Belkin n52 not showing in Loadout Manager

For system help, all hardware / software topics NOTE: use Coders Corner for all coders topics.

Moderators: Krom, Grendel

Post Reply
User avatar
WarAdvocat
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2996
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL USA

Belkin n52 not showing in Loadout Manager

Post by WarAdvocat » Sun Dec 28, 2003 12:47 pm

I have been using the Belkin N52 in default config since I got it and now that I want to add some macros, bells and whistles etc, I can't...

Under WinXP, my Belkin n52 Speedpad isn't showing as a valid option in the loadout manager ** screenshot: http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2002-3/15236/NLMn52.jpg...and it's not showing in the game controllers control panel either...

I've already searched Belkin's site and haven't found anything, I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling etc. etc., no luck so far...

Anyone run across similar issues and get them resolved?
User avatar
DCrazy
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
Posts: 8826
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2000 3:01 am
Location: Seattle

Post by DCrazy » Sun Dec 28, 2003 1:06 pm

Make sure you are running version 2.5 or higher of the Loadout Manager. Version 3.0 is available here and mentions a bug in versions less than 2.4 which made it impossible to auto-detect the speedpad.
Akasha
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 2:01 am

Post by Akasha » Sun Dec 28, 2003 1:12 pm

Man, the n52 was such a great idea, but I hate it! The keys are too hard to press down, and the afterburner button is a b!tch. heh I'm already trying to return mine for a refund.
User avatar
STRESSTEST
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
Posts: 6574
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am

Post by STRESSTEST » Sun Dec 28, 2003 1:14 pm

Mine just started doing this too. Although it really only affected the 8way hat in game play, it defaults back to the arrowkeays, so I changed my game config.. I haven't bothered to explore what happened.

Come to think about it, it happened when I went to Klay's lan. Maybe I plugged it in to another USB port and the software binds to the one it originally detects? Long shot I know... Have you unplugged it and possibly changed ports?
User avatar
DCrazy
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
Posts: 8826
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2000 3:01 am
Location: Seattle

Post by DCrazy » Sun Dec 28, 2003 1:28 pm

Tell me if the new software works; up until I read this thread I was 99% decided on buying one. Image
User avatar
WarAdvocat
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2996
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL USA

Post by WarAdvocat » Sun Dec 28, 2003 7:09 pm

well, just for the record...

I decided to RTFM again...Apparently I did something out of order.

The trick is this:

Uninstall software
Restart
Plug N52 in USB port
Slap Samus
Reinstall software

And it's showing up now in the game controller control panel app.
User avatar
STRESSTEST
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
Posts: 6574
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am

Post by STRESSTEST » Sun Dec 28, 2003 7:10 pm

can I repeat step 4 as ofter as I want?
User avatar
WarAdvocat
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2996
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL USA

Post by WarAdvocat » Sun Dec 28, 2003 8:17 pm

Just for the record, the software bundled w/ the n52 is version 3.0
Akasha
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 2:01 am

Post by Akasha » Tue Dec 30, 2003 7:01 am

What the heck do drivers have to do with the keys? I said the keys are hard to press down. I think you're the one who needs to be slapped. =P
Akasha
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 2:01 am

Post by Akasha » Tue Dec 30, 2003 7:02 am

I'm going to give STRESSTEST a break this time, because he actually complimented me the other day. ^_~ But, Bunyip gets clocked. =P
User avatar
WarAdvocat
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral
Posts: 2996
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL USA

Post by WarAdvocat » Tue Dec 30, 2003 10:44 am

don't make me whomp you, foo.

The keys aren't really that hard to press.. and if you find them to be just lube 'em or better yet let 'em break in a bit.

Just my 2 cents on that issue.

z00b
User avatar
STRESSTEST
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
Posts: 6574
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 1999 3:01 am

Post by STRESSTEST » Tue Dec 30, 2003 3:21 pm

I complimented you? I almost always call you an idiot... Maybe you are taking that as a co.... wait... Maybe it was an imposter? HAH! that's got to be it!
Akasha
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 2:01 am

Post by Akasha » Wed Dec 31, 2003 10:19 am

<font face="Arial" size="3">I complimented you? I almost always call you an idiot... Maybe you are taking that as a co.... wait... Maybe it was an imposter? HAH! that's got to be it!</font>


heh

I guess you didn't know who I was then ^_~
User avatar
BUBBALOU
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
Posts: 4193
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Dallas Texas USA
Contact:

Post by BUBBALOU » Wed Dec 31, 2003 10:21 pm

<FONT color="#FF0000">/me gets that fuzzy feeling again</FONT>

If you know what I mean ~~> how many ______ do I have ^_~
User avatar
DCrazy
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
Posts: 8826
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2000 3:01 am
Location: Seattle

Post by DCrazy » Wed Dec 31, 2003 11:04 pm

How about this thread get back on topic? ^_~
Akasha
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 2:01 am

Post by Akasha » Thu Jan 01, 2004 7:22 pm

heh Nice icon, BUBBALOU. ^_^

Now stop cramping my style, people. ^_~

Dude, I know that the keys aren't that hard to press, but they're hella slow, and that makes me slow. I bet I could pounce on you in D3 if you didn't use your "lube" or break it in. ^_~

Why should I have to fix the design problems of someone else's device? I'd rather just get my money back and buy a keypad.
Post Reply