IE fix

For all coding issues - MODers and programmers, HTML and more.

Moderators: Jeff250, fliptw

Post Reply
User avatar
Isaac
DBB Artist
DBB Artist
Posts: 7127
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 8:47 am
Location: Ơ̸̦͇̲̬̭̱̰͎̞͈̣͎͚̳ͬ͋̃̀̇͊͂͋͐ͦ̽ͣ̂ͥ͊̅̀̚͠ B̶͖̯͉̜̰̲̓̔͋̈́ͅ È̯ Y̪̤̼͉̠̙͝

IE fix

Post by Isaac » Sun Jun 26, 2011 12:40 pm

So this is really good if you want your stuff to look right in IE. I'm not sure exactly what this even is, but it makes a huge difference.

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.1//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml11/DTD/xhtml11.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en">
It must go at the very top, above <html>.
s☼-£♦и̫͍ͥ̍ͪ͌̓͗͡о̡̹̱͊̅ͮ̓̕͢б̧̝̻̪̤̳̜͐̓̉ͤ͢͜ ͙̬͙̆̑ͮ̐ͭ̾̂́͘i̎̌̾̓̽̀̈̓̀҉͉̙̦͎̘̝͕f̻͕͔̘ͣͣ̓͊̿͢͜ ͍͔͈͕̮̫ͣ̆ͮ̊͋/♂6Æ!♪╩"▲L└уͭ̂͐̇҉̴̣̼̞̠̯͓̺̞ф̜̊͌̈́̋̏̐́ц̨͔̮̿̇ ̨̛͖̙͖̖̮̗̱ͩ̆͞ͅа̥͇̞̖͚̟̅͐ͤ͞͠͠э̜̘̩̳̬͔̾ͯ̀ͫ̒̐̿ͅͅг̭̖̀ͦ̒̑ͥ̌ͮͫ͞ё͔̟̃ͬ̾̓͟ё̦̞̙̫͔̩͑̀͂ͯ̄̔̃̑̀͠ͅͅ
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5435
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Re: IE fix

Post by Sirius » Sun Jun 26, 2011 2:10 pm

It's an XML document type definition... basically declares that it's an XML document and a few other things. Technically it's required for valid XHTML.
User avatar
Isaac
DBB Artist
DBB Artist
Posts: 7127
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 8:47 am
Location: Ơ̸̦͇̲̬̭̱̰͎̞͈̣͎͚̳ͬ͋̃̀̇͊͂͋͐ͦ̽ͣ̂ͥ͊̅̀̚͠ B̶͖̯͉̜̰̲̓̔͋̈́ͅ È̯ Y̪̤̼͉̠̙͝

Re: IE fix

Post by Isaac » Sun Jun 26, 2011 2:18 pm

Ha! That's good to know, though I'm still not sure why it helps css so much.
s☼-£♦и̫͍ͥ̍ͪ͌̓͗͡о̡̹̱͊̅ͮ̓̕͢б̧̝̻̪̤̳̜͐̓̉ͤ͢͜ ͙̬͙̆̑ͮ̐ͭ̾̂́͘i̎̌̾̓̽̀̈̓̀҉͉̙̦͎̘̝͕f̻͕͔̘ͣͣ̓͊̿͢͜ ͍͔͈͕̮̫ͣ̆ͮ̊͋/♂6Æ!♪╩"▲L└уͭ̂͐̇҉̴̣̼̞̠̯͓̺̞ф̜̊͌̈́̋̏̐́ц̨͔̮̿̇ ̨̛͖̙͖̖̮̗̱ͩ̆͞ͅа̥͇̞̖͚̟̅͐ͤ͞͠͠э̜̘̩̳̬͔̾ͯ̀ͫ̒̐̿ͅͅг̭̖̀ͦ̒̑ͥ̌ͮͫ͞ё͔̟̃ͬ̾̓͟ё̦̞̙̫͔̩͑̀͂ͯ̄̔̃̑̀͠ͅͅ
User avatar
Krom
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
Posts: 15181
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
Contact:

Re: IE fix

Post by Krom » Sun Jun 26, 2011 2:25 pm

Because it kicks newer versions of IE into a higher compliance mode. I not entirely sure, but its unlikely that will work for most versions (might be a newer feature as of version 9).
User avatar
Jeff250
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 6387
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 1999 2:01 am
Location: ☃☃☃

Re: IE fix

Post by Jeff250 » Sun Jun 26, 2011 3:21 pm

Remember in the other thread when I suggested you start declaring a doctype so that, among other things, IE would be less horrible at rendering things? ;) It works at least as far back as IE 6 to get it out of "quirks" mode. For IE, it just requires any doctype.

