Duplicating FireFox on another computer

For system help, all hardware / software topics NOTE: use Coders Corner for all coders topics.

Moderators: Krom, Grendel

Post Reply
User avatar
thewolfe
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1987
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2002 3:01 am
Contact:

Duplicating FireFox on another computer

Post by thewolfe » Sun Jul 27, 2014 2:09 pm

I have always been able to duplicate my Firefox setup on another of my computers but it's not working now. (Tabs, bookmarks, position of menu....)

I would copy my profile (see below), copy it to the 2nd computer and then rename it to the profile name on that computer. Now it won't do that.

Windows 7- 64 bit: Computer/C:/Users/Username/Appdata/Roaming/Mozilla/Firefox/Profiles/

Any ideas?
User avatar
CDN_Merlin
DBB_Master
DBB_Master
Posts: 9485
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Location: Capital Of Canada

Re: Duplicating FireFox on another computer

Post by CDN_Merlin » Sun Jul 27, 2014 3:17 pm

Can't you use the built in sync?
Beta tested:
Game Stock Car 2012, Diablo 3, Descent 3 1.5 Patch, C&C Generals, Independance War 2, Starfleet Command 2, Settlers IV,Tzar, Allegiance, Starfleet Command, MAX 2, Defiance
ASUS Z170-P, Core I7-6700K, Coolermaster Hyper 212 EVO CPU Cooler, Gigabyte GF GTX970 OC 4GB GDDR5,Crucial 16GB 2133MHz DDR4, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5" SATA3 SSD, WD Black 1 TB, ASUS DVD Burner, ASUS 27" Monitor, Fractal Design R5 Mid-Tower Case, Thermaltake ToughPower Gold 750 Watt, Win 10 64Bit
User avatar
thewolfe
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1987
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2002 3:01 am
Contact:

Re: Duplicating FireFox on another computer

Post by thewolfe » Sun Jul 27, 2014 4:29 pm

I can't get Firefox sync to actually transfer tabs but you can setup computers to run Firefox sync, click on Tools/Sync now and then type "about:sync-tabs" in browser and it will bring up tabs open on the other computer which you can then click on and they will open in "your" Firrefox browser.

That took about two hours of searching but it will work.

Don't know what FF did so the "Profile" can't be copied to the other computer. That totally mirrored the original FF.
User avatar
fliptw
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod
Posts: 6415
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 1998 2:01 am
Location: Calgary Alberta Canada

Re: Duplicating FireFox on another computer

Post by fliptw » Sat Aug 02, 2014 1:47 pm

copy the entire %appdata%\Mozilla folder.
User avatar
thewolfe
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1987
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2002 3:01 am
Contact:

Re: Duplicating FireFox on another computer

Post by thewolfe » Sat Aug 02, 2014 2:55 pm

Very good, thanks. Don't see a downside at this point.
Post Reply