Page 1 of 1

Gametype compatibility keywords for level?

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 12:39 pm
by Foil
I'm almost done with the code for a new D3 gametype (a new .d3m) I'm developing. I don't want to give away the details yet, so let's call it \"FoilGame\".

Anyway, someone who is designing a level for this new gametype asked me, \"What should I put in for the compatibility keyword? (i.e. The thing that says which gametypes a level is compatible with.)\" Honestly, I have no idea, since my knowledge of D3Edit and level design is minimal.

In the code, I have the gametype string as \"FoilGame\", and I built a function that validates whether the level has all the right rooms/objects/etc. But I don't know where that compatibility keyword (in D3Edit in the Quicktest window, I'm told) comes into play.

Can someone fill me in on this?

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 1:17 pm
by Floyd
that keyword has to be manually added within the msn file, it can be done with the editor (quicktest/mn3-edit). note that it can be only a single word, not two, at least i haven't gotten more than one to work.
checking for the rooms and/or objects isn't necessary, since it will quit if the keyword is not found. though it's good practice to write such functions ;).
you MIGHT have to add that keyword to the keyword check, though i don't remember that being necessary.

Re:

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 1:36 pm
by Foil
Floyd wrote:checking for the rooms and/or objects isn't necessary, since it will quit if the keyword is not found. though it's good practice to write such functions ;).
The entropy code does just that; I'm doing something similar.
Floyd wrote:you MIGHT have to add that keyword to the keyword check, though i don't remember that being necessary.
Keyword check? Hmm, maybe I just missed it. Can you point me to it in the D3-SDK Anarchy code (which is what I am using as a base)?

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 1:56 pm
by Floyd

Code: Select all

void DLLFUNCCALL DLLGetGameInfo (tDLLOptions *options)
...
strcpy(options->requirements,\"\");		// the MSN file KEYWORD requirements
...
fill your mod name into the empty string, that's it :).

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 2:09 pm
by Foil
Ah, thanks! :D

I think I may have already done that, in fact. For some reason, I was thinking that line referred to the name which shows up in game browsers/trackers. :roll: