Problems with compiling

For all coding issues - MODers and programmers, HTML and more.

Moderators: Jeff250, fliptw

Post Reply
User avatar
Black Widow
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Holland

Problems with compiling

Post by Black Widow »

I have a modified version of anarchy.cpp that needs to be compiled, but whenever I try to compile it get the following errors:

Virtual GCC Compiler layer for Descent 3
Copyright 1999 Outrage Entertainment
Source: "c:\games\d3sdk\osiris\insanity.cpp"
Output: "c:\games\d3sdk\osiris\insanity.dll"
DLLinit: "C:\Games\D3sdk\osiris\dllinit.c"
Debug Info: C7
Warning Level: 3
DLL Type: Game Script
Using gcc.exe found in C:\Games\egsc-1.1.2\bin
Warning: C7/COFF Debug information not supported, using gcc default debug info
c:\games\d3sdk\osiris\insanity.cpp:47: idmfc.h: No such file or directory
In file included from c:\games\d3sdk\osiris\insanity.cpp:48:
c:\games\d3sdk\osiris\Insanity.h:44: osiris_share.h: No such file or directory
c:\games\d3sdk\osiris\Insanity.h:45: d3events.h: No such file or directory
Error compiling "c:\games\d3sdk\osiris\insanity.cpp"

All the files it saids are missing are right where the are supposed to be. Anyone know how to solve this?
User avatar
DCrazy
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
Posts: 8826
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2000 3:01 am
Location: Seattle

Post by DCrazy »

When you set up GCC, were you sure to properly set your include path environment variable to include the D3SDK's include directory?
User avatar
Black Widow
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Holland

Post by Black Widow »

I've just done that, and it works now, but it only compiles to a .o file.
User avatar
Sirius
DBB Master
DBB Master
Posts: 5616
Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Post by Sirius »

...which means it's not linking it.

I don't remember how the thing is used any more, but you may want to look at your command-line options. If D3Edit gives you those.
User avatar
DCrazy
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
Posts: 8826
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2000 3:01 am
Location: Seattle

Post by DCrazy »

You need to specify the location of the D3 libraries in your library path environment variable as well, or, like Sirius said, edit the command line options to include -l<library name> -l<library name> etc.
Post Reply