You probably don't want XHTML 1.1 though, since it requires delivering your documents with an XML mime type, which IE6 prompts people to download as a file (gah) instead of view. XHTML 1.0 doesn't require this--you can use an HTML mime type. Consider HTML 5 as well, which also supports (but does not require) XML syntax. Regardless, make sure you make this happy:
http://validator.w3.org/
User avatar
Isaac
DBB Artist
DBB Artist
Posts: 7127
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 8:47 am
Location: Ơ̸̦͇̲̬̭̱̰͎̞͈̣͎͚̳ͬ͋̃̀̇͊͂͋͐ͦ̽ͣ̂ͥ͊̅̀̚͠ B̶͖̯͉̜̰̲̓̔͋̈́ͅ È̯ Y̪̤̼͉̠̙͝

Re: IE fix

Post by Isaac » Sun Jun 26, 2011 3:26 pm

Jeff250 wrote:Remember in the other thread when I suggested you start declaring a doctype so that, among other things, IE would be less horrible at rendering things? ;)
Yes I do! And I should have taken care of this a long time ago when you told me!

Jeff250 wrote: It works at least as far back as IE 6 to get it out of "quirks" mode. For IE, it just requires any doctype.

You probably don't want XHTML 1.1 though, since it requires delivering your documents with an XML mime type, which IE6 prompts people to download as a file (gah) instead of view. XHTML 1.0 doesn't require this--you can use an HTML mime type. Consider HTML 5 as well, which also supports (but does not require) XML syntax. Regardless, make sure you make this happy:
http://validator.w3.org/
omg... 46 errors...
s☼-£♦и̫͍ͥ̍ͪ͌̓͗͡о̡̹̱͊̅ͮ̓̕͢б̧̝̻̪̤̳̜͐̓̉ͤ͢͜ ͙̬͙̆̑ͮ̐ͭ̾̂́͘i̎̌̾̓̽̀̈̓̀҉͉̙̦͎̘̝͕f̻͕͔̘ͣͣ̓͊̿͢͜ ͍͔͈͕̮̫ͣ̆ͮ̊͋/♂6Æ!♪╩"▲L└уͭ̂͐̇҉̴̣̼̞̠̯͓̺̞ф̜̊͌̈́̋̏̐́ц̨͔̮̿̇ ̨̛͖̙͖̖̮̗̱ͩ̆͞ͅа̥͇̞̖͚̟̅͐ͤ͞͠͠э̜̘̩̳̬͔̾ͯ̀ͫ̒̐̿ͅͅг̭̖̀ͦ̒̑ͥ̌ͮͫ͞ё͔̟̃ͬ̾̓͟ё̦̞̙̫͔̩͑̀͂ͯ̄̔̃̑̀͠ͅͅ
User avatar
Jeff250
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 6387
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 1999 2:01 am
Location: ☃☃☃

Re: IE fix

Post by Jeff250 » Sun Jun 26, 2011 3:33 pm

It's probably not really that bad. Start with the one on the top, since that one could be cascading "errors" all the way down. You may also need to go doctype shopping for something more lenient.
User avatar
Isaac
DBB Artist
DBB Artist
Posts: 7127
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 8:47 am
Location: Ơ̸̦͇̲̬̭̱̰͎̞͈̣͎͚̳ͬ͋̃̀̇͊͂͋͐ͦ̽ͣ̂ͥ͊̅̀̚͠ B̶͖̯͉̜̰̲̓̔͋̈́ͅ È̯ Y̪̤̼͉̠̙͝

Re: IE fix

Post by Isaac » Sun Jun 26, 2011 3:39 pm

Like this one, right?

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
s☼-£♦и̫͍ͥ̍ͪ͌̓͗͡о̡̹̱͊̅ͮ̓̕͢б̧̝̻̪̤̳̜͐̓̉ͤ͢͜ ͙̬͙̆̑ͮ̐ͭ̾̂́͘i̎̌̾̓̽̀̈̓̀҉͉̙̦͎̘̝͕f̻͕͔̘ͣͣ̓͊̿͢͜ ͍͔͈͕̮̫ͣ̆ͮ̊͋/♂6Æ!♪╩"▲L└уͭ̂͐̇҉̴̣̼̞̠̯͓̺̞ф̜̊͌̈́̋̏̐́ц̨͔̮̿̇ ̨̛͖̙͖̖̮̗̱ͩ̆͞ͅа̥͇̞̖͚̟̅͐ͤ͞͠͠э̜̘̩̳̬͔̾ͯ̀ͫ̒̐̿ͅͅг̭̖̀ͦ̒̑ͥ̌ͮͫ͞ё͔̟̃ͬ̾̓͟ё̦̞̙̫͔̩͑̀͂ͯ̄̔̃̑̀͠ͅͅ
User avatar
Jeff250
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 6387
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 1999 2:01 am
Location: ☃☃☃

