Help by OpenGL expert kindly requested

D2X-XL - Descent II update for modern systems with many new features and enhanced graphics. Home Page

Moderators: Grendel, Aus-RED-5

Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master

Help by OpenGL expert kindly requested

Post by Diedel »

As you may have noticed, frame rate drops dramatically in D2X-XL, particularly when pixel shaders are used (for lightmaps or hires-textures).

I am not an OpenGL expert, and I'd appreciate it very much if someone who knows something about this subject could take a look or two into D2X-XL (I'd gladly assist where I can) and give me hints where and how to improve performance.
pATCheS
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Post by pATCheS »

Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master

Post by Diedel »

The code isn't buggy. Rather conceptionally flawed.
Iceman
DBB Habitual Type Killer
DBB Habitual Type Killer

Post by Iceman »

gDebugger is more than a debugger. It is an OpenGL native optimization tool also. It can help you identify the problem areas of code so that you can concentate on them.
Diedel
D2X Master
D2X Master

Post by Diedel »

I tried it, but it's of no use to me.

As I said, the problems are rather conceptual.
pATCheS
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Post by pATCheS »

That program can help you identify what calls are expensive, as well as find and remove redundancies. You can also try some shader performance analysis tools and see what's slowing things up. nVidia has some excellent stuff in that department, but I don't know if it'll run on ATI hardware.

A fatal flaw D2X has in general is inefficient management of state. State changes have associated costs, and the most expensive state change by far is changing to a different texture. D2X changes textures pretty much for every single face drawn. Not a particularly good way to go about things.