Testing Online Connectivity and Speed

For system help, all hardware / software topics NOTE: use Coders Corner for all coders topics.

Moderators: Krom, Grendel

User avatar
BUBBALOU
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
Posts: 4193
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Dallas Texas USA
Contact:

Testing Online Connectivity and Speed

Post by BUBBALOU » Wed Jan 18, 2006 5:03 am

One thing is testing your internet connection for speed from places like DSL Reports . Great site to configure your broadband connection for mucho download speed :twisted: . But what if you also play games, you do not want your connection just tweeked for fast downloads. Multiplayer would = tËH§üÇk

I have posted before in this forum the correct settings for your internet connections for the most BALANCED high speed connection. 9/10 times most users have there settings set for non gaming applications which basically equates to high loss/low ping in games.

So here is the rundown

From DSLReports.com

Tweek Test
(CABLE users=normal / DSL users=PPPOE /Router DSL = Router PPPOE)
There is no reason to set your RWIN (via DRTCP)above 64240/65535 unless you have over a 10000/2000 kbps connect and on a non gaming machine.

Follow any the tips listed on the summary page and retest over and over again until all sections are green. the RWIN is set to the MAX stated on the Tweek page. Default for scaling and timestamp is OFF

As seen in my results
Image

Now the Speed Test

My results

6000 mbps speed (my base tier) with no download speed compression
dslreports.com speed test 2008-07-111 :
8122 / 2362 (Kbps)

Image

not bad considering overhead and traffic

Congrats you have a tweeked broadband connection.... But wait, here is the fun part..!
Hopefully you did not troll around the BBR Forums in a futile attempt to get the fastest downloads possible and used any other settings other than what is recommended on the tweek results page.

If you have then your gaming experience has been comprimised.........

(64240/65535 is your friend, unless of course you have 2500/xxx kbps or below connect)

Image

SAVE - EXIT and Reboot

Now go back to the \"tweek test\" and start over

-------------------------------------------------

gaming test

Firefox Friendly

Linksys WRT54G (v3) with Tomato Firmware

My results
Image
Image
User avatar
Genghis
DBB Newbie
DBB Newbie
Posts: 1377
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 1999 3:01 am
Location: Ithaca, NY, USA

Post by Genghis » Wed Jan 18, 2006 7:32 am

4.8 here as well.

Cool test, thx Bub.
User avatar
World War Woodi
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:20 am
Location: seattle wa
Contact:

Post by World War Woodi » Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:29 pm

2006-01-18 13:18:33 EST: 6196 / 356
Your download speed : 6196 kbps or 774.5 KB/sec.
Your upload speed : 356 kbps or 44.5 KB/sec.

From seattle to L.A.

Tweak test is all green.

I do not even have I.E. installed on this pc, ever. So kinda outs me for the gaming test.
User avatar
AceCombat
Owned by Timex
Owned by Timex
Posts: 6510
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Conyers, GA, USA

Post by AceCombat » Wed Jan 18, 2006 3:15 pm

Image

4.7 AVG here....

Image

all green here :mrgreen:
User avatar
BUBBALOU
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
Posts: 4193
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Dallas Texas USA
Contact:

Post by BUBBALOU » Wed Jan 18, 2006 3:37 pm

Ace read the the tweek page info your RWIN is WAY off

as stated in my orginal post 64240 max

you have 255552

max they recommend for your speed is 39204 (which is usally for 3000 or 1500 down)

Set windows scaling and time stamp to default which is OFF

I seem to have a better workout dodging your stupidity than attempting to grasp the weight of your intelligence.
User avatar
Krom
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
Posts: 15181
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
Contact:

Post by Krom » Wed Jan 18, 2006 9:05 pm

changed hosts, image lost
Unix
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1367
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Contact:

Post by Unix » Wed Jan 18, 2006 10:11 pm

Image
Matrix
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2001 2:01 am
Location: NJ
Contact:

Post by Matrix » Thu Jan 19, 2006 12:47 am

OOL 10/1
Linksys WRT54G (v3)
65k RWIN (Default)

Image

Image

Download Speed: 9369 kbps (1171.1 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 926 kbps (115.8 KB/sec transfer rate)
User avatar
DCrazy
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
Posts: 8826
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2000 3:01 am
Location: Seattle

Post by DCrazy » Thu Jan 19, 2006 1:25 am

Matrix: didn't OOL recently up the BW caps above 10/1? I always had 10/1 since the beta rollout and then they started that ad campaign... maybe they're just unifying all their markets (I was on LI).
Matrix
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2001 2:01 am
Location: NJ
Contact:

Post by Matrix » Thu Jan 19, 2006 1:52 am

Yeah everyone is getting upgraded at 15/2, NY is getting upgraded first tho it seems.
I haven't herd of anyone in NJ getting the upgrade yet.
They say everyone will be upgraded by mid 06 and also 30/2 will be ave for an extra $15/m with a bunch of other extras like webspace, static IP, and 1GB of email space.
(22:58) [X]LunchBoxInVirginia: I see myself standing on top of a pyramid standing in 'Sun God' like robes with thousands of naked women screaming my name. throwing little pickles at me
User avatar
AceCombat
Owned by Timex
Owned by Timex
Posts: 6510
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Conyers, GA, USA

Re:

Post by AceCombat » Thu Jan 19, 2006 6:34 pm

BUBBALOU wrote:Ace read the the tweek page info your RWIN is WAY off

as stated in my orginal post 64240 max

you have 255552

max they recommend for your speed is 39204 (which is usally for 3000 or 1500 down)

Set windows scaling and time stamp to default which is OFF
REMOVED!

never mind, i missed that in the left side. :lol:
MD-2389
Defender of the Night
Defender of the Night
Posts: 13452
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Location: Olathe, KS

Post by MD-2389 » Sat Jan 21, 2006 1:04 am

Image

1.5M/256k package
1.44M/320k actual

QoS disabled in router (WRT54G v5 running 1.0.4 firmware, which has so far has solved the lockup issue) and uninstalled on all computers.
"One spelling mistake can destroy your life. A Husband sent this to his wife : "I'm having a wonderful time. Wish you were her." - @RobinWilliams
User avatar
Zero!
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Los Angeles CA
Contact:

Post by Zero! » Sat Jan 21, 2006 6:41 pm

i tried changing my mtu to 1492 with drtcp, but it stays at 1440 everytime i reboot
User avatar
BUBBALOU
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
Posts: 4193
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Dallas Texas USA
Contact:

Post by BUBBALOU » Sat Jan 21, 2006 11:14 pm

your Zyxel modem is locked at 1440 there is nothing you can do.

here is another cool little test link

http://www.speedguide.net/analyzer.php

I seem to have a better workout dodging your stupidity than attempting to grasp the weight of your intelligence.
User avatar
AceCombat
Owned by Timex
Owned by Timex
Posts: 6510
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Conyers, GA, USA

Post by AceCombat » Sun Jan 22, 2006 12:59 am

RWIN is a multiple of MSS
Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
511104 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
255552 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
127776 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
63888 (MSS x 44)



hey Bubba, why does this have the 255552 as a valid option? because this is what my RWIN was previously set to.
MD-2389
Defender of the Night
Defender of the Night
Posts: 13452
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Location: Olathe, KS

Post by MD-2389 » Sun Jan 22, 2006 9:43 pm

MTU = 1492
MTU is optimized for PPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising MTU to 1500 for optimal throughput.
MSS = 1452
MSS is optimized for PPPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising your MTU value.
Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 65535
RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
Unscaled Receive Window = 65535

For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
511104 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
255552 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
127776 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
63888 (MSS x 44)
bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

Your RcvWindow limits you to: 2621.4 kbps (327.675 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
Your RcvWindow limits you to: 1048.56 kbps (131.07 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
Time to live left = 119 hops

TTL value is ok.
Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
This thread should be stickied.
User avatar
AceCombat
Owned by Timex
Owned by Timex
Posts: 6510
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Conyers, GA, USA

Post by AceCombat » Fri Jan 27, 2006 7:59 pm

just tested my parents Comcast 4.0/256 4.9 AVG Empty and 4.3 AVG Loaded

all green Tweak Test
User avatar
BUBBALOU
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
Posts: 4193
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Dallas Texas USA
Contact:

Post by BUBBALOU » Fri Jan 27, 2006 8:03 pm

RWIN higher than 65535 requires windows scaling for high latency broadband connections and are not recommended for any type of gaming and you will not see any improvement.

Plain Engrish

I seem to have a better workout dodging your stupidity than attempting to grasp the weight of your intelligence.
User avatar
AceCombat
Owned by Timex
Owned by Timex
Posts: 6510
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Conyers, GA, USA

Post by AceCombat » Sat Jan 28, 2006 10:32 pm

well excuse me oh lord Bubbledouchebag!! :lol:
User avatar
Tricord
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni
Posts: 3393
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm

Post by Tricord » Thu May 25, 2006 4:50 am

The test is biased since I probably have more bandwidth than the test target ;) (300MBit/300MBit connect).

http://www.adslbox.be speed test results:
- Download speed : 50447 kbit/s or 6306 kbyte/s
- Upload speed : 41447 kbit/s or 5181 kbyte/s
Thu May 25 2006 at 12:46:27 UTC+0200
User avatar
d3jake
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1074
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:08 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Post by d3jake » Mon Jan 08, 2007 5:44 pm

Image
This a bad thing?
User avatar
Krom
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
Posts: 15181
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
Contact:

Post by Krom » Mon Jan 08, 2007 7:28 pm

Looks ok from most of the results posted, the loaded side could do better but it isn't like there is anything you can actually do about the results.
User avatar
BUBBALOU
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
Posts: 4193
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Dallas Texas USA
Contact:

Post by BUBBALOU » Fri Dec 14, 2007 10:14 pm

This needs a sticky

I seem to have a better workout dodging your stupidity than attempting to grasp the weight of your intelligence.
Lightnin
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 10:05 pm

Post by Lightnin » Thu Dec 20, 2007 7:20 pm

Figures I read the entire thread then see this, lol.

\"\" WINDOWS VISTA USERS: Vista TCP tuning (tweaking) is NOT advisable. The Vista TCP stack does a reasonable job of tuning the receive window dynamically, there are no known registry tweaks that would optimize Vista better than its default configuration. \"\"
User avatar
Strife
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 9:45 am
Location: Connecticut

Re:

Post by Strife » Fri Dec 21, 2007 10:21 am

DCrazy wrote:Matrix: didn't OOL recently up the BW caps above 10/1? I always had 10/1 since the beta rollout and then they started that ad campaign... maybe they're just unifying all their markets (I was on LI).
I work for OOL

Regular OOl is 15Down 2 up

Pay for boost... its only 10 bucks more and you double your speed

30 down 5 up


We are also rollin something out called ultra which will be 50 down and I belive 15 up... You might be able to Beta test for it if you are in long island.
User avatar
DarkShadow
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1371
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Contact:

Post by DarkShadow » Tue Apr 22, 2008 8:43 pm

The gamer test in Bubba's first post has changed location to here.

It seems to work in Firefox now with java also.
User avatar
Krom
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
Posts: 15181
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
Contact:

Post by Krom » Wed Jun 04, 2008 1:53 pm

Moved, new connection:
Image
Image
User avatar
ReadyMan
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1817
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Oahu, Hawaii USA

Post by ReadyMan » Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:20 pm

the site has an error and doesnt work....
bummer too, cause I've been having connectivity issues lately and wanted to do some tests.
Fighting villains is what I do!
User avatar
AceCombat
Owned by Timex
Owned by Timex
Posts: 6510
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Conyers, GA, USA

Post by AceCombat » Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:35 pm

hey bubba, what would you recommend as the RWIN for a 32Mbit Comcast connection?
User avatar
Krom
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
Posts: 15181
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
Contact:

Post by Krom » Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:12 am

RWIN does nothing for gaming. Just set it to automatically scale (supported in Windows XP and higher) since it is required and the actual RWIN on a connection that fat can easily break the 65,535 limit on manually set windows.
User avatar
AceCombat
Owned by Timex
Owned by Timex
Posts: 6510
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Conyers, GA, USA

Post by AceCombat » Mon Aug 03, 2009 6:56 pm

how do i set it to auto?
User avatar
Krom
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
Posts: 15181
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
Contact:

Post by Krom » Mon Aug 03, 2009 8:37 pm

Vista / 7 have it set to auto by default, in XP you use DrTCP from dslreports and turn on window scaling.
User avatar
AceCombat
Owned by Timex
Owned by Timex
Posts: 6510
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Conyers, GA, USA

Re:

Post by AceCombat » Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:46 pm

Krom wrote:Vista / 7 have it set to auto by default, in XP you use DrTCP from dslreports and turn on window scaling.

scaling? isnt that a bad thing? ohwell i guess ill turn it on
User avatar
Krom
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
Posts: 15181
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
Contact:

Post by Krom » Tue Aug 04, 2009 9:01 am

Window scaling is required when you figure the optimal range for the receive window for my 20 mbit line is in the 250,000-400,000 range. Well past the 65535 limit you can set with a fixed value. The DSLreports faq gives a pretty good explanation of what these do and why you should tweak them. Although DSLreports will optimize for bandwidth and preventing packet loss not latency, largely because there is next to nothing you can do about latency.
User avatar
DarkShadow
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
Posts: 1371
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Contact:

Post by DarkShadow » Fri Oct 09, 2009 4:01 pm

Looks like the Firefox friendly gamer test quit working but this seems to be close to the same thing.
www.pingtest.net

Image
User avatar
Blaze
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: atop the pyramid

Post by Blaze » Mon Nov 08, 2010 10:58 am

the gamer tests in those link(s) don't seem to be working any more.
User avatar
Krom
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
Posts: 15181
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 1998 3:01 am
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?
Contact:

Post by Krom » Mon Nov 08, 2010 12:44 pm

This thread is only relevant to people still using Windows XP, none of the tweaks work (or are needed) in Vista or 7. As Windows XP becomes irrelevant, so does this thread.
User avatar
Blaze
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: atop the pyramid

Re: Testing Online Connectivity and Speed

Post by Blaze » Sat Feb 05, 2011 5:04 pm

Yeah, not to mention that my connect is so awesome that I don't even need the Tweak tool in XP. :)
User avatar
Foil
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender
Posts: 4900
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 3:31 pm
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA

Re:

Post by Foil » Mon Feb 07, 2011 11:55 am

Krom wrote:This thread is only relevant to people still using Windows XP, none of the tweaks work (or are needed) in Vista or 7. As Windows XP becomes irrelevant, so does this thread.
Should probably be de-stickified, then.
User avatar
BUBBALOU
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
Posts: 4193
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 1999 2:01 am
Location: Dallas Texas USA
Contact:

Re: Testing Online Connectivity and Speed

Post by BUBBALOU » Mon Feb 07, 2011 4:36 pm

Plenty of people still use XP, #justsayin

I seem to have a better workout dodging your stupidity than attempting to grasp the weight of your intelligence.
Post Reply