Re: IE fix

Post by Jeff250 » Sun Jun 26, 2011 3:54 pm

Perhaps, or HTML 5. The problem with Transitional is that you can still get less strict rendering depending on the browser (still not as bad as declaring nothing).
User avatar
Isaac
DBB Artist
DBB Artist
Posts: 7127
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 8:47 am
Location: Ơ̸̦͇̲̬̭̱̰͎̞͈̣͎͚̳ͬ͋̃̀̇͊͂͋͐ͦ̽ͣ̂ͥ͊̅̀̚͠ B̶͖̯͉̜̰̲̓̔͋̈́ͅ È̯ Y̪̤̼͉̠̙͝

Re: IE fix

Post by Isaac » Sun Jun 26, 2011 6:17 pm

Hmm.. the html5 doc type looks really simple:
<!DOCTYPE HTML>
s☼-£♦и̫͍ͥ̍ͪ͌̓͗͡о̡̹̱͊̅ͮ̓̕͢б̧̝̻̪̤̳̜͐̓̉ͤ͢͜ ͙̬͙̆̑ͮ̐ͭ̾̂́͘i̎̌̾̓̽̀̈̓̀҉͉̙̦͎̘̝͕f̻͕͔̘ͣͣ̓͊̿͢͜ ͍͔͈͕̮̫ͣ̆ͮ̊͋/♂6Æ!♪╩"▲L└уͭ̂͐̇҉̴̣̼̞̠̯͓̺̞ф̜̊͌̈́̋̏̐́ц̨͔̮̿̇ ̨̛͖̙͖̖̮̗̱ͩ̆͞ͅа̥͇̞̖͚̟̅͐ͤ͞͠͠э̜̘̩̳̬͔̾ͯ̀ͫ̒̐̿ͅͅг̭̖̀ͦ̒̑ͥ̌ͮͫ͞ё͔̟̃ͬ̾̓͟ё̦̞̙̫͔̩͑̀͂ͯ̄̔̃̑̀͠ͅͅ
User avatar
fliptw
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
Posts: 6415
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 1998 2:01 am
Location: Calgary Alberta Canada

Re: IE fix

Post by fliptw » Sun Jun 26, 2011 7:39 pm

as it should, as the standard technically isn't finished.

Do HTML 4 strict.
User avatar
Jeff250
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 6387
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 1999 2:01 am
Location: ☃☃☃

Re: IE fix

Post by Jeff250 » Sun Jun 26, 2011 10:40 pm

The simplicity of the HTML 5 doctype has nothing to do with the standard not technically being finished. That's the doctype. It's simple by design.
User avatar
Isaac
DBB Artist
DBB Artist
Posts: 7127
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 8:47 am
Location: Ơ̸̦͇̲̬̭̱̰͎̞͈̣͎͚̳ͬ͋̃̀̇͊͂͋͐ͦ̽ͣ̂ͥ͊̅̀̚͠ B̶͖̯͉̜̰̲̓̔͋̈́ͅ È̯ Y̪̤̼͉̠̙͝

Re: IE fix

Post by Isaac » Mon Jun 27, 2011 8:28 am

Ok, I tested the <!DOCTYPE HTML> doctype tag on IE6, IE7, and IE8. It works on all of them! By that I mean, all my css controlled layouts are consistent! Yeah, this by far the best alternative, simply because I have it memorized, unlike the other doctypes. Thanks Jeff!
s☼-£♦и̫͍ͥ̍ͪ͌̓͗͡о̡̹̱͊̅ͮ̓̕͢б̧̝̻̪̤̳̜͐̓̉ͤ͢͜ ͙̬͙̆̑ͮ̐ͭ̾̂́͘i̎̌̾̓̽̀̈̓̀҉͉̙̦͎̘̝͕f̻͕͔̘ͣͣ̓͊̿͢͜ ͍͔͈͕̮̫ͣ̆ͮ̊͋/♂6Æ!♪╩"▲L└уͭ̂͐̇҉̴̣̼̞̠̯͓̺̞ф̜̊͌̈́̋̏̐́ц̨͔̮̿̇ ̨̛͖̙͖̖̮̗̱ͩ̆͞ͅа̥͇̞̖͚̟̅͐ͤ͞͠͠э̜̘̩̳̬͔̾ͯ̀ͫ̒̐̿ͅͅг̭̖̀ͦ̒̑ͥ̌ͮͫ͞ё͔̟̃ͬ̾̓͟ё̦̞̙̫͔̩͑̀͂ͯ̄̔̃̑̀͠ͅͅ
User avatar
Isaac
DBB Artist
DBB Artist
Posts: 7127
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 8:47 am
Location: Ơ̸̦͇̲̬̭̱̰͎̞͈̣͎͚̳ͬ͋̃̀̇͊͂͋͐ͦ̽ͣ̂ͥ͊̅̀̚͠ B̶͖̯͉̜̰̲̓̔͋̈́ͅ È̯ Y̪̤̼͉̠̙͝

Re: IE fix

Post by Isaac » Mon Jun 27, 2011 1:02 pm

fliptw wrote:Do HTML 4 strict.
I'll try that for sure! I've seen it, but I haven't used it.





=======================================

Question to all:

Is ajax generally not used by IE8 systems, by default? Is it also something that Internet security systems block? I was at a lab today and my comment box wouldn't work. I'll have to spend time on this later to understand why this happened for my setup, but I thought it wouldn't hurt to ask. I did a search and found that there is some incompatibility in some cases, but I always assumed that ajax is something all desktop browsers used, even IE.
s☼-£♦и̫͍ͥ̍ͪ͌̓͗͡о̡̹̱͊̅ͮ̓̕͢б̧̝̻̪̤̳̜͐̓̉ͤ͢͜ ͙̬͙̆̑ͮ̐ͭ̾̂́͘i̎̌̾̓̽̀̈̓̀҉͉̙̦͎̘̝͕f̻͕͔̘ͣͣ̓͊̿͢͜ ͍͔͈͕̮̫ͣ̆ͮ̊͋/♂6Æ!♪╩"▲L└уͭ̂͐̇҉̴̣̼̞̠̯͓̺̞ф̜̊͌̈́̋̏̐́ц̨͔̮̿̇ ̨̛͖̙͖̖̮̗̱ͩ̆͞ͅа̥͇̞̖͚̟̅͐ͤ͞͠͠э̜̘̩̳̬͔̾ͯ̀ͫ̒̐̿ͅͅг̭̖̀ͦ̒̑ͥ̌ͮͫ͞ё͔̟̃ͬ̾̓͟ё̦̞̙̫͔̩͑̀͂ͯ̄̔̃̑̀͠ͅͅ
User avatar
Jeff250
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 6387
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 1999 2:01 am
Location: ☃☃☃

Re: IE fix

Post by Jeff250 » Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:37 pm

In general, it should work. The issue sounds specific to your lab machine or your code.
User avatar
Isaac
DBB Artist
DBB Artist
Posts: 7127
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 8:47 am
Location: Ơ̸̦͇̲̬̭̱̰͎̞͈̣͎͚̳ͬ͋̃̀̇͊͂͋͐ͦ̽ͣ̂ͥ͊̅̀̚͠ B̶͖̯͉̜̰̲̓̔͋̈́ͅ È̯ Y̪̤̼͉̠̙͝

Re: IE fix

Post by Isaac » Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:39 pm

I'd bet it's my code... I hope its my code; that I can fix.
s☼-£♦и̫͍ͥ̍ͪ͌̓͗͡о̡̹̱͊̅ͮ̓̕͢б̧̝̻̪̤̳̜͐̓̉ͤ͢͜ ͙̬͙̆̑ͮ̐ͭ̾̂́͘i̎̌̾̓̽̀̈̓̀҉͉̙̦͎̘̝͕f̻͕͔̘ͣͣ̓͊̿͢͜ ͍͔͈͕̮̫ͣ̆ͮ̊͋/♂6Æ!♪╩"▲L└уͭ̂͐̇҉̴̣̼̞̠̯͓̺̞ф̜̊͌̈́̋̏̐́ц̨͔̮̿̇ ̨̛͖̙͖̖̮̗̱ͩ̆͞ͅа̥͇̞̖͚̟̅͐ͤ͞͠͠э̜̘̩̳̬͔̾ͯ̀ͫ̒̐̿ͅͅг̭̖̀ͦ̒̑ͥ̌ͮͫ͞ё͔̟̃ͬ̾̓͟ё̦̞̙̫͔̩͑̀͂ͯ̄̔̃̑̀͠ͅͅ
User avatar
fliptw
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
Posts: 6415
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 1998 2:01 am
Location: Calgary Alberta Canada

Re: IE fix

Post by fliptw » Mon Jun 27, 2011 10:59 pm

I wouldn't be surprised they got that locked down at your lab.
User avatar
Thenior
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 9:40 am

Re: IE fix

Post by Thenior » Thu Aug 04, 2011 8:08 am

fliptw wrote:I wouldn't be surprised they got that locked down at your lab.
By "it", they probably just have javascript blocked - since ajax is just javascript making page requests.
Post Reply