vorn: playing Descent 1 makes all walls completely black (you can still fly around a bit and kill baddies and stuff, the walls are just all black). Not sure if this is related to the previous texture bug or not, but it might. (It looks like the level works perfectly fine, because if you load level one and turn around, it still says \"this door can not be unlocked\" like it should.)

If this is an OS X specific bug, I'll look into figuring out which version caused the texture regression.

(Note: Descent 2 works perfectly fine.)
Vorn
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:20 pm

Post by Vorn » Wed Feb 22, 2006 3:48 am

okay, now that I've found the pbxproj file, what do I do with it? neither Project Builder nor X-Code seem to be able to do anything at all with it - Project Builder gets nowhere, and X-Code beeps at me but says nothing.
User avatar
simX
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 7:21 am
Location: Bay Area, CA
Contact:

Post by simX » Wed Feb 22, 2006 3:55 am

Are you downloading from the repository? There should be no \"pbxproj\" file -- you should see a \"xcodeproj\" file. You should be able to double-click that to open the D2X-XL project in Xcode.

[EDIT: Hmm. There actually IS a \"pbxproj\" file, but it's INSIDE the \"xcodeproj\" file. You should open the xcodeproj file, not show it's package contents.]
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Wed Feb 22, 2006 4:21 am

I have completely changed Descent 1 texture handling, and the black walls bug might be related to a problem in the code reading the texture index data. In your OS X project, some data structures have different sizes than in the Win32 version, and if I haven't got this all exactly right, you will have problems with the D1 textures on OS X. Dang. The function is main/piggy.c::D1_bm_read_game_data(). Problematic are all those places in this function where entire data structures are read using cfread().

simx, you could help me by giving me the following values from your Xcode generated D2X-XL version:

sizeof (jointpos)
sizeof (jointlist)
sizeof (D1_weapon_info)
sizeof (powerup_type_info)
sizeof (polymodel)
sizeof (player_ship)

(char*) &pm.model_data_size - (char*) &pm

There's so many Mac D2X-XL users (I've had thousands of downloads of the Mac version), but almost none of them donates some money, and I just cannot afford a Mac. Heck, it looks like we do not even have enough money to finish building our house.
Vorn
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:20 pm

Post by Vorn » Wed Feb 22, 2006 4:28 am

...repository? I'm just downloading the source folder from the main d2x-xl downloads page on descent2.de. I have a folder that is named d2x-xl.xcodeproj.

Also, the walls aren't black, the walls are invisible, like, you can't tell they're there at all unless you shoot them, and you can see monsters and the like through them.

And I'd send you money, Diedel, but the $20 in my wallet is all I have to my name.
User avatar
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Diedel » Wed Feb 22, 2006 4:41 am

Vorn,

thank you very much. 20$ is not bad. :)

Vorn,

if you can compile D2X-XL on OS X, can you get me the sizeof and offset data I have posted above? Just put some code like:

i = sizeof (jointpos);
i = sizeof (...);
...

in D1_bm_read_game_data(), set a breakpoint on the first sizeof statement, iterate them and note the numbers.
Post Reply