DescentBB
http://www.descentbb.net/

Editing cubes?
http://www.descentbb.net/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=11218
Page 1 of 1

Author:  DarkFlameWolf [ Tue Oct 10, 2006 2:45 pm ]
Post subject:  Editing cubes?

Okay, so I open up DLE-XP for the very first time and am going to start editing my cube dimensions right? So I click on the saw and hammer button that usually brings up that 3x3 grid of cube editing buttons. But instead it just opens up a tab on the lower area of the editor all about cubes. But I do not see any easy editing cube buttons like there was originally. The only thing I could possible see you coudl edit are the point dimensions. Please tell me there is another way, editing every cube point by point would be tedious.

Author:  Aus-RED-5 [ Tue Oct 10, 2006 7:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Editing cubes?

DarkFlameWolf wrote:
Okay, so I open up DLE-XP for the very first time and am going to start editing my cube dimensions right? So I click on the saw and hammer button that usually brings up that 3x3 grid of cube editing buttons. But instead it just opens up a tab on the lower area of the editor all about cubes. But I do not see any easy editing cube buttons like there was originally. The only thing I could possible see you coudl edit are the point dimensions. Please tell me there is another way, editing every cube point by point would be tedious.

http://www.descentbb.net/viewtopic.php? ... c&start=60

Author:  DarkFlameWolf [ Tue Oct 10, 2006 7:33 pm ]
Post subject: 

not understanding what you're trying to say Red, the answer to my question isn't in that thread.... :?

Author:  Aus-RED-5 [ Tue Oct 10, 2006 9:37 pm ]
Post subject: 

Oh come on. :P

If you have ever used DMB2? You would know what to do from there.

I know the link isn't all of what you wanted. It will point you in the right dirrection though.

To edit the cube. Follow part of what is in that thread. The rest should be easy if you play around a bit with it.

Author:  DarkFlameWolf [ Wed Oct 11, 2006 5:43 am ]
Post subject: 

Okay, have you ever played Bahagad Outbreak or Lost Levels? I made those missions using DMB2. I think I can remember how to make levels with DMB2. However what I'm saying is, the edit toolbox button doesn't bring up what is usually normal to bring up and instead just directs me to the 'cube' tab on the bar below the 3d view. I can edit points easily enough by typing in their values, but would rather be editing faces than points at the moment. Maybe I'm not being clear enough as to what my problem is?

Author:  Aus-RED-5 [ Wed Oct 11, 2006 6:21 am ]
Post subject: 

OMG.
I've made missions too you know?
All but one with DMB2. ;)

With DLE-XP. The saw and hammer icon is NOT what you click on to enable the editor tool.

Did you even look at the pic in the link I posted above?

In that pic you would see how to enable the editor tool. :roll:

The rest should be easy enough. ;)

Here.. enlarge this image and look at the stuff in green.
Image

If you still don't get it?
Then do this.

DLE-XP
Click on >>>> \"view\" >>>>> \"editor tool bar\"
You can edit all the faces you want this way; \"old school\". ;)

That is what you want, yes?
Thought so...... :P


BTW - The image above is to show how to move objects with the edit tool.
You can do sides, lines, points, cubes, blocks, and objects as well.

Author:  DarkFlameWolf [ Wed Oct 11, 2006 7:03 am ]
Post subject: 

well curious as to why he made that change, it was odd clicking on the saw and hammer icon and not seeing that pop up.

Author:  Aus-RED-5 [ Wed Oct 11, 2006 7:10 am ]
Post subject: 

There is alot of changes using DLE-XP, but you'll get used to it. ;)

When using DLE-XP. Don't think of DMB2 in terms of layout.

Not everything is the same as you can see. :)

Author:  Aus-RED-5 [ Wed Oct 11, 2006 7:38 am ]
Post subject: 

BTW

DarkFlameWolf wrote:
well curious as to why he made that change, it was odd clicking on the saw and hammer icon and not seeing that pop up.

Make a suggestion in the DLE-XP Suggestion Thread for it to work that way.

I'm sure Diedel will make it so. ;)

He's a good man, he is. :mrgreen:

Author:  Diedel [ Thu Oct 12, 2006 5:04 am ]
Post subject: 

DarkFlameWolf wrote:
... what I'm saying is, the edit toolbox button doesn't bring up what is usually normal to bring up and instead just directs me to the 'cube' tab on the bar below the 3d view. I can edit points easily enough by typing in their values, but would rather be editing faces than points at the moment. Maybe I'm not being clear enough as to what my problem is?

Doesn't the cube tool contain all the stuff the edit toolbox did? If not -> bug.

Author:  DarkFlameWolf [ Thu Oct 12, 2006 5:12 am ]
Post subject: 

no actually it doesn't. It contains a few things more than the cube toolbox did, but it doesn't contain anything that small 3x3 button toolbox has. Regardless, there is a way to access it, so I'm happy.

Author:  Diedel [ Thu Oct 12, 2006 6:31 am ]
Post subject: 

So in DMB2, that icon activated that small editing pad?

Author:  Aus-RED-5 [ Thu Oct 12, 2006 4:32 pm ]
Post subject: 

Diedel wrote:
So in DMB2, that icon activated that small editing pad?
Yep. :)

Author:  DarkFlameWolf [ Thu Oct 12, 2006 5:52 pm ]
Post subject: 

so you can see my confusion when I pressed it and it brought up the lower cube toolbar and nowhere on the toolbar were those 9 buttons. LOL :D

Author:  Aus-RED-5 [ Thu Oct 12, 2006 8:21 pm ]
Post subject: 

DarkFlameWolf wrote:
so you can see my confusion when I pressed it and it brought up the lower cube toolbar and nowhere on the toolbar were those 9 buttons. LOL :D

Using DLE-XP v1.5.51.
The saw and hammer icon is set for "Prefereces" when it should be for the editor toolbar. At least that how its setup in DMB2. :)

Author:  DarkFlameWolf [ Thu Oct 12, 2006 8:25 pm ]
Post subject: 

oh, nice catch RED! Didn't notice that, the button doesn't even direct you to the correct function! lol

Author:  Aus-RED-5 [ Fri Oct 13, 2006 2:03 am ]
Post subject: 

Yep....
Lets keep in mind that this is a discussion. ;)

Not a suggestion nore a bug report.

I'll be happy to post such ideas and problems in the proper threads if need be.

For now I'm fine with the way it is. :)


although............... I do have some ideas...... :twisted:

Author:  Theftbot [ Fri Oct 13, 2006 7:55 pm ]
Post subject: 

Point edit is our friend :D

Thats what I use

Author:  Alter-Fox [ Tue May 27, 2008 11:27 am ]
Post subject: 

If you have a numpad, you can turn numlock on, and the numpad buttons will do the same thing as the edit box. It's even arranged so that the numbers are in the same positions as the buttons they imitate. I'm not sure if this was originally in DMB2, or if it's new in dle-xp, but it's what I always use, unless I'm using my laptop, which doesn't have a numpad. It saves a lot of clicking.

Author:  Sirius [ Tue May 27, 2008 3:53 pm ]
Post subject: 

You necroed this thread by about 2 years, but yes, it was in DMB2. And I've used it pretty much ever since I started making levels... :lol:

Author:  Alter-Fox [ Tue May 27, 2008 4:19 pm ]
Post subject: 

Oops! :P
(But I must have some wierd powers to bring dead topics back to life... after all, dead is dead, not to mention dead.)

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC-06:00
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/