Office Network

For system help, all hardware / software topics NOTE: use Coders Corner for all coders topics.

Moderators: Krom, Grendel

FireFox
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Office Network

Post by FireFox »

Q: What more can/need I do?

I've installed a network on my works PC's today. By that I mean installed all the cards, cables and crap and setup a standard "you see me, I see you" network and printer sharing and so forth.

The whole idea is to centralise our works files all on one PC (mine) and use only one printer (copier/printer/fax/scanner machine) that is in my office.

This basicly cuts out backups of four PC's to only one and stuff like that. But is there anything more I can do to make things run smoother and easier.

Recommendations, suggestions are more than welcome. I'm still a rather newbie when it comes to "advanced" networking.

Two PC's running 98SE and the other two XP Pro.

Network is 100base connected via an 8 port switch.
JMEaT
DBB Meat ByProduct
DBB Meat ByProduct

Post by JMEaT »

If it's doing what you want and you aren't concerned about security, then it should be OK.
Honest Bob
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral

Post by Honest Bob »

Share a broadband internet connection?
FireFox
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Post by FireFox »

No security isn't that much of an issue right now because it is only internally and the only internet connection we have in the office is a 56k (no broadband here) that I might share only between the pc that has the modem and mine to download e-mail when needed (internet connection would be 10 minutes max).

If I was more concerned about security what should I be looking at? Just so that I'd know.

Thanks
Cuda68-2
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Post by Cuda68-2 »

Put up a Linux server instead of dragging your own box down. An old P11 350 would work just fine with 512k of ram.
ccb056
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral

Post by ccb056 »

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Arial">quote:</font><HR><font face="Arial" size="3">Originally posted by Cuda68-2: