* FAQ    * Search  * Register * Login 
View active topics
View unanswered posts

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Into Cerberon 0.0.1 \"Coal\" Released
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2006 10:44 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 8:22 pm
Posts: 99
Location: Toronto,Canada
The IC Team is pleased to announce the release of the first play-test version of our Doom 3 mod, Into Cerberon.

Image

This playable (basically ;)) release includes two maps, the Pyro GX ship model, lasers, the minigun, concussion missiles, and headlights. Multiplayer is functional... mostly. Doom 3 version 1.3 is required; the mod download is 17 MB.

Details as well as additional screenshots are available at the IC homepage:
http://www.chmodoplusr.com/IntoCerberon/

Main discussion thread for IC 0.0.1 \"Coal\":
http://www.chmodoplusr.com/IntoCerberon ... topic&t=96


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2006 10:47 pm 
Offline
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 24, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 4191
Location: Jacksonville Florida USA
No Joystick support, ouch!

_________________

I seem to have a better workout dodging your stupidity than attempting to grasp the weight of your intelligence.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2006 10:50 pm 
Online
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 8981
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA
Hey Bubba.

I talked to Gren and he was \"looking at it\". He rans across some things that might be \"possible solutions\". Mind you, he wasn't looking at it HARD. :)

I'll leave it at that as Gren wasn't lookin to comit to anything at the time and I don't want to put any more words in his mouth than I already have! :o


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2006 11:16 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 8:22 pm
Posts: 99
Location: Toronto,Canada
I have already begun looking at a way to hack DirectInput joystick control into Doom3, but for now we're focusing on somewhat more pressing issues such as \"having a game to play the joystick with\".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2006 11:56 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 9910
Location: Brisbane, Australia
PPJoy and PIE could be used for a temporary fix for your joystick problems.

http://www.geocities.com/deonvdw/Docs/PPJoyMain.htm
http://www.geocities.com/carl_a_kenner/pie.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 12:30 am 
Offline
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 30, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5775
Location: Isla Nublar
I can't seem to get it to work. I install it within the Doom 3 directory and have Doom 3 load the mod. The Into Cerberon title screen appears. If I go to New Game or start a game in multiplayer, I get the \"Loading\" screen, but before anything else happens, I'm kicked back to the Into Cerberon title. I'm running Doom 3 1.3. Any thoughts?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 12:45 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 8:22 pm
Posts: 99
Location: Toronto,Canada
The main menu is, shall we say, less than functional at this point. \"New Game\" won't work because there is no singleplayer. Starting a new multiplayer game also won't work because IC is mostly incompatible with the built-in DM maps, and the start-multiplayer menu doesn't show the IC maps.

You will pretty much have to rely on console commands and command-line options to get the mod rolling. Here's how to start an IC dedicated server, for example:

C:\\Doom3\\DOOM3DED.exe +set fs_game IntoCerberon +set si_pure 0 +si_map ic_whatever +spawnserver

(assuming you have Doom3 installed in C:\\Doom3). Type this into your start->run box or make a shortcut to it.

To connect to that server (note: you can run a dedicated server app and a client app on the same box), you would run:

C:\\Doom3\\DOOM3.exe +set fs_game IntoCerberon +connect localhost

Otherwise, to fool around by yourself in one of the maps, you should run something like:

C:\\Doom3\\DOOM3.exe +set fs_game IntoCerberon +map ic_whatever

and then use \"map ic_pipeline\" if you feel like checking out the other map.

IC 0.0.2 will have a considerably less broken menu/GUI system.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 12:46 am 
Offline
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 30, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5775
Location: Isla Nublar
Okay, I asked a Doom 3 friend and got it working. Following your readme, you should mention that by default, Doom 3's console isn't available from the title screen.

Start Doom 3 with a command line like:
\"C:\\Program Files\\Doom 3\\DOOM3.exe\" +com_allowConsole 1

Then, you can load the Into Cerberon mod and type \"map ic_pipeline\" or \"map ic_whatever\" (sans quotes) in the console to load the maps. :)

Pretty neat. Doom's nice bump mapped metal environments should suit a Descent-like world nicely.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 12:49 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 8:22 pm
Posts: 99
Location: Toronto,Canada
Right, sorry. I forget because I've put \"com_allowconsole 1\" in my auto-execute script for Doom3.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 1:36 am 
Online
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 8981
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA
Very nice start! minus obvious ouches..which we were forewarned about. :)

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 5:28 am 
Offline
D2X Master
D2X Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 5278
I think it's a very good move to give us something to play with even at such an early development state, and as Duper has said, we have received due warnings about its limitations, so:

Thank you! :)

Diedel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 7:20 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 11:18 am
Posts: 31
If I only had a Doom 3 game!!!! :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 10:34 am 
Online
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 8981
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA
its 20 bucks these days. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 10:43 am 
Offline
DBB_Master
DBB_Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 9282
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Got it working, looks cool. Can't wait for joy support and better lighting, I found the maps dark but I'm sure that just because it's an alpha.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 11:22 am 
Offline
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor

Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 12:49 am
Posts: 956
looks good... make it better soon!! :P


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:30 am 
Offline
3d Pro Master
3d Pro Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 3:01 am
Posts: 4082
Location: Corvallis OR, USA
Adding stick support to the Dm3 engine will be a pain in the neck. Quake 4 has native stick support, couldn't get it work very well tho (just played w/ it for 5min or so). Right now your best shots are

http://atzitznet.no-ip.org/Joy2Mouse3/
http://www.grapevine.dns2go.com/downloa ... /JoyToKey/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 2:05 am 
Offline
3d Pro Master
3d Pro Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 3:01 am
Posts: 4082
Location: Corvallis OR, USA
Here's a quick config for JoyToKey -- store the following code in Coal.cfg, start JoyToKey and select Coal. Wish I could map the rotaion to a 3rd mouse axis tho :)

Code:
[General]
FileVersion=37
NumberOfJoysticks=1
Use8Axes=1
UseDiagonalInput=0
UsePOV=1
Threshold=50
KeySendMode=0
[Joystick 1]
Axis1n=2,-100,   0,   0, 0, 0, 0,  0
Axis1p=2, 100,   0,   0, 0, 0, 0,  0
Axis2n=2,   0, 100,   0, 0, 0, 0,  0
Axis2p=2,   0,-100,   0, 0, 0, 0,  0
Axis3n=1, 57:00:00,  0
Axis3p=1, 53:00:00,  0
Axis4n=0
Axis4p=0
Axis5n=0
Axis5p=0
Axis6n=1, 51:00:00,  0
Axis6p=1, 45:00:00,  0
Axis7n=0
Axis7p=0
Axis8n=0
Axis8p=0
POV1-1=1, 20:00:00,  0
POV1-2=1, 44:00:00,  0
POV1-3=1, 43:00:00,  0
POV1-4=1, 41:00:00,  0
POV2-1=0
POV2-2=0
POV2-3=0
POV2-4=0
Up-Right=0
Up- Left=0
Dn- Left=0
Dn-Right=0
Button01=2,   0,   0,   0, 1, 0, 0,  0
Button02=0
Button03=1, DD:00:00,  0
Button04=1, DB:00:00,  0
Button05=0
Button06=0
Button07=0
Button08=0
Button09=0
Button10=0
Button11=0
Button12=0
Button13=0
Button14=0
Button15=0
Button16=0
Button17=0
Button18=0
Button19=0
Button20=0
Button21=0
Button22=0
Button23=0
Button24=0
Button25=0
Button26=0
Button27=0
Button28=0
Button29=0
Button30=0
Button31=0
Button32=0
[Joystick 2]
Axis1n=0
Axis1p=0
Axis2n=0
Axis2p=0
Axis3n=0
Axis3p=0
Axis4n=0
Axis4p=0
Axis5n=0
Axis5p=0
Axis6n=0
Axis6p=0
Axis7n=0
Axis7p=0
Axis8n=0
Axis8p=0
POV1-1=0
POV1-2=0
POV1-3=0
POV1-4=0
POV2-1=0
POV2-2=0
POV2-3=0
POV2-4=0
Up-Right=0
Up- Left=0
Dn- Left=0
Dn-Right=0
Button01=0
Button02=0
Button03=0
Button04=0
Button05=0
Button06=0
Button07=0
Button08=0
Button09=0
Button10=0
Button11=0
Button12=0
Button13=0
Button14=0
Button15=0
Button16=0
Button17=0
Button18=0
Button19=0
Button20=0
Button21=0
Button22=0
Button23=0
Button24=0
Button25=0
Button26=0
Button27=0
Button28=0
Button29=0
Button30=0
Button31=0
Button32=0


Note: config is for a M$ 3D Pro on USB. Slider maps to W/S, rotation to E/Q, button 2 to ] and button 3 to [. Rest is standard..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 5:40 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2001 2:01 am
Posts: 990
Location: Tacoma, Wa, USA
HeXetic wrote:
I have already begun looking at a way to hack DirectInput joystick control into Doom3, but for now we're focusing on somewhat more pressing issues such as "having a game to play the joystick with".


LOL, good point. :) I think I may have mentioned this also.

_________________
(20:12) STRESSTEST: Im actually innocent this time


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 8:20 pm 
Offline
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 2448
Location: CANADA!!!!!!!
I just had to come back by when a buddy (CDN_Dan if anyone remembers him) told me about this. Guess it's time to install Doom3 again...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 6:57 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2001 2:01 am
Posts: 990
Location: Tacoma, Wa, USA
Things are pretty quiet here, any news Hex?

_________________
(20:12) STRESSTEST: Im actually innocent this time


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 7:58 pm 
Online
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 8981
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA
They had a few hangups and the .0.0.2 patch has been set back a smidge. That and something called Oblivion??? :?
;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 10:31 pm 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2001 2:01 am
Posts: 1189
Location: Rural Mississippi, USA
VonVulcan wrote:
Things are pretty quiet here, any news Hex?


I'm surprised Mobius hasn't said something.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 11:24 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 8:22 pm
Posts: 99
Location: Toronto,Canada
Yeah, we've stalled a bit due to Other Factors (iceheart's computer died, repeatedly, I've been busy with some other projects, etc.), but we're still working. Behold:

Image
Image

(the second one is a shot from the game, but was edited in Photoshop to add the motion blur).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 11:35 am 
Offline
DBB Co-Founder
DBB Co-Founder
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 10132
Location: Houston, TX USA
Hex,

http://www6DoFBB.net is about ready for you too ...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 4:15 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 473
Location: Dallas, TX
Ooooh..... YUMMY! Quit playing Oblivion and get to work! ;p

Though I don't blame you... took me from Oblivion's release straight through to about 3 or 4 days ago to finally get burned out enough to do something else.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Descent'rs have piloted these pages
 
The layout and contents contained within this site are © DescentBB.net 1997-2006.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is Outrage Entertainment.
Descent is a Trademark of Interplay Productions.

Miner Wars™ is trademark of Keen Software House s. r. o.
.


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group