Easiest BB software to set up (that is free)

For system help, all hardware / software topics NOTE: use Coders Corner for all coders topics.

Moderators: Krom, Grendel

STRESSTEST
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod

Easiest BB software to set up (that is free)

Post by STRESSTEST »

I am in need of a free BB software that I can set up on a windows server 2k4 platform with ease. Oh yea, it has to be free.

Traffic will be less then what is seen here.

Ideas? Links?

TIA
Admiral LSD
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral

Post by Admiral LSD »

For anything decent, you'll need MySQL (other DBMSs may work, but the de facto standard among free software is MySQL) and PHP installed. Neither is particularly hard to install on Windows but it's a hell of a lot clunkier than on a *nix.

Now, with that out of the way phpBB is relatively easy to set up and administer. There's also Simple Machines which seems alright from a user perspective but I have no experience with setting it up/administering it.
Pun
DBB DemiGod
DBB DemiGod

Post by Pun »

PHPBB

there's even Flash Tutorials
Ferno
DBB Commie Anarchist Thug
DBB Commie Anarchist Thug

Post by Ferno »

another vote for PhpBB.

it's amazingly simple to administer, miodify and tweak.
Krom
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?

Post by Krom »

x3 phpBB, I have used it myself many times now.
Nightmare USA
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Post by Nightmare USA »